We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to visit Calhoun and Harriet Lakes from St. Paul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Midtown Greenway

Midtown Greenway
Ranked #45 of 206 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great way to visit Calhoun and Harriet Lakes from St. Paul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I took a few friends who were in town from Poland and they were so amazed by the Greenway. We cruised from River Road to the lakes, had lunch in Uptown and then cruised back to my house in St. Paul. They were so excited and impressed with the Twin Cities. They are coming again and the first thing they asked about is if we could take another ride on the Greenway.

You can catch the Greenway off of West River Road just a few miles north of Lake street bridge.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Cycle Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I ride this trail a lot. Sometimes just as a trail for itself, but more often to connect to more biking elsewhere. Overall, it is a wonderful bike trail and is well-maintained. If there is any quibble it is the rudeness of other travelers - folks taking up the whole lane and not moving over when you are calling out that you want to pass, others passing without calling out that they are there, that sort of thing. But that has more to do with riders than the trail and the trail is just fine. The Sabo Bridge is especially fun to bike over!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkap52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“How Cycling Should Be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Fantastic cycle "motorway" through the city. No traffic. Pedestrian and cycle path with on and off ramps just like a motorway. Great facilities on the route - cycle repair stations, lights, nice gardens and the odd cafe.
We've cycled a lot in France where they also have PROPER cycle paths but this is even better and there are no French - what more could you ask.

This is how it should be done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TonyandWendy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A genuine bicycle freeway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Midtown Greenway is a prototype for the urban future (I hope). It is a limited-access bike-and-pedestrian freeway, mostly below-grade so that automotive traffic passes over it on bridges. It's plowed in the winter and illuminated at night. Minneapolis already had a lot of lovely recreational bike paths; developments like the Greenway link them together in ways that create terrific commuting and shopping routes. I bike ten miles (each way) to work; by using the Greenway as a connector, I can do that with only about a half-mile on streets. It's dotten with gardens, many planted unofficially by the folks who use it ("guerrilla gardens"). It has many bicycle amenities and eateries close by. It's pleasant enough for a recreational ride; wide enough for pedestrians and cyclists of many types to co-exist, and immensely useful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hamme001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Midtown Greenway also viewed

 

Been to Midtown Greenway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing