We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Greek”
Review of Kafe 421

Kafe 421
Reserve with OpenTable
Kafe 421 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,800 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: University / Dinkytown
Cross street: Between 4th & 5th Street
Transit: University of Minnesota area, so bus stops are prevalent
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
279 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Authentic Greek cuisine from Georgia Sanders owner/chef of this Dinkytown ( U of MN neighborhood) gem! Diverse menu items with great price point with competent wait staff too. Appetizers are all tasty; tomato basil soup and spanakopita for supper tonight hit the spot on cold December night. Wine list OK & fairly priced. Valet parking available most nights.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My son attends the U of M and I was looking for someplace that we would both enjoy for supper. He is a vegetarian, I am a person who really likes good food and wine. We were NOT disappointed!! Although they are highlighted as a Greek restaurant, dont let that scare you away if you are not a Greek "fan". The menu is really varied: great pastas, vegetarian meals, steaks/seafood, and sandwiches. My son had the butternut squash ravioli, and I had the lemon shrimp pasta. Both were outstanding. In addition, the service staff was spot-on, and the atmosphere was warm and inviting (and I like good atmosphere almost as much as I like good food). As a final bonus, we went on a Wed night and the wine was 1/2 price. How can you beat that?? Also, thanks to our waitress for her excellent advice on the wine. I am so glad I read the TA reviews and picked this restaurant--as usual, the TA Advisors, know the best places to go in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TAmbroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good food, very good service”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The crab cake sandwich and lamb burger are excellent. The service is really good. If you check-in on Facebook, the description says it is a vegan restaurant, but that is not accurate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpls,MN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Greek restaurant”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Even though this restaurant was quite a drive for us, I have wanted to try it and we were not disappointed.There is outdoor seating in front-small tables for two. We had the Sunday night special. $25 for 2. This night it was soup or salad, entree and split a desert. The lemon drop soup was excellent and the small greek salad was also good. The entree was greek chicken with potatoes and green beans. Chicken was tender and very good. Beans were a little under cooked. There was a man in front of the store next door singing the whole time. He was pretty good but loud at times. The owners were there and sitting at a table in the front also so we stopped and talked to them for a bit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mplstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Went here with some friends on a Friday night. Great location near the U. The servers by far were the best in town. The food was delicious. We will definitely be back. The owner was delightful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kafe 421 also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Kafe 421? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing