We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“State boys swim meet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Commons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Commons Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sartell, Minnesota
1 review
“State boys swim meet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel has been remodeled since we last stayed here and it looks great. All Hotel employees were friendly, efficient and pleasant. We had drinks at the Beacon, service was great, drinks were ok and ambiance was very comfortable. Great bed linens and comfortable beds. I really liked all the open gathering space which worked well while waiting for other families we were traveling with.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us during Boys Swim! It was an exciting time here on campus. I am glad you enjoyed our public spaces. They have been featured in many magazines and other national publications for their "Homey" feel. I hope your swimmers did great, and that your team thinks of us again next year. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    226
    82
    35
    12
See reviews for
252
128
47
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Common's hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Highly Recommend. Excellent valet service, very quick and friendly. Proximity to the Minnesota Athletic Complex was a huge plus!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for your compliments, Nancy! I will make sure to let the staff and bell stand that you enjoyed their service. I am happy to hear you were close to everywhere you needed to be. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Richmond, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great experience at hotel. Very friendly, nice rooms, staff was extremely polite. Would definitely return. Server at the Beacon Restaurant was trying to rush us through our whole meal? Place was pretty much empty so she made that part of the trip not so pleasant but loved the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Tracy, thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff is certainly top of the line, and I’ll make sure to pass on your compliments. I am sorry to hear your time at the Beacon was not what you hoped for. Let us know when you’re able to come back, we will work hard to change your mind! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just returned from the 2014 Woman's Swimming & Diving at the University of Minnesota. I highly recommend to stay at The Commons Hotel which is directly located across the street from the U of M pool. It was a very cold, icy and snowy weekend. And the very short walk made the weather slightly more bearable . Hotel staff accommodating and there is a decent pub type restaurant located on the premises. Service was good as we had a crowd of swim & dive parents dine one night. The recommended transport for airport return was the "Blue Van" ($18.00) with a $1.60 discount or the LRT (light rail train)-- which unbeknownst by the hotel was not in use due to the Metrodome demolition taking place this morning.

I definitely DO NOT recommend the "Blue Van". 1-800-BLUE-VAN if you want peace of mind getting to the airport on time. It picks up from various hotels, the small print mentions a 15 minute extended time. The van was not at my location within this time frame. I ended up sharing a taxi (i Taxi Service LLC) that was on time and proficient. The cost was $ 50.00. It was well worth the piece of mind. Needless to say, I have requested a refund for this poor service. Food for thought, the same thing happened to another parent and they also ended up hailing a taxi!

Room Tip: Corner rooms may be slightly larger. Would suggest high floor, as we did hear the campus snow plows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, Kathy! For everyone with business at the Aquatic Center or any of the U of M sport facilities, our location truly can’t be beat, and I’m glad the close proximity kept frostbite away! I’m glad you were able to dine at the restaurant and happy to hear that you enjoyed the food. I do apologize for the confusion with the Blue Van and LRT. The Blue Van can be more convenient but less economical than taking the train, and the train is less convenient but much less expensive, as well. It can be difficult to make the right choice sometimes. I’m happy that the taxi was able to get you to the airport safely, though, and hopefully by the next time you return, the LRT will run to the front our hotel! The new line opens in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent a night here prior to a surgery at the Uof M. Convenient, easy access to transportation to the hospital early in the morning on a very cold day. Excellent service at the front desk. The attached restaurant is OK in a pinch, but stick to simple bar food. Anything else falls way short. Rooms clean and comfortable. ipod hook up to clock radio really nice and the tv was great for watching movies..Parking at the U is horrible. Take advantage of the valet service. A little more expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frycook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for sharing your insight and experiences here at the hotel. Our location is very convenient for those going to the hospital, and I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our shuttle and valet services to make it even easier. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t love the restaurant; next time, we can try to share our recommendations and find something that hits the spot! I’m happy to hear that you liked the electronics in the room; some of them are new additions, so it’s exciting to hear that you enjoyed them. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This is our fourth stay here and enjoy rooms and location. Right next to new train system being built. Appreciate parking right outside hotel. Heard that rooms had keurig coffee machines in rooms but when we checked in found old type. Talked to housekeeping and they brought one in right away. Disappointed that they do not always leave 2 caffeinated coffees in room. It seems to be policy that you always have to ask for an extra. Had problem with smart tv system that someone had to come to room to fix. Heard from many that this was a common problem with this system. Appreciate free van service to and from local areas. This can save on parking problems when going out to areas in downtown.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Davin, thanks for taking the time to leave both compliments and comments on what could be improved. The new train system you mentioned will be running on June 14th, which is pretty exciting and very convenient. The Keurig coffee makers are a new addition to our rooms, and I apologize that it hadn’t quite made it to your room yet, but they will be a permanent addition to the hotel. We also just added multiple flavors of coffee K-Cups for sale in our gift shop. I do apologize for the issue with your TV – we are certainly working to improve this system. Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

When I made the reservation, the person asked if there was any special requests I had for my stay. I told him I liked plain M & M's, and laughed. When we checked in, the service was fast and friendly. In the room, there were two packs of plain M & M's waiting for me! It was not necessary, but just shows you that they listened and followed through on their question. The room was fine. I would appreciate a stronger force of water from the showerhead, and a taller person will have to bend down to get under the water, but these were minor things. The accommodations were modern and clean. The location was perfect for our needs. The hotel is close to everything at the University and there are many food options close by. There is also public transportation and plenty of parking for $15/day with in/out access. The food at the hotel restaurant, The Beacon, was good and there were many options, although they need to offer more vegetarian items. Service was slow, but they told us ahead of time they were short-staffed. I would go back there again. The fitness room was well stocked with towels and water, and there was no waiting for any of the machines. It was clean and modern, like everything in the hotel.

Green Features: They were very good on green practices, but they should absolutely get rid of the bottled water for sale in the room. It goes against all their other practices.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken131962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, Manager at The Commons Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to mention such a nice gesture. Our reservationists work hard to try to accommodate even before you’ve stepped into the hotel, and I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the M & M’s. I will take into account the comments about the room and the Beacon restaurant, and I appreciate you mentioning these tips. Much appreciation again, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#4 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#12 of 49 in Minneapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commons Hotel

Property: The Commons Hotel
Address: 615 Washington Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-2931 (Formerly University Hotel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#2 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Minneapolis
#8 Green Hotel in Minneapolis
#9 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commons Hotel is noted for being the only hotel located on the East Bank of the University of Minnesota, making it the perfect choice for accommodations when visiting the university. The Commons Hotel also offers 20,000 sq. feet of meeting flexible meeting space as well a Full-Service Restaurant and lounge, The Beacon Public House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your The Commons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Minneapolis
Minneapolis Radisson
Radisson University Hotel Minneapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing