We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and newly done”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice new Courtyard. Within walking distance of the green line and just a sort hop to Nicolett mall. $6 ticket buys you all day on the transit system. Typical Marriott predictability. Two nice restaurants (Town Brewery and the Republic) within 50 yards. Parking is next door and runs $17/night. Great for tourists as well as business that wants to be economic. Friendly staff as well. Area around the hotel looks a bit iffy but really isn't so enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The staff is really friendly, the rooms are super clean, and the beds are ridiculously comfortable (I seriously could've laid in that bed for a full day without moving). The location is great, with a light rail station just a block away. My only complaint, is that parking is a little expensive (but this is Minneapolis, after all). Will definitely be staying here again! Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz_1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. The hotel has been recently renovated and is very nicely decorated with modern accents. We had a corner room which was amazing. The bathroom was beautiful, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The name of this hotel is misleading as it is not really in downtown minneapolis.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank zsattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stay in or around U of M often. This hotel offers great access to the U, downtown Minneapolis/ St. Paul, and the burbs! The rooms are very comfortable an clean. Parking, while not cheap, is convenient and plentiful. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dick T, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for your nice review and kind comments! We hope to see more of you on your visits to the University of Minnesota campus. We are the most convenient hotel to the U of M and intend to be the best hotel to serve the needs of visitors to the University.
Best regards,
Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently for our 1 year anniversary. They recently renovated, and the rooms are gorgeous. I say this as someone who loves hotels, and has stayed in some that are supposedly "nicer" than this one, but which have outdated decor. No such issues here! The bedrooms are so stylish, comfortable, and beautiful. The bathrooms are a little on the small side, but they make up for that by being spotless and having a lot of very fluffy towels. The internet is both free and fast, which was a huge plus for us! I couldn't avoid comparing this hotel with the Hilton Garden Inn, which is in somewhat of the same league. I will say that the rooms at the Courtyard are much, much better, but their breakfast is less extensive. I really longed for a buffet breakfast in the morning, but I will say that the food they do have at "The Bistro" is good. I just wish that there were some more options - and that they didn't have limited hours - and that is the only reason that I gave this hotel 4 instead of 5 stars.

The service, however, definitely deserves 5 stars! Everyone was helpful and accommodating. The housekeeping staff were fantastic!

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We chose a room that was on a higher floor, and so had no noise issues. For added comfort, get the K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dick T, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our hotel! The food and service in our Bistro are ranked in the top 10% of all 890 Courtyard by Marriott hotels! We will take your suggestions under advisement on hours and additional selections, and we will share your great feedback with our entire team. Many thanks for your advice and your business!
Best regards,
Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice hotel in a somewhat dumpy if "up and coming" neighborhood right next to the west campus of the Univ. of Minnesota. But the best access to all areas of the twin cities. I had reunions in Roseville, at the same time as sightseeing in Minneapolis and I was right next to the highway and within 20 minutes of all major attractions and where I had to be. Highly recommended just for location alone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dick T, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for the endorsement and for your business!
Choose us for the location, enjoy our top-ranking Bistro and gain Marriott Rewards Points for use on free stays at Marriott Hotels & Resorts around the world. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was a great stay. It was a beautiful, stylish room. This was not a hotel in need of an update. The rooms were spotless, the lobby was beautiful and the people very friendly and helpful. It was quiet and felt like we had the floor to ourselves.

The only drawback to this hotel is that you do pay for parking and it was $17 a day So if we were there for a week or so it would really add up. Other than that we were pleased.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dick T, General Manager at Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Yes, we are brand new, having recently completed a $17 million renovation. The adjacent parking facility is a public garage and we are happy to have ample parking available. The $17 cost is very competitive for the downtown market. There is alternative parking available at a lower rate however it is surface parking and a short walk from our front door. We appreciate your comments and your business and look forward to serving you again soon.
Best regards,
Dick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
aloft Minneapolis
aloft Minneapolis
#30 of 50 in Minneapolis
516 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Place Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Commons Hotel
#11 of 50 in Minneapolis
985 reviews
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown

Address: 1500 Washington Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55454 (Formerly Hotel Minneapolis Metrodome)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#26 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: £108 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown, a stylish hotel in Minneapolis, MN, impresses travelers with inviting accommodations and state-of-the-art facilities. Our Downtown Minneapolis hotel's location is adjacent to I-94 and I-35W, and it is only 8 miles from MSP International Airport. Guests are steps from Guthrie Theater, Mill City Museum, the breathtaking St. Anthony Falls, and many other downtown attractions. Travelers can retreat to spacious, smartly designed rooms featuring plush bedding, large desks, ergonomic chairs and free Wi-Fi, for work or relaxation. Our Downtown Minneapolis hotel's restaurant, The Bistro, serves an energizing breakfast and mouthwatering evening fare. Our fitness center makes it easy for travelers to keep up a fitness regimen, and it's a breeze to let tensions float away in our indoor pool. Courtyard by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown provides optimal settings for focused meetings and special events within comfortably productive breakout space and a 5,200-square-foot ballroom. For modern amenities and welcoming service, choose Courtyard by Marriott in Minneapolis, MN as your lodging destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Minneapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Minneapolis Metrodome Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing