We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great”

Broders’ Pasta Bar
Ranked #36 of 1,800 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 1994 Broders' Pasta Bar has been serving house made and quality imported pastas and risottos, focusing both on Italian regional traditions as well as seasonal & local ingredients. We source from Midwest farms, when possible, and grow vegetables in our own parking lot garden (weather permitting, of course!) but really, it's about the pasta. Located across W. 50th Street from Broders’ Cucina Italiana, the original deli and specialty food shop, Molly and Tom Broder opened the Pasta Bar - to cook the pasta they were selling the way it was meant to be: fresh, al dente, perfectly sauced and thoughtfully executed. Still, and always, family owned and operated, Broders' continually strives to serve great Italian food and wine from our corner in Southwest Minneapolis. We hope to welcome you, whether at the Cucina, Pasta Bar, or the newest addition, Terzo, our contemporary Italian restaurant & wine bar. Saluti!
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I have been going here for years. All the food is great and you can't go wrong. Sitting on the patio in the summer time is one of our favorite things to do. All the people that work here are friendly, professional and it shows that they take pride in what they do.Sure the wait can be long at times, but this place is definitely worth it. Fresh and tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Borch22286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    69
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
199 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My second time here was as good as the first. Excellent food and good service. Came here with friends and had a fantastic time. There is also a café across the street that has a small seating area and take out along with a grocery.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GroovyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice they installed an outdoor grille for the summer”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went there on a monday night and we did the call ahead plan (you call them within an hour of your arrival and your name gets put on a list. This is a tip for the locals. If you use the tip, please give me a helpful response.

Still had to wait 45 minutes to get a table, but at least now they have extra capacity with outdoor seating and they have a grille to also serve people quicker. The parking is very tight in the small parking lot and currently there is a lot of construction in the area which also makes this area problematic. Relax and have a glass of wine, because you can't mess with the success this place has in terms of loyal fans. The food is very good, but they do tend to use heavy cream in many dishes and our noodles were rather thick.

We will be back again as my wife really enjoys this place. I would rather go to many of the other restaurants in the area who are newer and tend to not have the capacity problems which has plagued this successful business.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Shot Trip from Downtown ”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Broder's Pasta Bar with friends on a Wed. evening at 7 p.m. Although we had an hour wait the outdoor patio and small plates were outstanding. The hour pasted quickly in the colorful flower surrounded patio. When we were seated for dinner an appetizer was already on the table with Brian the server apologizing for the wait. The entrees were excellent and fairly priced. Old school and new school Italian dishes that were superb. Nice wine list fairly priced. If in Minneapolis don't miss Broders.

Helpful?
Thank RobertLic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Local or new town its worth a trip”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Go, and if you do get there early. Wife and I have been several times. Best time to go is right after work around the 4:30-5:00 mark. There is no wait and you will be served right away. We went once in the fall after we first discovered and had to wait 45+ minutes for a seat as the place was packed. Its not at all large which adds to the experience. They do have a bar near the entrance. Go order a drink and wait outside if its nice out. Time will fly. Awesome food. I get the same each time #7 linguine con vongole. I promise you will want to lick the bowl when done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeShadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broders’ Pasta Bar also viewed

Minneapolis, MN
 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Broders’ Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing