We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Inconveniences But Still A 5”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Pros: The size of the rooms. I loved the living room area and the large bedroom.
The breakfast was excellent and had a nice variety.
The fitness center has newer equipment that worked great.
The location is great for walking to downtown entertainment.
The front desk staff were great to deal with when I addressed the issues we had (see below). Even with those issues I would still stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Cons: Our room was never cleaned. We did have our "Do not Disturb" sign out until noon (which is also the check out time). However, when we got back at 4:00, it still wasn't cleaned. A housekeeping supervisor did stop by about 6:00 to ask if our room was cleaned and then two housekeepers stopped by about 6:30. At that point we were getting ready to leave for the evening and didn't want the disruption.
Heat: We could never get the room to heat above 69 degrees. An engineer came up to our room twice to look at it. The second time he said he'd see if there were other rooms to move us to. He never came back. Not a huge deal...just an inconvenience and slightly uncomfortable for us.
Parking: I was under the impression that we'd be charged the $20 each day we asked for an "in and out voucher". We never left the second day but were still charged the $20 (it is $17 for 24 hour parking if you don't leave). Just clarify this when you check in and don't have them add the parking until you need a voucher.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnsonkristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

WOW! Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and at home during their stay with us escpecially when they have a few challenges. So glad the staff was able to do just that! Thank you for mentioning the parking. It is a per day charge with in and out privelages. Parking is added only at time of check in. It is cheaper if for our guests to go through the garage if they do not wish to leave during their stay. We hope to see you soon if your travels ever bring you back to Minneapolis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hyatt Place Downtown Minneapolis and we were VERY pleased with our time there. The rooms were immaculately clean and very modern. The staff was incredibly helpful and patient. We loved our time here. Also, the breakfast was very large and they have a very nice

The only thing I was disappointed in, was that when I booked it a few months ago, I didn't realize that it would cost $20 extra a night for parking--but it wasn't a problem for us, it's just something I would have like to have known beforehand. This is a beautiful hotel, and in a great location! : )

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for the 5 point response. It sounds like you had a great time during your visit. I know the housekeeping staff works really hard in keeping the rooms and hotel clean. I hope to see you on your next visit to downtown Minneapolis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My family and I reserved 1 room with 2 beds, since there were 4 of us. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and that there were actually 2 beds plus a pullout. The room was very clean and beds were comfortable. The only down side to the room was that there only place that had a mirror and an outlet close by to get ready in the morning was the bathroom. There is another mirror, but nowhere to plug a hair dryer near by, so that was challenging with 4 of us getting ready in the morning. Also parking does cost extra ($20), but you do have unlimited vouchers for leaving the ramp.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brihn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We appreciate your loyalty and offering a four point rating. We strive for high ratings with each and every guest and do our utmost to make sure everyone has a great time. Recommending us to others is the ultimate compliment. Thank you again for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We booked the Hyatt Place after looking at many hotels in the area. We were visiting the U as our daughter is a junior in high school and we had booked a tour with the admissions office. The hotel lobby is elevated above the street level and Skyway, and is beautiful inside. Service at the front desk was friendly and very helpful during the 3 days we stayed there. The room was huge and we had plenty of room for two adults and two teens. Everything was brand new, and so clean. The thermostat wasn't cooperative, we could not get the heat under 70, but other than that, no complaints.

We traveled by light rail to and from the airport, as it was only a block or two away. Even though the temps were in the single digits, with lots of snow, we still got around easily. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The doors to the rooms open to the lobby atrium. Go for a higher floor if you are concerned about no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimplySuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear SimplySuzy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hyatt Place Minneapolis Downtown! I apologize that the temperature of your room wasn't what you anticipated, but appriciate all the other postivie comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I have spent the last two nights in this hotel, and we have one more to go. We are traveling with my husband's service dog, and upon entering the hotel, we were immediately informed that dogs were not allowed. We explained that she is a service dog and presented all documentation. We checked in, and all seemed to be fine until this evening when another front desk clerk shouted across the lobby, "There are no dogs allowed in here!" My husband explained that she is a service dog and that we had registered her with the hotel upon check in. The hotel responded that they had no record of this, and if we didn't immediately provide documentation, we would be charged an additional $250. As a result, I was forced out of my bed at 12:30 am to resolve this matter. Service animals are not pets. That are a necessary and prescribed aid to persons with disabilities, and as such, are protected under federal law. One would think that a chain as large as Hyatt would better train its staff regarding federal guidelines and the needs of guests with disabilities.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank shampooguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Hello Shampooguru,

Your candid feedback gives us an opportunity to further improve our services. We take every negative guest comment seriously and immediately find a solution so that it will never be repeated. We do take service animals very seriously and do not discriminate. We do have protocols when a guest notifies us that they have a service animal not only for your enjoyment of the hotel but also for the staff safety especially when the housekeeper goes to clean the room. I am not sure if this was the case, but we did have a room within the last week that did not notify us when checking into the hotel that they had a service animal, but rather discreetly brought the animal into the hotel. This of course raised many flags and put the staff on edge. I do apologize if this transposed onto you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Recently I spent four very cold January days in downtown Minneapolis and the experience was wonderfully warm thanks in no small part to this hotel. The skyway access allowed me to walk all over downtown Minneapolis without ever going outside. Public transportation (the blue line train) takes one directly to the airport, to Mall of America and to IKEA. It's five blocks from the hotel but, thanks to the Skyway, only one half block is outside.
The hotel room was spacious, comfortable, attractive and clean. I particularly enjoyed the view of the downtown skyline which was lovely at night.
The staff was courteous and helpful.
I didn't expect such a great place to stay. I couldn't have asked for more!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Pat B, Thank you for recommending our property to our fellow Trip Advisor readers. It is an honor to have such a fantastic review written. The Skyway access is a great thing when the temperatures are so low as well as the light rail to the airport and Mall of America being so close. Hopefully the weather will be more appealing upon your next visit to Minneapolis.
Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Our room was literally double the standard hotel room size - any other hotel and it would have been classified as a suite. Beautifully kitted out, everything new, very comfy beds, 2 huge tvs, fridge ( empty so really useful to put your own snacks/drinks in!). Used the gym alot (it was jan and freezing outside!) which was great. Hotel is linked by the skywalk to everything, so could go to Macys/Saks etc without stepping outside - took about 7/8 minutes. Only thing the hotel didn't do was room service - but you could phone up, order food then nip to the bar and collect. If you can cope without room service it has everything else and is much better value than most hotels. Great breakfasts, hot and cold choices - didn't seem to mind people taken a plate of croissants up to the room!Will definitely stay here next visit to MSP!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be huge - pick any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Will A, Thank you for such a fantastic Trip Advisor review! We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic experience that was only enhanced by the wonderful team of individuals we are able to work with each and every day.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,505 reviews
Millennium Minneapolis
#15 of 52 in Minneapolis
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown

Address: 425 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55415-1856 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: £87 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newly renovated Hyatt Place, perfectly situated in downtown Minneapolis. Following the recently completed $20 million dollar transformation, guests will enjoy a striking new lobby, 213 luxurious suites, meeting facilities, pool area, workout facilities and a brand new restaurant and bar. Connected to the cities iconic climate controlled Skyway, you are mere minutes away from the Convention Center, expansive shopping options, amazing restaurants, and vibrant nightlife. You're within walking distance to the home of the Minnesota Twins, Target Field, location of the 2014 MLB All-Star game. You're also a short walk to Mall of America Field, home of the Minnesota Vikings. Located less than three blocks away from the revolutionary Hiawatha Light Rail, you can travel easily to and from the MSP International airport as well as the world renowned Mall of America. A short stroll to the Mississippi waterfront is home to the Mill City District. Rich in history, the area boasts fine dining, striking views of Saint Anthony Falls, gorgeous parks, and extensive walking and bike paths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Minneapolis
Comfort Suites Minneapolis
Minneapolis Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing