We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at a Great Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury at a Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

I got such a great deal that I came just expected a basic hotel room. To my surprise, the hotel and room was superb!!. When I arrived, the outside of the hotel was just basic and I was not happy about the parking costs. But as soon as you walk in the lobby, the luxury is apparent. The room was perfect. It was large and very very comfortable. I was impressed by the size of the bathroom. I truly liked the very nice sized vanity and sturdy wood-crafted stool. My favorite amenity was the lighted bathroom mirror. The perfect lighting for make-up and I love the night light feature. I want one for my home! The bed was perfect, very comfortable with plenty of pillows Location was nice, close to many great bars and restaurants, all in easy walking distance. I didn't use the gym but I wondered down and was thoroughly impressed. The largest most luxurious hotel gym I have ever seen!! Truly rivals private luxury gyms/spas.

Room Tip: Hotel is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanitaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We're pleased that you found great value for the price. The gym is pretty spectacular and we're glad you enjoyed the bathrooms Lots of space to spread out! We hope to se you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    563
    194
    75
    36
See reviews for
218
229
52
972
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Recently stayed here for business and was very impressed with this hotel. The front desk staff were extremely nice (Thanks Tim). The rooms have obviously been recently updated and were very tastefully done in a modern style. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. There is not a hot tub, but the workout facilities were incredible! Probably the nicest gym I have ever seen in a hotel. Numerous work out stations, free weights, cycles, etc... If you like to workout this is the hotel for you. Excellent location right on Nicollet mall, so there are lots of shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdhokenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review! So glad you appreciated the recent renovations and that you enjoyed the gym. It's pretty special! Like you, if appreciate the location! So close to shopping, restaurants and nightlife. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The location here is a great! Nicollet Mall has lots to do - restaurants, shopping, people watching. Plus it was easy to walk to the Sculpture Gardens and also to the Art Museum. If you are attending a conference at the Convention Center, very easy walk to the Convention Center as well. Nice park areas around the hotel as well. Besides the location, the hotel is just OK.

When I checked in, the hotel had given my room away to someone else. No idea how this happened - the room was under my name and hotels always ask for photo ID upon check in. Have to say the front desk staff was nice about it and upgraded me to a suite and gave me dinner on them at their restaurant. I am still amazed at this even happened but it concerned me the hotel did not seem to think this was a big deal.

Room was nice but very loud. I had to call security twice one night because the people next to me were extremely drunk and I could hear everything. I am still not sure that security even showed up. I called once about 1:30 am and it was still going on about 2 am and I called again. Eventually they quieted down next door, but again, I do not think it was due to security and just the drunks passing out.

Room service food was horrible. My salad was drenched in dressing (to the point were I tossed it) and my soup was luke warm and very salty. When I ate in Prairie Kitchen and Bar, the same things applied, too much dressing on the salad and food was salty.

Not the best experience. Not the worst experience. I think the location is what saved this hotel from being a total disaster.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockinjla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment. I'm certainly disappointed and would love the opportunity to speak to you directly. My email is mark.becker@hyatt.com and my phone is 612.596.4505. I look forward to rectifying for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
584 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We love the location of this hotel. It is within walking distance to many great restaurants. The desk staff is top notch and work to be engaging with their customers. Love the flavored water and dipped oreo cookies at the check-in area. The beds are wonderful! The bathroom is unique. We miss having a hot tub, but otherwise love this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for the great review! So glad you had a great experience (and got to try one of our check in treats!). The location is pretty spectacular and we're most pleased that you found exceptional service. Come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
673 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is a nice hotel. The lobby has a large, very inviting fireplace, which is perfect for Minnesota. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed. We used a hide-a-bed sofa for an extra person and it worked out great. The staff was pleasant. The location is within nice walking distance of lots of shops and restaurants in the downtown area. My only complaint is with the valet service. My point would be to the management: if you cannot provide good valet service, then you should have guests self-park. We paid extra for valet parking, but one time, after calling for my car to be brought around, I found my locked car in the main driveway area but no person with my keys in sight. I waited and waited - no one was around. After 15 minutes, a manager-type person came through to retrieve keys for another guest - I asked for my keys, and after searching and searching (they had no idea how the keys were organized on the key rack) I identified my own keys and I let myself in my car. Another night I pulled up to the main entrance - no valet in sight. After waiting for 5 minutes, I went inside - there was one person at the reception desk: "Can I get someone to park my car?" I asked. The desk person said: "That would be me." It was as if they had no staff to park cars. I believe the hotel was full, so I don't understand the understaffing issue. Again, I would be happy to pay less for (more efficient) self-parking, but guests should be warned about the poor valet service when checking in and be told self-parking is more reliable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 493Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. To say that we're disappointed is an understatement. The valet service you received is unacceptable. Please contact me at mark.becker@hyatt.com. Or 612.596.4505 so that I have the opportunity to make it right. Appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This has been recently remodeled to an upscale, ultra modern version. Our check in was very efficient (less than 5 minutes). Most of that was due to an excellent staff member Ms. LIZ! We saw her several times through out our stay and she was always welcoming and helpful. We received good advice for our walk about downtown MPLS....and were very please with our gorgeous suite overlooking Nicolet Mall. We were lucky enough to plan a stay on Thursday, so there was a ton of street vendors out along the Mall, which was a lot of fun. Also a very nice walk to the Target Field for a Twins game. We wished we had known about the MN Lynx that night too, as we would have attended that as well. We walked everywhere and had a great time. This is a great location. Dark blue/black interior of the rooms with a dark blue carpeting. NEAT! Best of all was the bed and linen quality. It was amazing! We slept in late and had a very quiet room. Yup, we'll definitely be recommending this to family and friends, and will be back again for a stay in the Cities. We loved it. We had breakfast the next day at their Prairie restaurant. The staff there was also good. Our meal was excellent, all with organic, local grown good. ($$$) only weird thing was the tables at which we were dining at, were pretty crummy. The finish was coming off and flaking,,, They were all beat up and scratched badly.It really took away from the dining experience. We looked around and saw several tables similar...why not just replace with new? Strange...the outdoor lounge/seating area looked great, we didn't get the chance to partake. We missed the gym (for shame!) and the pool ....next time!

Room Tip: The higher up you get, the better the view of the skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedneckCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for the review and the great comments regarding Liz! We will definitely share! So glad that you had a great experience and that you will recommend to your friends! That's the highest compliment we can get. You are correct, the restaurant tables did not hold up well and are in the process of being replaced. Roughly 15% are done and the remainder will be done in the upcoming months. The new tables are handmade locally so they take some time to fabricate. Thanks again for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
288 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Room was clean and decorated in a modern but simple style. Hallways looking a bit tired. Disappointed with not having a walk in shower as I was expecting. Bed however was extremely comfortable. Staff at front desk were very pleasant and professional. Parking is really expensive but we found a public lot a few blocks away for $5 for the night. The location is on Nicollet Mall but on the extreme edge of the downtown. You are pretty far from Target Field, the Warehouse District, Hennepin Ave Theaters, Guthrie Theater, and the Lightrail line. However, if you're spending time at the Convention Center, you can't get much closer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domer90mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Minneapolis, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for the review! You are correct in that we are one block from the convention center. The light rail is a half a mile and target center, target field, etc are one mile. Glad you found the room comfortable and the staff pleasant. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Millennium Minneapolis
#13 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Minneapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Minneapolis

Property: Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Address: 1300 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2667
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#7 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#10 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#18 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Minneapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the heart of downtown on Nicollet Mall. Connected by climate-controlled skyway to the Minneapolis Convention Center, downtown restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. The Hotel completed an extensive renovation in July of 2013. This renovation features new guest rooms and a completely transformed lobby and Food and Beverage options. Including Prairie Kitchen and Bar, an upscale bar/restaurant, and expansive marketplace for grab and go items as well as sundries. Hotel features an extensive StayFit fitness facility and over 100,000 sq. Feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Regency Minneapolis On Nicollet Mall
Hyatt Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing