We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A patch of peace”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Balgal Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Balgal Beach Holiday Units
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Balgal Beach units are set in tranquil gardens with each unit having a lovely garden outlook. The self contained unit had everything you need for meal cooking. There was more than adequate utensils. Even plastic wrap! The owners have done a great job with the local information guide which made our stay pleasurable particularly identifying birds and plants. It is a short hop to the local beach which is just lovely and peaceful. The water is so warm compared to many other beaches. The tide is huge and so at low tide it is long way to get wet but otherwise it is a great beach for walking as well.be warned though to keep the window closed at night otherwise the bush thicknees will keep you awake with their wailing.

Room Tip: one of the outside rooms near the end of the site away from the office are the more peaceful and pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed in one of the units with English friends last year and decided to return with our dog for a few days to try out the dog friendly studio 26. The studio was very roomy and well equipped and the big grassy back yard was excellent for our dog. There was an automatic watering system so the grass was green and attractive. We were able to walk down to the other units to have a swim in the pool or wander around the garden and look for birds. We did several day trips, one to Ingham, another to Paluma and another to the Townsville town common. If you enjoy bird watching, it's excellent both around the units and in the wider vicinity. Knowing there are no shops nearby, we brought enough provisions for our 5 night stay and had no problems. Roslyn and Terry were very helpful, as on our previous visit. They're in the right job, for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We are just finishing our 8 day visit to Balgal Beach Holiday Units for the first time and have really enjoyed our stay.
In response to the previous reviewer, many of whose comments were about the location of Balgal Beach, rather than the units themselves, a bit of research and common sense would tell you that, yes, you need to supermarket shop at Ingham or Townsville, yes, if you don't like kids noise, then stay in adults only accommodation, and yes, if you don't like animals, don't stay in an advertised pet friendly location (the unit is gated so the pet owners are responsible if a dog is not secured!)
The units are spacious, clean and incredibly well equipped for the very reasonable price. If you want 5 star then go somewhere else and pay 5 star prices.
The hosts, Terry and Roslyn, are friendly, generous and intelligent, there when you have a request but not intrusive in the least. Lovely beach to wander and fish from, nice little pool to dunk in, several BBQs to cook on, and a huge array of birds, butterflies, geckos and frogs to spy on. We will definitely be back in future years to enjoy this again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gogetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at ‘Balgal Beach Holiday Units’ for several days with our stay based on good Tripadvisor reviews and the promise of a relaxing and quiet few days by the beach. In fact even the advertising for Balgal Beach promises a peaceful and relaxed holiday in paradise, well not really !!

Unfortunately our stay coincided with the school holidays and hence lots of families and disruptive children staying at the accommodation. So instead of Paradise we had children riding bicycles backwards and forwards right in front of our apartment, playing football in front of our doors and lots of noise from the children’s play area which was right in front of the apartments. So much for peace and quiet !!

Next I walked past the Pet Friendly apartment and a very savage looking dog hurtled out of the apartment and charged down the apartments path snarling and growling at me, Paradise !!

Then the occupants of the apartment next to us left very early in the morning and we were woken at 3 am and kept awake by slamming car doors, running showers, flushing toilets and people walking backwards and forwards until 5 am. When these thoughtless people had finally driven off we were then kept awake for the rest of the night by palm fronds dragging across our apartment roof, and then a neighborhood dog started barking continuously!!

The apartments themselves are fairly old and quite small but my wife assured me were amongst the most comprehensively furnished apartments we have ever stayed in. They are also set in an attractive tropical garden and the reception area has an almost Polynesian feel. There is a wide range of video and CDs available free of charge and a small library at reception.

Balgal Beach surprised us by being the most isolated spot that we have stayed in on our trip north along the coast from Sydney and also the most devoid of shopping facilities. Certainly there are three tiny shops in the vicinity but these really stock only milk and a few tins of food. For any serious shopping the nearest supermarket is back in Townsville or up to Ingham. This meant that after driving from Townsville to Balgal Beach we had to get back in the car, drive back to Townsville, do our shopping and then get back in the car and dive back to Balgal Beach. Yes that was a really frustrating 90 kilometer drive to go to a supermarket.

On a positive note the owners of the accommodation are friendly, helpful people who do go out of their way to meet their customers needs. Balgal Beach and the adjoining beaches, while being quite isolated, are spectacular and should be walked at low tide when the sea almost disappears from site. In fact for a really spectacular beachscape one should walk south from the accommodation for about one hour at low tide. Then stop and admire a superb deserted beach disappearing to both the south and north.

Now one really useful tip: Access and egress from the accommodation to the beach has no distinctive marker and can be quite hard to find. The secret here is that just south of Balgal Beach Holiday Units beach access is a council camp site and amenities block. Theses are easy to spot and the entrance to the accommodation is about 100 meters north of this camp site with an old and small concrete table at the beach entrance.

So tips: shop at Townsville or Ingham before arriving, remember the beach access tip and do not expect a guaranteed quiet stay while children are given carte blanch to be as disruptive as they like and while the play area is positioned close to the accommodation.

Room Tip: go for room 9 at the end of the accommodation to try for a quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greg072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I didn't even know this piece of paradise existed....we had a great time...so close to the beach...absolutely love the sound of the ocean....we will definitly be back...I will let my close friends and family know about this little slice of heaven that is so close to home....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Lucky for us, they had a cancellation and we managed to book in here for 4 nights. The Cottage Suite is very roomy and has everything one needs for a home away from home. Thoughtful touches were really nice, and friendly hosts topped it off. Not only could we take our small dog with us, there were things provided for our four-legged friend too!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I know I have reviewed these units before but after another delightful week at Balgal Beach I had to share our appreciation for the tranquil atmosphere. It is such an amazing location to unwind, relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Can't wait till Christmas, we have booked 5 units and taking the family for a week. Thanks Ros and Terry for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Room 9 has ocean view. Room 10 is pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balgal Beach
2.1 mi away
Rollingstone Beach Front Resort
Rollingstone Beach Front Resort
#239 of 2,177 in Queensland
198 reviews
22.9 mi away
Forrest Beach Hotel & Caravan Park
10.1 mi away
Crystal Creek Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville
20.1 mi away
Bushland Beach Tavern
Bushland Beach Tavern
#5 of 17 in Townsville
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgal Beach Holiday Units? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgal Beach Holiday Units

Address: 284 Ocean Pde, Balgal Beach, Queensland 4816, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Balgal Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Balgal Beach
Price Range: £72 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Relax in Paradise" in our family friendly, self-contained units. Each unit sleeps six and are located beachfront through a nature reserve. The lush tropical gardens are abundant with wildlife. We also have two properties where your pets are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing