We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too much Fancy Not enough Function”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“too much Fancy Not enough Function”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Lobby area is sparse,not comfortable to sit & wait for transportation.Desk clerk charged $250 to our room in advance for incidentals instead of not charging until we had used something. The rooms had 2 double beds..even Super 8 has 2 queen. The TV was very off center,so persons sitting in one of the 2 chairs could not see it. Coffee maker needed an enginering degree,And there were 2 cups,2 water glasses,2 wine glasses. However there was a TV ,and phone in toilet area,should it take longer than you expected & you need a movie & call for take out. There were however no towel racks or shelf space to put your night clothes while you are showering. Guess you could say not impressed.Entry doors not handicap friendly,and the "breakfast bar" just a stack of over priced pastries. Locaton though is wonderful if taking in an event at Target Center or Target Field.

Room Tip: be prepared for double beds, and more frills than function.Not much for view from the odd numbered r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegasviking71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
While we appreciate your candid feedback, we must apologize for the erroneous charge. We want to look into this immediately, so please give us a call if you'd like to discuss this further. We hope to speak with you soon.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    394
    150
    59
    40
See reviews for
231
647
70
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Nice hotel. Great location. I would add my voice to others about the wifi charges. Way too much. We hosted a morning after the wedding brunch for a group of twenty. Brunch was a buffet. The service staff provided water when we were seated, and then pots of coffee were left on the table. We had track down a server to get cream and a pot of decaf. I was taken aback to discover a mandatory 20% service gratuity added to the bill. Really? For a buffet? We scarcely saw a server after the initial coffee and water. I don't object to a mandatory service gratuity for a large group, where there is table service involved. But this was uncalled for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topekat70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Although we truly appreciate your high rating, it's disappointing to learn of your mixed feelings. Our team should have been more attentive, and we will certainly speak to all of them about that. Thanks for letting us know, and please don't hesitate to call if you'd like to discuss this further.

Best wishes,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Overall a fantastic experience at Graves. Stayed here in business for 5 nights.

Rooms are spacious, clean and stylish. Location is fantastic, close to shops, bars, restaurants, stadiums etc.. Customer service is also vey good, they go the extra mile,

Tip for those needing Nernst... This is expensive at theorem, however f you join up to Wyndham rewards (you can do it after checkin) all Internet is free.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C, Other at Loews Minneapolis Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
It was a pleasure to host you, Scott! Our entire team will be so happy to hear your kind words—we can't wait to share them with everyone. Thanks for the wonderful rating and please let us know if there's anything we can do to make your next stay even better!

All the best,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Minneapolis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Minneapolis Hotel

Property: Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Address: 601 1st Ave N, Minneapolis, MN 55403-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Spa Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Minneapolis Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 22-story high hotel with a history of excellence, Loews Minneapolis Hotel is located at the confluence of business, theatre, and entertainment districts. We are connected by Skyway to the entire shopping and business district.Our rooms are equipped with high tech-high fashion design with plasma TVs, hand crafted headboards, rain showers in bath - Opposite Target Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Minneapolis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graves 601 Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Graves 601 Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Graves 601 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing