We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect much” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Mill--Hennepin Avenue

Green Mill--Hennepin Avenue
Ranked #421 of 1,790 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Don't expect much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I know this is a hugely popular hangout in Uptown - space, late hours, staple menu, happy hour, casual - all of these contribute to the popularity.

However I'm only giving it 2 stars because the drinks on the HH menu are very limited - no wine and not much of a selection of cocktails. The HH food choices are challenging to non-existent if you don't eat chicken or dairy. The regular menu was pretty unexciting.

The service is indifferent and hurried. I ordered a salad during my last visit and wanted a vinaigrette dressing but the server could either hear olive oil or balsamic - she seemed to not understand what vinaigrette was. No one checked on our large group to refill water or drinks. I take that back, a drinks check happened about half an hour too late.

Not a surprise that the bill arrived with the tip already included.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slowtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
121 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Much Better Pizza Joints in the City”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

It's been a few years since we've been to the Uptown Green Mill. I remember when half of it was a 3.2 beer joint circa 1969 and I was able to be served a beer under age and without i.d. It was not the Green Mill then - but to their credit they never messed with the original tile floor still in the bar area. Nostalgia about the place and regret that the pizza served these days is OK but not great like the newer Neopolitan style ala Pizzza Nea in NE Mpls. They helped introduce Chicago style deep dish to MN (anyone remember My Pie?) and lines would form around the block at the first Green Mill in St Paul on Hamline. These days dear husband and I prefer the thin crust - but their thinnest crust doesn't cut it - it was frozen and then never properly browned in the oven. Ingredients were good-sausage, roasted red peppers, pepi but with pizza, it's all about the crust. Service was slow. Note to management: get going on better crusts and higher oven temps!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, attentive service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I came here with my 2 children and we sat in a booth on the side. That was awesome. You were like you were in your own little space and the girls loved it. The food, however, took forever to come and the waitress compensated with free cookies at the end. After the girls' meals came they were pepperoni pizza instead of cheese pizza. That was a surprising mistake as there are only 2 pizza options on the kids menu. The waitress kept coming by to refill the drinks. I may go back again but will look for other options in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not So Great Anymore”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

Green Mill was tops in pizza years ago (80's), but they've slipped into pizza mediocrity. Pizza was undercooked, cheese was flavorless, sauce - was it there? Too bad, used to be great.

Helpful?
1 Thank Drocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
476 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Some of the best pizza in MN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Have been going here for years and the pizza is always high quality. They make, thin, medium and the deep dish is incredible. A variety of toppings from pepperoni to goat cheese to sun dried tomatoes. Many beers on tap. If you stop, say hi to Matt at the bar.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veni-vidi-vicidotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Mill--Hennepin Avenue also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Green Mill--Hennepin Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing