We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed here one night and got a deal through Hotwire. Glad we did - it would have been a bitter pill paying almost double for our room. Though it was nice and actually fairly roomy for a downtown hotel, the pillows on the bed were very uncomfortable and though there were many, they all seemed to be the same type. I had a terrible sleep and still had a kink in my neck 3 days later. The room we had looked out onto a nice courtyard though - also nice considering our last downtown hotel had a view of a brick wall and an alley. The bathroom was nice (marble) but the tub and tile surround seemed dated and the tub didn't drain (we told them at the front desk on check out and they were sending someone up to fix it). Bottom line: if you can swing a good deal, it's worth it, but maybe bring your own pillow!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Jenwpg,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza on your recent visit to Minneapolis. I appreciate your feedback on the bath tub drain and the pillows, I will make sure these items have been addressed. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    201
    96
    53
    19
See reviews for
71
139
44
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We celebrated our wedding there this weekend and had an absolutely wonderful experience. The staff was amazing, accomodating, helpful, friendly & went above & beyond my expectations. The wedding suite is a very large room and features it's own patio w/heated floors! The downstairs bar was also great to have and the bartending staff were so friendly! I recommend this hotel for sure!

The only issue I had was problems booking rooms for guests. Many of my guests mentioned that they were told the hotel was completely booked for the night when in fact it was not. I'm not sure what caused the miscommunication, but it did cause some frustration.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Molly N,

Congratulations to you and your husband, we are very honored that you chose us as your host for this very special day! Thank you for the great comments about our staff and the hotel, we look forward to having you as our guests again in the future.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is very well situated in downtown. rooms are clean but the furniture looks dated. Parking cost is $22 per day with in&out privilege. There is a nice restaurant/bar at the entrance of the hotel but this costed the lobby area, it is very small. Overall an acceptable hotel for business visits.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Travelhappy97,

Thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza Northstar. I appreciate the positive feedback on the restaurant experience. We continue to work on improving the guest room experience and I am dissapointed in the condition of the furniture in your room. Please contact us so that we can confirm your specific room number.

Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hotel was very accommodating: called and made a reservation for 3 people the morning of and they gave us a great hotel room. We were on the 10th floor... 2 queen beds.
The room was very clean and open and surprisingly roomy/large.

The bathroom was white and black marble and there was a powder area outside of it with an extra sink (sink inside the actual bathroom too)

The usual amenities, iron, board, blow dryer in the bathroom.

We ordered room service and it arrived quickly and the person who brought it up was very friendly.

Front desk staff was super informative, and gave us breakfast vouchers, so thank you crowne plaza for that!

Only downfall from a personal opinion is the mattress was too soft for me (but others like soft mattresses).

Overall a great experience, even though the stay was short.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alohasun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Alohasun3,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Northstar on your recent visit to Minneapolis. I appreciate the great comments about your stay and wish you could have stayed longer! We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in Minneapolis.

Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The staff was great and the rooms were nice, but this was a very noisy hotel. There were several volleyball teams staying there, and one team was a real problem. I called the first two nights to complain about the noise. Girls were running, slamming doors, screaming and laughing way into the night. I was told they would take care of the problem, but after two nights with no results, I asked to be moved to a room on another floor. The staff was accommodating in that regard, but I felt like the problem should have been handled the first night. Apparently it went on for the rest of the weekend, because I had friends complaining about it. This hotel seems to be a popular venue for weddings and receptions, which added to the crowds and noise.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on their "gauranteed quiet" floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
MS,

Thank you for chosing the Crowne Plaza for your recent visit to Minneapolis. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by a noisy team at the hotel. i would like to invite you back for another stay to allow you to better experience our hotel. Please call the hotel and ask for the general manager and we will make arrangements for your next stay.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier. The staff was friendly, the room service was timely and tasty, and the rooms were clean. Good value for a nice hotel. I will be staying here on my next trip to the twin cities.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Jesse W,

Congratulations on your recent marriage and thank you for celebrating your honeymoon with us! We look forward to seeing you again next time in Minneapolis.

Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great hotel, great staff, nice rooms but my whole experience was almost ruined because of some extremely loud people. I thought they were on my floor running up and down the halls acting like fools. After I called and complained I thought the noise would stop. NOPE not at all. Actually didn't seem to stop at all. Come to find out these people were on the 14th floor not my floor the 15th. That should tell you how loud they were. Disappointed that the hotel didn't get this taken care of considering there were a lot of kids there playing volleyball the next morning at 8. One other thing I do at hotels and did at this one was always blow a booger on the shower wall to see if it actually gets cleaned. Nope Sunday morning I had to clean the booger off my wall. I just hope the rest of the room actually got cleaned. Other than this the hotel is nice and I would stay there again, but only if it doesn't have crazy loud people on the floor below me yelling and screaming half the time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCPNorthstar, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Ryan J,

Thank you for staying with us at the Crowne Plaza during your recent visit to Minneapolis. I am dissapointed to hear about your experience on the last night with the noise on the floor below you. Please contact the hotel and ask to speak with Aaron the general manager to discuss your stay further.

I look forward to speaking with you, have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
The Westin Minneapolis
The Westin Minneapolis
#21 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Downtown
The Marquette
The Marquette
#18 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
AC Hotel Minneapolis Downtown
AC Hotel Minneapolis Downtown
#27 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar

Property: Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar
Address: 618 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1929
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#25 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Northstar is centrally located in the heart of downtown Minneapolis and connected by skyway to most major businesses and entertainment venues, such as Target Field, Target Center, and Nicollet Mall. The new US Bank Stadium is only 0.8 miles away, and Loring Park is one mile away. Crowne Plaza Northstar offers two on-site restaurants, Cafe Northstar and Krona Bar and Grill. Crowne Plaza Northstar features a 24-hour fitness center, full-service business center, and free Wi-Fi for guests. The beautiful outdoor Skygarden is perfect for corporate and social events, plus over 10,000 square feet of indoor, versatile meeting space. Crowne Plaza Northstar is located two blocks away from the Light Rail Transit Station that services trips to Mall of America and the airport. The pay on-site parking ramp with in and out privileges for hotel guests is convenient. Exceptional staff is here to assist you every step of the way at Crowne Plaza Northstar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Downtown - Northstar Hotel Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Minneapolis
Crowne Plaza Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing