We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An institution in downtown Minneapolis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“An institution in downtown Minneapolis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Normandy has been in this location for more than 60 years. Although they have shuttle service, you could walk anywhere in downtown Minneapolis. I hope they never change. Be sure you try the popovers at the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JohnMNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad you enjoy our rich tradition as The Normandy Inn has been Inn Keeper to Downtown Minneapolis since 1925 and The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar has been serving timeless classic comfort foods since 1941! Still with the original recipe our popovers attract satisfied customers from around the world! Thank you for posting your kind comments on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    416
    97
    38
    30
See reviews for
314
284
94
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Had a great stay - no issues! Really? I need a min of 200 characters????

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Holmeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your amusing review of Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites! I am also surprised you need a minimum of 200 characters but you said it all with "Had a great stay, no issues!" We are glad you enjoyed yourself at The Normandy Inn and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Prague, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean Comfortable. The only thing I would recommend is, if you do not have children, ask to stay in a room away from the pool area, as the kids like to get up early and go to the pool so it a bit loud in the rooms around 0800 when the pool opens. Other than that, an excellent hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words you posted on Trip Advisor! We appreciate the valuable feedback that may be useful to future visitors of Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites. We are glad you enjoyed our clean and comfortable hotel and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAWSON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel was very close to our event location. It was within walking distance and for $120/night, that was very economical. The bartender was somewhat rude, but to her defense, she was the only one working so was very busy. Small bar, small pool area, but overall it was a good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank obb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for selecting Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites on your latest visit to beautiful downtown Minneapolis! We are glad you enjoyed our fantastic location and clean and affordable rooms. I will follow up with your bartender to ensure that they are providing excellent customer service that everyone has grown to expect in our Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar. I am happy you received a great value and hope to see you again at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
263 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very nice hotel. It does look very European/ chalet style from the outside. It is very big and done nicely. There are little nooks and chairs to sit in around the front desk area while you or your party is waiting to check in or unload your vehicle. Check in was prompt and very helpful letting us check in early for one room so we could unpack the car and head out, they let us know where the light rail was!! We used it to go to the mall of America and Cedar Ave.!!!! Parking is only $8.00 per night!! We parked and then didn't move our cars for 2 1/2 days. Nice! We used the hot tub, not the pool. Our suites were great! the bedroom is separated from the living area, with hide a bed couch, fridge, sink, table chairs and flat screen t.v. rooms 203 and 303 were on the corner of the building so there were windows facing south and west for some sunshine! Also, having the sink outside of the shower/toilet is very convenient when you have four women in a room!! There are way toooo many restaurants and bars to go to within walking distance, or we had them get us a car service to go to Nyes' in NE MPLS! worked great and very reasonable priced too! Nicollette is just down a little ways for shopping also. We did not try out the rest. maybe next time!! Thanks for the extra towels and the rooms were spotless when we did get back from our excursions! thanks Kim

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKLMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
We are glad you chose Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites for your 50th birthday party celebration! Thank you for your kind comments about our comfortable lobby, helpful staff, reasonable priced parking, large hot tub, and spotless well appointed guestrooms! On your next visit we do recommend our Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar as we promise to not disappoint! Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope to see you again soon at The Normandy Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I went to Minneapolis on a business trip and I had a pleasant stay at the Normandy, this hotel has been renewed recently so all the installations are in good shape. Also they have a really great customer service, they try to make your stay very comfortable and they are very good providing advise on directions and places to go. Location is also a plus as you are just a couple blocks away from the main street where all the restaurants are. They provide parking. The gym is small but it has all you need for the daily exercise.
For sports lovers the hotel is also close to the Target Field and the Vikings stadium, so you can enjoy the games and return to the hotel in a few minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street, you will get lees noise in the inner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for posting your well thought out review on Tripadvisor! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our customer service, newly remodeled guestrooms, fitness center, and excellent location! We hope to be of service to you again soon at Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lovely people on staff, clean well-appointed rooms, and the wonderful treat of freshly baked cookies and milk at 10 pm in the lobby make this a great choice for downtown stay - business or pleasure. The roomy pool area is great for relaxing with friends/family. The lounge is very comfortable, and has a neat old neighborhood feel. Give them a try!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BlueDory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff J, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your recommendations of Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites and The Normandy Kitchen Cafe & Bar! We are glad you appreciated our valuable staff, clean and well-appointed guestrooms, freshly baked cookies and milk, spacious pool area and comfortable lounge! We hope you get a chance to come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
Address: 405 South 8th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Normandy Hotel Minneapolis
Best Western The Normandy Inn And Suites
Best Western Normandy Inn
Best Western Minneapolis
Minneapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing