We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$237
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
WHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Minneapolis(Minneapolis)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
130
116
19
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
116
19
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest banktown hall brewerystandard courtyardlight railgreen linesmall poolstarbucks coffeepublic parking garageupdated hotelnice hoteltop floorvikings stadiumonly stayed one nightbusiness tripwalking distancegreat cityconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The room are very modern and nice, beds and pillows very comfortable and location to the dome extremely ideal!! However, the rates are very high. NO hot tubs at all in the hotel very upsetting, elevators have issues we walked 8 flights of stairs, The Bistro has very select items for food and extremely over priced, no room service, there are no vending machines on individual floors and what items they do have by front desk are priced rediculous. Employees some were nice some alittle rude. Housekeeping very noisy early hours! The bar close to hotel called The Corner Bar is by far the greatest bar and has excellent food and great workers very fun time!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labplb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtyard M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Labplb –
Thank you for your review. I really am sorry for the changes that were made that you found dissatisfying at the Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. We made many changes since the hotel was a Holiday Inn, in effort to create a better experience for our guests. We are in the process of upgrading our elevators and are sorry that they were out of service when you needed them. It was decided to exchange the hot tub for a larger exercise facility based off of feedback from Courtyard travelers. We acknowledge that there are no snack machines on each floor (beverage on all floors) but chose this option so that we could embrace “the Market” which offers a wider selection of items and is open 24 hours.
With all of that – your experience still falls below our standards and for that I am sorry. While I cannot add a whirlpool or additional vending to each floor - I can ensure your next stay is memorable. Hopefully willing – you will reach out to me personally at phil.johnson@courtyardminneapolis.com with your next check in date and confirmation number so we can go above and beyond your expectations!
Sincerely,
Philip Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Courtyard Minneapolis handled our wedding party stay this weekend. They did an excellent job. This brand new hotel is beautiful, functional, and the staff were great. Very helpful and supportive. So glad we chose this hotel over others!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kornopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetrodome, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Kornopp –
Congratulations to you and your wife on this special time in your lives! I know that Lisa and Ben really enjoyed working with you and we are all very happy that you chose our hotel. Please consider coming back to stay with us soon to relive all the happy memories you made together this past weekend!
Philip Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I must admit that this almost too nice to be a Courtyard instead of a regular Marriott. I was very happily surprised and impressed with its renovation. Location is near the University and there are nice restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel:

It has Starbuck's coffee and a nice food selection, which is located in a great lobby space for sitting and talking with friends or using your or their computer. They have free computer service in the lobby with free printing, which was wonderful as I was there for a conference. I really like that it wasn't stuck in a business office away from everything as well as the great price-free. They also have a shuttle, which is nice if you need it.

Service: I was able to check in early and leave late, which I was very grateful for since my flights were at very odd times. They were very gracious about it and eager to make the accommodation, if possible.

Rooms:

Great space! Room is spacious and nicely decorated and the layout works well. There is a couch with a long ottoman with enough space to enjoy it. The work space actually gives you a choice--you can sit at the desk or take another desk that is located underneath the fixed desk and roll it to were you would rather work--It was great. The bed is really, really comfortable. I need a new bed at home so I was grateful to get a good night sleep. I had a shower in my room, the only thing I didn't like is that the glass door closest to the shower is fixed so you have to get it into the shower to turn it on, which is not pleasant for an instant. It seems to be a trend and I don't know why decorators do that.

I really enjoyed it and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the housekeeping room and elevators. The housekeepers do an excellent job cleaning but that means that they are busy working and, therefore, using their room and very early.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is cheaper then the downtown hotels but still nice and centrally located. Decor has improved since it switch ownership, easy walking distance to some of Minneapolis best attractions and an easy bus connection to others.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetrodome, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Brittany M –
Thanks so much for your review of the Courtyard Minneapolis downtown. After its 17 million dollar renovation, we’re happy to hear that you and other guests appreciate the change. I also want to thank you for sharing what a great location we have. Please come back and stay with us next time you are in Minneapolis. Thank you! Phil - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We have stayed previously at this hotel when it was a Holiday Inn and recently stayed there again. It is now a Courtyard and has undergone a complete renovation. This is an excellent location if you are visiting the University of Minnesota. It is on the West bank of the campus and a short walk to the East bank/main campus. We fly in and take the light rail from the airport to the Metrodome stop. If you call the hotel 3-4 stops prior to that, the free shuttle will be waiting at the stop to take you to the hotel. It will be even more convenient when the new light rail line opens in early 2014, as it will have a stop within walking distance of the hotel. The lobby and guest rooms have all been nicely renovated. The bathroom was somewhat small, but very nice. The beds were extremely comfortable. There were many convenient plugs for electronics and free wi-fi. There is a pool and a workout room on the top floor. We did not eat at the restaurant, but food and coffee are available for purchase in the lobby area. We ate at the restaurant next door and across the street, both of which were good. This is a good choice when visiting the campus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmotley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetrodome, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Jmotley123,
I want thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay at our newly renovated Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown. Our full top to bottom renovation totaled over $17 million, all to create a refreshing and reenergizing guest experience.
We would be delighted to have you return the next time you are in the Minneapolis area. Thank you again for sharing so many valuable pieces of information to our future guests.
Phil Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews