We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the decor as well as the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saffron

Saffron
Ranked #97 of 1,793 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 1st Avenue & 3rd Street
Transit: If you are taking the light rail to downtown Minneapolis, we are only 2 blocks away from the last stop at first Ave.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the decor as well as the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Pork belly-- fantastic. Love the beautifully ethnic decor. The chef came out to suggest some small plate items for us. We sat at the bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slb43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    59
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
330 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good food, bad location, terrible restrooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Saffron advertises itself both as a restaurant and a lounge. It's definitely more of a restaurant. The food menu is somewhat limited given the famous chef who runs the place but their food is very good and interesting. Cocktails are great but pricy and the lounge atmosphere is nowhere to be found. A nice detail that the place is not very loud, and the patrons are very polite, mostly young and very nice. Service is very good and quick. This is not a place where you will run into drunks who can't stand/talk/walk so you can actually really enjoy food. The location if this place is not good. It's tucked away in a part of downtown with very little pedestrian traffic next to a highway exit. The space they use simply doesn't suit them and it ruins the atmosphere to a degree. The restrooms are awful (at least the ones for men are) and that's a shame. Nothing can spoil a nice dinner as a nasty restroom.
They need to redo their image. Find a better and livelier location, expand the menu, sort out those nasty restrooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank stric75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaffronMinneapolis, Manager at Saffron, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thanks for the generous feedback! This is all great food for thought.

Thanks for dining with us and for taking the time to leave such a detailed review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place...great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had the best waitress ever - Clare sp?? The chef checked on our meal and we had a show to attend and they made sure we'd leave in time.

EVERYTHING was perfect, amazing flavors, just a celebration of good atmosphere and food to perfection.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TimB087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rude and slow service; do not recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We were visiting our friends in MN and they booked a special night out on the town for us. Upon arriving to Saffron, the decor and ambiance was nice. It wasn't overly crowded; not a lively place by any means. Our friends had made us Sat night reservations weeks in advance but we still had to wait 35 minutes for a table. Bad start.

We went to the bar to order a round of drinks and our first encounter with a bad attitude was the bartender. We asked him to recommend drinks off the menu and he looked like we insulted him. Big ego!! My husband made up his own simple to execute vodka-soda drink and had to ask for an extra shot of vodka (which we were fully charged for) because the bartender barely put any booze in the drink.

When we were finally seated, our waiter took forever to come around. I asked him what was the most popular item on the menu was (since I like to order what the locals like!) and he said "um everything".. Again as if my question was rude?? The rest of the night continued like this. SLOWEST & RUDEST SERVICE EVER!!!!

The appetizers were the best part of the meal.. And the beef and lamb dishes that the guys ordered were decent. The special dish (can't remember the name) was disgusting.

For the cost of this place, the service has to improve. I felt bad that my friends were embarrassed that we all were treated so poorly. Obviously it was bad enough for me to write this review five months after my visit!! Still remember how awful the entire experience was!!!

Save your money and go elsewhere. I'm sure there are plenty of better options in Minneapolis.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kenrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Event - very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Wide selection of tappas and entrees. Great food and never felt rushed. Very unusual selections and some standard fare. On a Saturday night we spent over 2 hours sampling a variety of tappa dishes. Very relaxing and enoyable evening. Waiter was very knowledgable of menu and bar offerings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uihwki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing