We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel bed, ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Minneapolis
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best hotel bed, ever”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We booked a traditional king guest room for our fifth wedding anniversary. Our room was located on the fourth floor and looked out over what I assume was the roof of the awning of the hotel. While that view was not so appealing, we could see the cityscape beyond, which was nice. The room was tastefully decorated in a minimalist style with neutral colors--it kind of reminded me of a room out of an IKEA catalog. The bed was unbelievably comfortable! The sheets were heavy and the duvet soft. I wish I could say I had the best sleep of my life, but I didn't. I awoke in the middle of the night feeling panicky and hot. I felt like someone was standing beside the bed looking down at me. When I opened my eyes, I thought I saw someone with a bloody face. What the heck?? Obviously, this nightmare was no fault of the hotel. My husband had a great night's sleep, however. The shower was large with a rain shower head. The towels were thick and soft. Although there was a fridge in the room (stocked with all sorts of ala carte treats and drinks), there was no space for storing food or drinks of our own. Also, there was just one robe in the room...obviously, not enough for two guests. Overall, I would stay again if given the chance and if I came across a good deal on the room. Our total bill for one night's stay came to just over $200 ($35 parking fee) included. This was a bit much in my opinion since Internet and breakfast were not included in this total. I guess Super 8 has spoiled me. ;)

Room Tip: Avoid fourth floor if possible...not much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjou_Lindgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    329
    109
    59
    40
See reviews for
144
364
79
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a great lunch at the bank, the Weston's restaurant, with my beautiful, beautiful wife. The food was outstanding. Deb, our server, made our visit even memorable. I'd write more but I'm running out of room.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RT66guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is my first time at this Westin location and it will not be the last. From the moment we arrived the staff has been helpful, the room amazing (other than a heat issue but maintenance was up in less than five minutes to try and fix the issue), the bathroom was well appointed and the restaurant BANK? Beyond delicious. We made a point to eat there one morning, one afternoon and one evening - and it was fantastically priced for the location and quality - the staff was helpful and when we had ordered an appetizer that was Chef's Choice, the chef himself came out and went over the dish with us. It's withing walking distance to shopping and even more great dining experiences - overall - VERY satisfied and will be back again>

Room Tip: Join the Starwood Rewards program - you get a higher floor - so less traffic or lobby overflow noise...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have green options - like re-using towels, keeping your sheets for the length of your stay - but unlike some I have been too it's not shoved down your throat and there isn't a passive aggressive guilt trip if you want fresh sheets or towels.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegsChaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed as a family of 3 for 12 days in August and it became a home from home! The staff are friendly and helpful(special mention to Jon Nack in reservations for sorting out an extra bed for us!)The location is wonderful - out of the hotel and you are 2 minutes from Saks, Maceys and everything else in downtown including lots of great restaurants. Rooms are beautifully decorated, huge,with very comfortable beds and peaceful. We loved the restaurant and bar in the lobby - food was very good quality. Also made full use of the well equipped gym and the swimming pool.The hotel is also 2 minutes walk from the tram that goes directly to the airport and the mall of America. Can't think of anyhting negative at all!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed here on business in October and really enjoyed it. I’m usually a Hilton person but Starwoods is winning me over with hotels like this.

The room was great – clean extremely comfortable bed, spacious and well furnished.

When you walk into the hotel the lobby, restaurant and bar area are located in a historical beautiful bank building. You really need to check it out.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Randy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Good hotel with a great lobby. The staff was very friendly and the location was good. The only issue is that the rooms are very small and our view was terrible. The stay was good overall, and depending on the price, I would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westinmpls, Manager at The Westin Minneapolis, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Jack J

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are a registered historic building & a former bank so many of our room layouts vary. We hope you will join us again in one of our upgraded rooms for a different experience. Your loyalty to our hotel and your feedback on your experience is very important to us. We hope to welcome you back for your next stay! Thank you again for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor

Warm Regards WmnGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Westin is conveniently located in downtown, and reasonable close to attractions like the Guthrie Theatre. The former bank building boasts an impressive lobby which houses the bar and restaurant. Room layout was a little unusual with the desk right inside the door and the rest of the room down a short corridor, but it was clean and comfortable with the always-excellent Westin bed.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,260 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 49 in Minneapolis
1,666 reviews
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
The Marquette Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Minneapolis

Property: The Westin Minneapolis
Address: 88 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1100
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from Minneapolis's historic Farmers & Mechanics Bank building, The Westin Minneapolis will be your home to renewal in the Twin Cities. Located at the pulse of cosmopolitan Minneapolis, we are a short walk away from the best the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Westin Minneapolis
Minneapolis Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing