We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food and beautiful settings”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Lurcat

Cafe Lurcat
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Lurcat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,794 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
235 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Delicious food and beautiful settings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Really loved the exposed brick decor throughout and the view of Loring Park from out table. We each enjoyed different salads. Mine was the goat cheese that came as a warm gently crusted disk on the fresh leafy greens lightly dressed. A decent starter portion. The warm light, crispy bread made it hard to save room. My halibut was done well, not overcooked and very fresh served with a flavorful broth and diced veggies with just the right bite. The serving was also generous and fairly priced. My dining partners both enjoyed the miso, mirin chilean sea bass, apparently as restaurant favorite. We managed to have room for a shared dessert. The profiterole came with excellent ice cream and were chocolate (unusual) which may have explained the pastry being a bit more dense than I usually associate with this dish. Tastes however were great with a drizzle of chocolate as well. Nice wine list with bottles and by the glass selections well matched to the menu. Service was excellent till the end, when we would up waiting rather long for dessert to arrive. All in all, especially for an unusually busy Monday night for the staff, it was generally a success. Pleasant walk from the convention area as well but they will call you a cab if desired.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank napalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    111
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Based on trip advisor reviews,we decided to dine here. Wow! What a great choice. We started with the apple, cheese and chive salad which was quite lite and tasty. For our main meal, we had the miso Chilean sea bass, pot roast and roasted cauliflower. The sea bass was amazing, better than Nobu. The pot roast was served on a copper pot and was a delicious comfort food. The cauliflower was fabulous as well. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the Minneapolis. It is a great place!!

Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Even with Prom Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just had our first event at Cafe Lurcat this past Saturday. 16 people in our party. I have to say I have never met a more accommodating team. The hosts made sure we had space for a double stroller for three month old twins. The waitress' made sure we were taken care of in every thing we asked. The biggest standout was how we knew they were really backed up in the kitchen due to numerous graduation dinners and prom night all at once. We enjoyed overlooking the park and all the prom limos unloading in front of us was like watching a parade. We were there for 4 hours and they were the best. 4 courses, drinks, etc. Each dish expertly prepared to perfection. Well worth the prices. Congratulations for a job well done!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank befuddled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always a sure bet in Mpls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went for dinner last night. Bonus, it was date night. Where else can you get a bottle of wine, 2 starters, 2 entrees and 2 desserts for $50?!?! I had the corn crepe with cambozola and mushrooms, fabulous. The udon noodles for dinner, the orange was not overpowering as I worried. Their doughnuts for dessert are always a favorite. We had a good server, although he disappeared with the last bit of white wine so that's why 4 and not 5 stars. The dining room is scenic, with views of Loring Park and open spaces.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YelpSucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly uber cuisine. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Location is good.
Bar is large and bright with all the large windows.
Staff are extremely polite, friendly and professional.
All the foods we had were very delicious. Mine was the signature dish, Chilean fish was great. I recommend this place highly.

Helpful?
Thank SiaKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Lurcat also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Cafe Lurcat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing