We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place - everything is good!”

R J Riches Family Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Mounds View
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love this place - everything is good!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Tuna salad larger than my head in a serving bowl with black olives and tomato slices, yummm!!! You can't go wrong with any choice here! The pancakes are larger than a dinner plate and the thickest I've ever seen! The hot turkey sandwich special was Thanksgiving in July, steaming hot and the feel of comfort on my tongue. The customers range from police to seniors, families to local business lunch eaters. Don't miss this little piece of heaven.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImLucyRichardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good all the way around! ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Service and food always consistent no matter day or time of week....Been coming here for 10+ yrs and the staff has been 95% the same people over that time and low turnover says alot about any company especially in the restaurant industry. ...Just be sure not to over order because all portions are absolutely over the top and can always be shared or saved for another meal!

Helpful?
Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unpolished treasure”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

RJ Riches is a mom n' pop hole-in-the-wall that will keep you coming back for many visits. People don't come for the decor, fancy stemware or the scenery. You come for the food. Period. Here are some general observations from a guy who eats there fairly regularly:

Grounds/curb appeal- there is none. You would be unlikely to eat here if you were just driving into town looking for a place to eat. It is totally a local haunt and one where paint and roundup have long been forgotten.

Inside decor- there is none. A few kid's coloring contest pictures adorn the walls behind the cash register, but generally a sea of booths, old ceiling tiles and tons of people eating are all you're likely to notice. Tables and silverware are clean (albeit well-used) and the booths are decently sized.

Wait staff- very friendly, hard working and attentive. They will rush around but you won't be forgotten, but they will not likely have a lot of time to chat. They are usually all business and do their jobs well- take the order and go. In my experience, they are accommodating to special requests and usually get them right.

Food- This is why people come here. The food is very generously portioned, delicious and hot. There are a lot of choices on the menu and I have not seen anything that does not look delicious when it comes out. Portions are large and probably enough for lighter eaters to split. Pricing is fair for what you get.

If I had one wish for this place, it would be the coffee. I love coffee and they serve it generously at your table with a little carafe that keeps it hot and flowing, but it is not the highest quality. I can drink it (and do every time) but require some cream to take the edge off... Most people are probably not as picky as I am, but this is my only "complaint".

I recommend this for most occasions, from an after church brunch to a lunch with friends. Not sure if I would take out-of-town suits there, only because it is not much to look at, but for most any other occasion, it is great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Huge portions, homemade flavor & manhole size pancakes”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Breakfast, lunch or dinner this is a great place to eat with family or friends. It reminds me of an old time diner but it's clean and wonderful. Many regular customers each day eat here and depend on the delicious down home cooked meals. Pancakes, salads, burgers, sandwiches and so much more. It isn't fancy just welcoming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImLucyRichardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Nreakfast”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Long gone are places like RJ Riches where you get a home cooked breakfast served by the same people each visit. Wonderful plate size pancakes. Expect to bring home leftovers.

Helpful?
Thank HotelSnobMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed R J Riches Family Restaurant also viewed

Mounds View, MN
Mounds View, MN
 

Been to R J Riches Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing