We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    99
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
56
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, MN
Level Contributor
339 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 926 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed here on Friday evening, February 7, 2014. We arrived at 3:30 pm. A word about the layout of the hotel and the parking situation. The lobby of the hotel is on the street level of 8th Street and LaSalle on the southeast corner. Then there are 8 floors of public parking ramp above the lobby and then four floors of the hotel rooms above that. There is no street parking. The attached parking ramp is entered on the east side of LaSalle midway between 8th Street and 9th Street. (Parking is $13.00 for 24 hours) The central bank of elevators from the parking ramp will take you to the ground floor for a very short walk through a small indoor business courtyard to the doors for the Hotel. The doors are locked 24/7 for security. Initially you must ring the bell at the door or get the attention of the front desk person through the windows of the doors. Once registered, your room key will allow access.

Registration was a breeze. When they handed us our keys the staff asked us to immediately report any loud noises during our stay. (Never had to report any noise; very, very quiet.) The actual hotel elevators are located to the right of the registration desk and you must use your room key to activate the elevator floor buttons. Essentially the elevators cannot stop at all in the parking area between the lobby and the rooms. (The parking is accessed from the lobby and back through the business courtyard to those garage elevators.)We arrived on the 10th floor and were in room 1022.

Very large king room. Nice desk and work area. Easy chair and lounger/sofa. Nice flat screen television with excellent picture. There is a kitchen area with full sized refrigerator/freezer and stove/cook-top. There is also a dishwasher and fully stocked utensils and dishware. The bathroom is clean and well maintained. The bed was super comfortable and the pillows were great. The linens were soft and cozy. The room temperature was perfect; we never had to touch the thermostat.

Convenient to everything we needed for the weekend. We had reservations at the Capital Grille at the corner of 8th and Hennepin for 6:00 pm and then theater reservations next door to that at the State Theater for 8:00 pm. Those are both located in the building directly to the west of the hotel. It is connected by the skyway. So...we did not have to even put on a jacket or coat to get to these locations on this very frigid night with a temp of minus 10 degrees. We exited the hotel lobby and went into the business courtyard and took the escalator to the second floor. From there we took the skyway connecting our building from east to west to the LaSalle Plaza building. That building has multiple restaurants and the theater. After our dinner and show we just reversed our steps and used our room key to again gain entrance to the hotel lobby.

The free breakfast on Saturday morning was great. It is located on the lobby level. Excellent hot food, real eggs, tasty sausage and a good assortment of cold foods with cereals, breads, yogurt, juices and coffees. Lots and lots of seating and real glasses, dishes and metal utensils to enjoy your food.

All in all, we would stay here again in a heartbeat. You can't go wrong if you have dinner and show reservations in downtown Minneapolis.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve0315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Steve, thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have the location we do and we know this makes us an easy choice for a night out on the town in Minneapolis, convenient to the skyway, many restaurants, and the Hennepin Theatre District. For this reason your comments about the cleanliness, staff, and breakfast is what truly excites us. We love to hear that we can accommodate on all levels!
Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center Minneapolis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I'll start by saying I prefer to only stay at Marriott properties due to issues with previous hotels/chain.

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the last Vikings game at the Metrodome. The check in staff were friendly and helpful, and the location can't be beat. We were able to utilize the indoor skywalk system, walk to local restaurants (Check out Hell's Kitchen!!) and hop on the public transit system.

It was a quiet stay even though it was filled with football fans and I saw a few guests with cases of beer, we didn't hear anything.

I'm knocking one star off because we went down to the complimentary breakfast about 20 minutes before it ended and the food was gone. For the weekend that it was, I expected the hotel to be more prepared for the guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We know that sometimes in a downtown setting on busy weekend hotels can be jam packed with rowdy guests making noise until all hours of the night. As an extended stay property we work very hard to ensure that our guests get a good night sleep no matter what our occupancy or the events in the area are. In regards to the lack of food at breakfast this should never happen! I would like to apologize that be failed you in this area. Please know that we are using this review as a way to re-train our kitchen staff on the importance of prompt and efficient service. I sincerely hope that you will give the hotel another shot to prove we can do better.

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center
45 S 8th St
MInneapolis, MN 55402
P (612) 677-1000
F (612) 677-0500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I used to live in downtown and walked by this corner to work!

Now, living outstate with kids, this is our favorite spot when we're in Mpls. Rooms are clean and comfy, plenty of space and if you're watching the budget, get takeout for dinner and bring it back to the room and eat on real plates! Or try the caramel corn from Candyland about 30 steps outside the lobby doors.

As to security, this is a downtown location with a small lobby on a busy corner. The doors are secured and the desk is always staffed to keep the lobby from becoming a shortcut or a warming place.

Have stayed multiple times and the kids always ask to stay here. They love the feel of being right in the city. Great desk staff. Questions were always answered thouroughly and kindly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
With all the hotels in Minneapolis available to you we are excited to be your favorite! We're so glad you have chosen us as your go to hotel when you come back to visit Minneapolis. The staff truly strives to be able to answer any questions about the area our guests may have and it's wonderful to hear you think they are doing a great job. Thank you for taking the time to give us an outstanding review!

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center
45 S 8th St
Minneapolis, MN 55402
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
457 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I just returned from what was supposed to be a three night stay that morphed into a five day stay because of the artic vortex. We arrived on the recommendation of our friend from Minneapolis's travel agent and had no idea of where we were or what we were doing never having been to Minneapolis. We parked in an adjacent garage for $13 dollars a day and the rate and the fact that the garage had heat turned into important factors in getting grounded in the area. The hotel is centrally located in downtown and connects to most of downtown by skyway so that you never have to go outside, an extremely important feature in -48 degree weather. We had our nephew's children join us and the indoor walking made it all bearable. There is a Target, a YMCA and a Macy's among other food stores and such so you could be here for a long time! The hotel staff could not have been nicer and tried to help us with any problem. The hotel was also immaculate. That alone gets my excellent review because cleanliness and great attitude are what makes a stay effortless. The hotel provides breakfast daily and gives a variety of choices. I finally succumbed to the freshly made waffles and they were excellent. There are eggs, bagels, pastries, oatmeal ,yoghurt ,fruit and cereal. We had a one bedroom suite on a high floor facing the parking and an office building at my request and it was very quiet (except of course when our noisy crew came to visit!). The bed was very comfortable and the little kitchen was a nice extra. The bathroom was small with a tub with shower and an outside sink. There was a pullout couch and a reclining chair in the living area. We were able to control the room temperature and when we turned up the heat there was some chugging noise but we were very grateful to be in a warm room! Make sure that you ask about the configuration of the room when booking. The room service is from a local restaurant. The salads are good and the children's choices are as well. The regular food was on the high caloric , heavy side but it was delivered in 30 minutes. We ate in the restaurant and the service was beyond terrible so I would stick to room service and forget walking over there. The gym is in the Y but we didn't care as it gave us something to do. The hotel was well located and efficient. Evidently many business people stay here during the week from the companies headquartered in town which says a lot when they have several choices. We had a clean, comfortable and fun stay. Finally there are no safes in the rooms so if you have valuables check them downstairs in the office. If you stay here you will get good value for your dollar and leave happy! Many thanks to the staff for a job well done. One last note: this is a Residence Inn and not a Four Seasons but you might say this is the Four Seasons of the Residence Inns.......

Room Tip: ask for location and layouts. The layouts are different .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
WOW! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and at home during their stay with us. So glad the staff was able to do just that!Thank you for mentioning the loud HVAC unit in your room, I will make sure to have someone check on that right away. We would love to have you back with us again if your travels ever bring you back to Minneapolis.

Thanks again,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST FARGO, ND
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Location is excellent, price is right and the suite we had was great. Room was clean and spacious also had a full kitchenette. Manager social was decent, overall great value and would defo stay again.

Room Tip: pay more and get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write a few kind words. We are very lucky to have such a great location for people to enjoy while staying at our property but it is really great to hear that we met all your expectations in our rooms as well as in our food service too. We, as a team, strive to make your experience the best that it can be. We hope to have you back again in the near future. Thanks again!

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for shopping at Macy's, seeing Phantom of the Opera at the Orpheum too. Room was very comfortable and clean. Little noisy as many families were there Dec 20 to 22. Ramp parking was reasonable but we used the skyway system as it was cold and snowy. Will definitely stay again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RITeam, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay but thank you for understanding. We are definitely a hot spot for families getting together, especially around the holidays. We are glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and that you plan to stay again. Thank you!

Best Regards,

Aimee Bunker
Front Office Manager
Residence Inn City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis Downtown
Downtown
Minneapolis Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Le Meridien Chambers Minneapolis
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center

Property: Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center
Address: 45 S 8th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2001 (Formerly Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown/City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing