We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average chain hotel feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Minneapolis. I travel to Minneapolis fairly regularly (1-2 times per year) and have stayed at a number of different hotels around town. The location of the hotel is probably its biggest selling point as its right in downtown Minneapolis, within a short walking distance to most office buildings, as well as to the sports stadiums and nearby restaurants. My entire experience from start to finish was completely average. Also, while it's not that I particularly need the service, I found it strange that there was no staff stationed on at the street-level entrance when I arrived to greet you or to handle your bags. The lobby and room decor is sterile, feels dated and lacks any personality. They seem to do just enough to meet whatever standard they need to meet, but nothing more. This is the type of hotel stay and business trip that make you want to get home sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtboerner, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. First off, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we very much appreciate your feedback. I do aplogize that there was nobody at the door to greet you, and dissappointed as well. We have a doormen on duty every day from early in the morning until 11 pm at night and we always have at least one valet on duty 24 hours a day (usually two or three during the day and evening). Perhaps at the time of arrival the doorman was helping another guest and had gone to the lobby and the valets had gone to retrieve cars. I will remind them to call someone else on staff to replace them so that we always have a presence.
All in all, I think you will notice that our guests often remark on how friendly and caring our staff is and I know that we will all try even harder to make our guests stay memorable for the right reasons.
Again, thank you for your feedback.
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I suppose that this a perfectly functional hotel, but I would never think about staying there if I didn't have to. First, the good points. The staff was very, very nice and helpful and my room was relatively quiet, especially considering the shenanigans going on at the hotel that weekend (something about zombies).

Still, there is nothing at all memorable about the building or layout. The food was ordinary (although my scrambled eggs in the restaurant were very good), and the navigation of escalators and elevators grew tiresome. I'd like to see what else Minneapolis has to offer.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank TwoWire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtboerner, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. First and foremost, thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our Hosts (employess). We are very fortunate to have such dedicated, loyal and caring professionals working here.
Yes it is true, you do have to take an elevator from our street lobby to the 5th floor lobby. Of course that is not everybodys cup of tea but it does help keep the hotel somewhat private for our guests and of course creates a nice safe and secure atmosphere. Obviously the escalators are only needed if you are travelling from the lobby to our meeting rooms and ballroom, but they really do help get people around a lot quicker.
Again, I am thrilled to read your comments about the staff and thank you very much for staying with us.
Best regards,
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Went for conference and this was a great place to stay -- the room was comfortable nice sized bathroom. It was a a bit of a walk from the convention center to hotel with luggage due to check out and leaving after the conference. Easy check in, easy and great to walk downtown which I loved. Definitely would stay again especially for conference

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the pool level so your balcony is where people walk to get to pool so you cannot h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtboerner, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Auburn Tiger,
Thank you for your comments, I think you might be referring to another hotel as we do not have a swimming pool.
Thank you very much,
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a conference, room 1218. Great location, noticeably helpful and friendly staff. Unique triangle-shaped tower. Comfortable beds. No mini-bar in the room? Other than that it's a fairly standard issue Marriott. Would return.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank dpenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtboerner, General Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. We do receive a lot of comments regarding our staff, I am very fortunate to have such wonderful Hosts working here at the Marriott City Center. This month I was able to congratulate 15 Hosts who started with us 30 years ago in October, ( we have a lot more who have been with us for 25 years . They are all very proud of this hotel and are very vocal about ensuring that we maintain our high standards of customer service and care.
We hope to see you back with us very soon.
Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Was in Minneapolis for a business meeting and stayed at this hotel. I found it to be a nicely decorated room with comfortable bed and plenty of room. Hotel staff was quite nice and very helpful. Enjoyed my stay very much

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Thomas Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtboerner, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Thomas Michael M,

We are pleased to hear that you were able to take care of business and glad to see that our hosts were friendly and accommodating.

Your comments regarding our hosts will be shared with the team to keep them inspired to continue to take great care of our guests.

Again, thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay.

Best regards,

Kurt Boerner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

stayed for a recent conference. facilities for conference excellent. walking from elevator easy.

Had a club floor and access. breakfast and dinner served there. excellent quality and service there.

location right in downtown near the theatre, malls etc.

room very cozy and hotel while lacking pool, has sauna, and nice exercise facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluelabelmalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtboerner, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Bluelabelmalt,

We appreciate the kind words regarding our hotel during your recent stay. We offer our guests staying on the concierge level a bit more than others hotels to show our appreciation for their loyalty to the hotel and the Marriott brand.

We have recently replaced all of our cardio equipment to keep up with our guests needs for the latest exercise equipment.

We hope we have the chance to host you again on your next visit.

Best regards,

Kurt Boerner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

After a long week of work travel (5 cities in 5 days) we were tired and looking forward to a good night's rest before heading to the airport at 7 am. We were pleased when the front desk said they were giving us a suite on the 26th floor as we are platinum Marriott rewards members. The room was clean, but even though it was a non-smoking room it had a faint smell of cigarette smoke. This was especially true with the bed linens. The real fun started when music and singing from somewhere beneath our room began as a slow rumble around 10:30 pm. We tolerated it because we were too tired. Around 2:00 pm the place was rocking and our room was thumping. Needless to say it was a long night. We should have known they have problems in this hotel as they post signs on every floor stating "Please Be Considerate Of Our Guests. Excessive noise that disturbs other guests may result in eviction". In all our travels, where I should add that we almost exclusively stay at Marriott properties, we have never seen anything posted like this! There are lots of hotels in Minneapolis, even other Marriott properties, so my advise is move on to another hotel. This place is not worth your time or money and definitely not worth giving up on a night 's sleep!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Vheckler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurtboerner, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Vheckler,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding our hotel. We appreciate hearing both the good and the bad from our guests. This provides feedback that allows us to look for better ways to take care of our guests.

Guests staying at our hotel during the weekend have many different reasons for being here. We place these signs as a reminder to be considerate of others that may not be for the same reason as they are. Case in point was the Zombie Pub Crawl. This is annual city wide fund raiser that benefits a local charity. Other guests like you are here for rest and relaxation and do want to be disturbed by guests who are looking for other entertainment.

The hotel provides 24 hour security to assist our guests as needed. The hotel recently started a Night Owl Lounge on Friday and Saturday nights, that runs from 11: pm to 4: am. The Night Owl Lounge offers games, music as well as pizza and other food and beverage offerings. The Night Owl Lounge provides another are besides the guest rooms for our guests to enjoy themselves without disturbing others.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and if you would like to discuss your stay with me further, please feel free to contact me.

Best regards,

Kurt Boerner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,741 reviews
Downtown
Hilton Minneapolis
Hilton Minneapolis
#16 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
The Hotel Minneapolis, Autograph Collection
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minneapolis Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott City Center

Address: 30 S 7th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1601
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: £92 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover award-winning accommodations at Minneapolis Marriott City Center. Our hotel in downtown Minneapolis, Minnesota offers luxury rooms and suites, including some bi-level suites - many with views of the city skyline and all decorated stylishly with unique art and furnishings. Our hotel sits ideally near top Twin City attractions including Target Center, Minneapolis Convention Center, Target Field, and Nicollet Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis City Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing