We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #109 of 1,799 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Avenue & 3rd Street
Transit: If you are taking the light rail to downtown Minneapolis, we are only 2 blocks away from the last stop at first Ave.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
424 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our group of 9 ate at Saffron this past weekend and had a really good meal. The restaurant is very attractive and comfortable. Easy to talk with others at your table, even in a group as large as ours. While everything was very good, there were a few dishes that were standouts. The chicken and porcini croquettes literally melted in your mouth with a superb combination of flavors.The squash and mushroom farrotto was equally good - very rich and creamy as a good risotta should be and bursting with flavor. Among the starters the only one that we thought was a bit weak was the figs and foie. Nothing really wrong with it, just nothing special. For mains the gnocchi was perhaps the best I have ever tasted and the lamb chops were great as was the Branzini. Our group had two of the tagines - duck and the seafood. Both were quite good, but not quite as great as the ones mentioned above.

If I had to make one criticism, i would say that the waitperson was a bit indifferent. She was very attentive and did her job professionally, but with not much personality.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    59
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A menu full of surprises”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal at Saffron during Restaurant Week in Minneapolis, choosing the prix fixe menu to enable us to try things we might not usually have. My husband enjoyed the lobster bisque, which was made with a parsnip puree--not a combination I've ever seen on a menu. The bowl was presented with a few chunks of lobster on the bottom, and then a steaming pitcher of parsnip puree was poured over it. Delicious! I chose the Green Salad with poached figs and Spanish blue cheese, sprinkled with smoked almonds. The whole restaurant (and particularly the bathrooms) were redolent with a lovely smokey scent, probably from the preparation of just such delicacies. The smokey eggplant spread was incredible, and worth going back for! Truth be told, the 8-Vegetable Couscous was a little dull, but it was nice to have a vegan option on the menu. We all loved the roasted banana cake, with its unusual peanut butter curry on the side. Coffee was strong and appropriately hot! Nice list of wines by the glass and very creative "craft cocktails" with clever names and unusual ingredients. The servers know their stuff, and can tell you everything in each dish. You won't be bored, and the atmosphere is attractive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeaSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday treat!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We went to saffron to celebrate my mothers birthday. We had a party of 7 which allowed us to sample almost the whole menu! I encourage trying lots of little things as opposed to one meal when you go. We had several kinda of hummus and the best was the hummus royale! The octopus was phenomenal! Just the right spice. Lamb brain was ok. Very garlicky. The bastrimi was also amazing. Meatballs were very good as well! The cooked cheese was very good too. Of all the apps, octopus was the favorite.

For salads we had the lamb "blt" which was heaven. Everyone said it was the best meal out of everything.
The duck salad and beat salad were also great! The favorite other then the blt was the duck salad. Very yummy!

The main course had lamb tagine which was delicious! Seafood tagine which was ok at best. The lamb chops were amazing and a highlight for all! The chicken was also very good!

Dessert was just ok. Bakery sampler was good. Chocolate mousse was good and the ice cream was good but served basically as 2 small bites which was disappointing. My wife had a weird cheese pistachio cookie that sounded good but was a major disappointment. The wine was ok as were the specialty drinks. Overpriced and not all that amazing. But the good was just great! Again, many of the dishes were top notch and I encourage going when you can properly sample everything!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jnewton31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
“Great!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Tried the tagine, highly recommended! Great atmosphere and service! I can see why it is regarded as one of the top restaurants in Minneapolis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonje V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Titillate your senses!!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I had very high expectations when I arrived, having read all about Chef Sameh Wadi's rise to culinary excellence and his inspiration for becoming a chef. And yet I was still blown up by the perfection of his delectable dishes... In reality, we never got any further than the Octopus a La Plancha, the Grilled Haloumi Cheese and the Selection of Traditional Spreads because we ended up ordering each of those dishes twice! We also sampled the Beef Kubbeh but regretfully never made it to the Tagines, our initial reason for visiting Saffron - we were roadblocked by the amazing mezze. The service was also exceptional, from the hostess who kept us updated about our table's availability, to our gracious server and friendly busser. A not-to-be-missed restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing