We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar

Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #102 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Uptown
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Lucia's is an institution for Uptown Minneapolis. It is one of the last true Uptown experiences that has prooved the test of time and still holds the character of the neighborhood. I like to try and find a spot on the wine bar side, but the dining room is great too. Try their soups and homemade ice creams to complement whatever entree you end up with. They usually offer a nice (small) choice of options for vegatarians and meat eaters. I also think the petit filet is a great bargain and don't forget to pair with their pommes frites - amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gopherstateguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First time but not the last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a day of helping a friend move we decided to grab a late lunch at Lucia's, one of her favorite places but new to me. It was about 3pm on a Saturday so only the Wine Bar was serving, the restaurant stopped serving at 2om in order to get ready for dinner. I ordered red wine and my friend ordered a Bloody Mary. She said it was delicious. We ordered off the small plates menu and shared a salad, a bruschetta trio and frites. YUM!! All three hit the spot. The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable. We stayed for about two hours and felt like we could have stayed longer without being hassled. The decor is typical of the Uptown area of Minneapolis. Three rooms in an old building attached with a winding hallway. Nice decor and typical crowd who lives in Uptown and near the Lakes in Minneapolis. GREAT PLACE!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWoman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Desserts, Wine, Dinner, & More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Lucia's is always a good choice, for breakfast, dinner, or anything in between. While not the cheapest place to eat (or drink), I've never gotten anything I didn't love from them.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
187 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Okay, but....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have never thought the food is as tasty as others have thought. It's good and healthy, but, for the price, I have had healthy very tasty meals at a number of other places. Seems to be living on the reputation. And the service reflects that with attitude of "we are great, you are lucky to be here."

Take a deep breath, go back to what made you great, don't rest on the laurels, and actually turn out dishes worth the price point.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LB6Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
193 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We love Lucia's. This is a place for a special meal. The dinner menu is limited; about 4 or 5 options, so you may wish to check the menu on line before you go. We have always found the food to be prepared perfectly. The foods are fresh and ingredients frequently local. On our recent visit, I had Callister Chicken, which was awesome.
The restaurant is an older building with atmosphere. It feels homey and friendly. This is our destination for a special meal.
Note that parking is limited. They do have valet parking which is frequently your only option.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LAHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing