We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Class Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Class Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Spent 3 nights here on business attending a conference -- a great value and great structure:
Positives
1. Thank you for not charging me for the internet, it was a delightful surprise
2. Thank you for not charging me for the fitness center. A tremendous facility, better than most private gyms
3. Great location
4. Room was very large,.comfortable. The desk could have been bigger for my needs, difficult to do work on such a shallow desk.

I wish I had brought the connectors to hook my laptop up through the audio/video outlets, I could have watched Netflix on the bigscreen.

Negatives
1. A beautiful HD TV and a lousy analog signal -- that's a waste
2. Do I have an air vent outside my window? I thought I could hear something opening/closing during the night

Honestly, I didn't have that much interaction with the personnel -- I used the kiosk for check in and didn't have any .problems.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for the upgraded view. The city is nice to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We are currently working on an HD solution but glad you had a great experience. Your welcome! Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    563
    194
    75
    36
See reviews for
218
229
52
972
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
412 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Minneapolis Hyatt is a very attractive hotel. It's on the end of downtown, but there are plenty of great restaurants and shops within walking distance. I even thought the Blue Line light rail was close enough for a brisk walk. My room was comfortable and the bathroom was huge! The lobby's fireplace is unique and cozy. People from the convention I attended hung out next to it all day and night. Every staff member I encountered was helpful and accommodating. I was particularly impressed by one of my housekeepers who left me a thank you note for leaving her a tip! That's never happened to me before and I really appreciated it. The only thing keeping me from giving the Hyatt 5 stars are some of the costs that you'll find at any large chain hotel. Luckily my conference had a great deal on rooms, and WiFi was free because of the group. But if I hadn't had that, WiFi would have been at least ten bucks a day. There are plans available that can set you back $15 a day. In this day and age that seems excessive. I ordered room service - burger, soup, no beverage - that was more than $30. About a third of the bill - a third! - was taxes and service charges! A small bottle of orange juice in the hotel lobby was $4. But that does come with big hotel territory. I would consider looking at the Hyatt's rates for a future visit, and if reasonable, gladly return.

Room Tip: Even if you don't pay extra for a skyline view, the view on the other side of the hotel is prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freutmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review! Glad you had a great experience and that the staff exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This newly renovated hotel is very nice. Room was large, clean and very nice. Beds were very comfy. I ended up on the club floor which had complimentary breakfast and appetizers for those on that floor. Nice touch! The facilities for our event were very nice as well. I had no problems and found staff friendly and helpful. (Except housekeeping who didn't know what time check out was). You do have to pay for parking which is the downside of having an event downtown.
My only complaint is the restaurant and market on site do not have kid friendly foods in fact the restaurant doesn't even have a kids menu. We did walk to nearby locations to eat but maybe Hyatt should add some kid friendly foods to what they offer.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Check-in was very easy, cookies for guests checking in. Room as large enough for two couples to share and not feel crowded. Room was at first glance very nice, upon further inspection there were a few physical flaws. One of the lampshades was badly damaged, there was some sort of product on the wall dripping down, and the wall paper was ripped off a spot high above the bed. Maybe showing that the housekeepers do not take care to report needed fixes? Also, I left 2 dollars on our first day stay requesting 4 bath towels as we had 4 adults staying. The housekeeper "Kelly" left 4 hand towels and 4 washcloths but only 3 bath towels. It seemed a little snarky since I specifically requested 4. Nice view from our room. Main lobby is beautiful, bar was great. The breakfast buffet was expensive (19$ each) but was really really good with a ton of selection. There is a nice selection of things you can request for free to your room if you forgot. Checkout was very easy as we did auto check out. There is a daily parking fee, which I find sort of ridiculous if you are staying in the hotel but what are our other options? We drove there... we were at their mercy. We were disappointed to see there was not a hot tub available and the pool was tiny. The fitness facility was large including a full basketball court. It was a rather expensive hotel but the location is really good to downtown bars/restaurants. The concierge was great and super helpful and the front desk was wonderful. My only complain is the housekeeping and the small issues with upkeep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MindilovesMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thankd so much for taking the time to review! Certainly disappointed in your housekeeping experience, not what we are known for. As with all properties downtown, we do charge for parking. I think you would find that at the vast majority of hotels here downtown. i would like to learn nore about your room. If you have a quick second, please email at mark.becker@hyatt.com. We appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was lucky to stay here at a great rate for 3 nights. The room was fantastic. Large. Newly done. Great view. Bathrooms were modern and very nice. Amenities were great. I didn't get to take advantage of all the facilities but a few folks who did commented they were excellent. The service everywhere was top knotch. Everyone on staff was very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was delicious. Had a slight problem w/ the paid internet service, but front desk got me IT support and they helped me work through the issue.

Room Tip: Get a room on upper floor w/ a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XManNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
So glad you had a great experience! Love hearing the comments about the staff, we're certainly proud of them! Come back and see us very soon and try out the facilities that you missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Hotel is clean, rooms are modern and I had a great view of the city. Only downsides was the ridiculous $250.00 hold placed on my card for a prepaid room, no parking included, and even the WiFi isn't free.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Glad to hear that you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly. Like most downtown hotels, we do charge for parking. We do hope that your travels bring you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel. The room was clean and very comfortable. We stayed 2 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was a bit confusing and we had to walk through 2 different corridors to get to the ramp. But our parking was included, so we didn't have to pay each time we wanted to leave. Also, if you're there for a couples thing like we were, the horse and Carriage rides pick up right outside the front of the hotel! I'd stay here again!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TaunyaMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
So glad you had a great experience and that you will be returning! Come back and see us soon and experience more of that friendly service! Thanks for leaving a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#17 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2667
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in July of 2013. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 100,000 sq. Feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing