We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank KATHARINE O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is located in a somewhat remote part of the city- you have to drive or take a cab to most places that I htink about when I think of Minneapolis. Not a deal breaker, but not what we expected. The staff was friendly enough but the hotel was empty. It had no energy. Ice was only available if you called room service, which means a tip, there were no drinking glasses in the room, yno carpet on the floors and although there wewas a dvd and cd player in the room, you had to crawl around on the floor to access the devices. On the good side, the room was attractive, the beds comfy and the shower was amazing. The restaurant on site was pricey, but the food was delicious. Probably wouldn't go back unless I had an amzing deal/

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wine2goOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to provide us feedback. Customer reviews like yours are very important to a business like ours, and we will definitely discuss your comments with the team. It disappoints us that you didn't enjoy your stay more. This has been a particularly frigid winter, so downtown Minneapolis has been mostly low-key and chill (excuse the pun). We are in fact located in the heart of downtown, across from the Target Center and connected to the Skyway, so there is usually a lot happening around here. Visit during a less formidable weather season and you'll see for yourself. As to the amenities, we try to provide our guests with everything we can.

We hope that next time you visit Minneapolis, you give our hotel another shot. Maybe plan your vacation around an event like a concert so that you can make sure you have something to do. If you do, we're sure you'll love your stay that much more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed at the Graves for a wedding event in December and everything was spectacular. The rooms were really clean, check-in was easy and friendly, valet was good and convenience was really good. I would stay there again. The reason I did not give it a 5 star rating was the staff at the event were not very friendly. I am accustomed to the staff asking if you would like refills of coffee etc. and it was very mechanical. Otherwise, if you are staying in Minneapolis, The Graves is a great choice. Good food also.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double bed room facing Target center. It was very quiet and well lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDW1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thanks for the great review! We really appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. Comments like yours help us to constantly improve our service. The team will be very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, from the comfy rooms to the delicious food. And we will definitely pass on your point about the wedding feeling more mechanical than romantic. It is such an honor for us to have so many happy couples share their big day with our staff, sometimes we try so hard to execute everything perfectly that we can be a little tense.

Whatever the reason for your next visit to Minneapolis, we hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank MARK B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Although I live within 30 minutes of downtown Minneapolis, My wife and I will do spur of the moment stays a couple times of year at this hotel. This is my second review of this place since it has been a few years since my last review i thought I would do another one. We were downtown for a show at the Guthrie this time.

This is a high end hotel and you are treated this way. When making the reservation I had a gift card that I had gotten the previous week for a Christmas gift. I asked the reservation person for a specific room number.(We spent our wedding night in the room) I was told she would do what she could but there were no guarantees. No problem, the fact that they would try made me feel like they cared. When checking in the front desk male chatted with us and quickly gave us our key card. With a smile he asked if we would like the room number. By the look on his face I knew it was the room I requested.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and the views breathtaking. Here's a tip pay for the downtown view. If you haven't slept for a week because your kids are screaming and always yelling your name, these beds are for you. You will literally melt into them they are that comfortable.

We generally have a few cocktails at Cosmo's the bar in the Grave's. The drinks aren't cheap but you deserve it. Also there is a good chance you will see someone who you will recognize from TV or the local sport scene.

This hotel goes above and beyond with the quality of product and customer service. We will always stay here when we are downtown.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade for the downtown view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluelineMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Sounds like you had well-deserved, fabulous night's sleep! We're so glad we could help you unwind and enjoy some "me" time. Thanks for choosing us, and for your kind words. We'll be here when you need a night away!

Cheers,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank FoodieGirl2340
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed on a Sunday and after reading the reviews I thought it would be an exciting place to be, but it was very quiet. Although the hotel was nice, the room seemed very stark in it's design. There was no carpeting in the room which made me wish I had my slippers. Another problem was that there was no ice machine. If you needed ice, you needed to call for room service. Because we were on a tight budget, we went without until we had a knock at the door. Staff apparently come around once a night offering ice. That was a pleasent surprise. I was happy to hear that they had a CD player. As far as I am concerned this should be a staple in hotel rooms. The problem was that you had to get down on the cold floor to operate the player. This was also true for the coffee maker. ..which by the way comes with one cup of complimentary expresso. If you want more you need to buy it from the stocked fridge. The beds were very comfy and the shower was fun. It sprays you from the top and the side, getting you nice and clean. Although this was a decent hotel, the next time I am in town, I will look around and stay somewhere else. I suspect that if you stay on the week end or when there is an event at the Target center, the vibe will be much more upbeat. The bar was nice but at $15 a drink...it better be.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C, Management at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Sunandjo,

We appreciate your providing us feedback about your experience, though we are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your visit a little more. It sounds to us like you appreciated a number of our amenities, from the CD player & espresso in your rooms to the nightly door-to-door ice service, but were wanting a little more action in the evenings. We fully understand that desire -- which is why we always direct our visitors looking for a great cocktail to Bradstreet Craftshouse or Cosmos or to the many events that are usually happening in downtown Minneapolis. Next time you come to the city, there will hopefully be more going on—and there's no better place to be a part of the action than right here!

Patrick, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,319 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Ivy, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Minneapolis
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Address: 601 1st Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55403-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: £112 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing