We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but with some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value, but with some issues”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Ramada Plaza for three nights. It was not an overwhelmingly good or an overwhelmingly bad experience, but I definitely formulated some pros and cons.

Pros:
- The hotel has excellent highway access and good parking.
- My room was large and comfortable. We had a chaise lounge, even. (Unfortunately, it had a suspicious stain, but hey, a chaise lounge is pretty novel.)
- The desk in the room was equipped with more outlets than even someone like me who travels with a lot of devices to charge would ever need.
- Internet service was fast, reliable, and free, which is always a huge plus.
- The bed was comfortable, though a bit on the soft side.
- The room was mostly very clean (aside from the chaise lounge), and housekeeping did an excellent job of maintaining it during our stay. We never had a lack of linens or toiletries.
- Housekeeping also went above and beyond the call of normal hotel duty on the last night that we stayed, which I will describe below.
- We got an extremely low room rate, which made the stay an excellent value.

Cons:
- The hot water in the bathroom was really, comically slow to get started. I could turn on the hot water in the shower and before it got hot, I'd have time to use the toilet, brush my teeth, and stage a dramatic and ironic reading of the printed statement about how not laundering your towels every day saves water. Granted, once the water heated up, it was plenty hot and there was enough of it for two people to shower and then some. But the wait was a bit excessive.
- I thought initially that the hotel was quiet, but it turned out that the reason that it was quiet was that it was under-booked. On the last night of our stay, there was a wedding reception in the hotel restaurant, and apparently many of the attendees had rooms on the floor I was staying on. I know this because they congregated noisily and drunkenly in the hall near the elevator (coincidentally near my room) between 11pm and 1am. I learned more than I wanted to know about several members of the wedding party's preferences in underwear, and at least one person puked loudly in the hall. Now, obnoxious guests are not the hotel's fault, but it did point up the fact that the rooms are very open to hallway noise. I am happy to say that when we checked out in the morning, no puke was in evidence, and there was no trash or anything in the hall, so the housekeeping staff must have been really on the ball.

Overall, I would probably stay here again if necessary, especially for the rate we paid. But I would want a room away from the elevators if at all possible.

Room Tip: There is only one bank of elevators in the hotel, and room numbers go up from the end near the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeygnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaMpls, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Minneapolis, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Honeygnome,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I’m glad that our location was convenient, the room and bed were comfortable, the outlets were plentiful, the internet was fast and most of all that our staff did an excellent job. I’m a little disappointed to have missed out on your reading of the water conservation statement, it sounds like it was a good one. I apologize for the rude wedding attendees. We do our best to keep groups together when blocking rooms. Please know that our security staff is always ready and willing to address situations such as the one you encountered to ensure that everyone has a pleasant stay. We look forward to your next stay with us here at Ramada Plaza Minneapolis.
Happy Travels,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    436
    246
    77
    39
See reviews for
441
178
53
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chisholm, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Close to downtown and have a shuttle to take you down there but it does not run all night so plan for that. It is a $20 cab ride back from downtown. Pool area is OK and the place is quiet so you can get a good night sleep. Good customer service and is easy on and off the freeway if you have to do any travelling while you are there. Check this place out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdonapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaMpls, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Minneapolis, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Mcdonapa,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m glad that you were able to get a good night’s sleep while you stayed with us and that staff provided you with good customer service. The convenient location and free parking here at Ramada Plaza Minneapolis make us a great alternative to a downtown hotel. We hope to have you as our guest again.
Kindly,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The overall service was awesome. I enjoyed my stay and the restaurant service manager and staff were wonderful. However, the hallways tended to be a bit noisy. The doors slam shut and it echos in the hallway making it loud, at times-disturbing. Otherwise my experience was a great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaMpls, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Minneapolis, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Jack,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff members were wonderful! I apologize for any door slammers. We do our best to keep the hallways quiet to ensure that all of our guests have a pleasant stay. I hope you will stay with us again for another great stay here at Ramada Plaza Minneapolis.
Happy Travels,
Tammy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Minneapolis
#14 of 49 in Minneapolis
733 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Minneapolis

Property: Ramada Plaza Minneapolis
Address: 1330 Industrial Blvd NE, Minneapolis, MN 55413-1703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#24 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from businesses, area attractions and shopping, Ramada Plaza Minneapolis is business-paced and leisure-minded. Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms, modern décor, pool and fitness center, inviting public spaces. Our experienced meeting and catering experts can work with you to plan events up to 400 attendees. Complimentary on-site parking. Shuttle service within a five mile radius (complimentary, but based on availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ramada Plaza Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Sheraton Minneapolis
Four Points Minneapolis
Minneapolis Sheraton
Minneapolis Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing