We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and well priced!”
Review of Surfside Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaumaris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfside Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumaris
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Couldnt believe how well priced this lovely hotel was. Lovely and clean with a nice view. The staff were friendly and the counter meals were beautiful! I would highly reccommend this hotel. For the price and what you receive you would be extremely hard to please if you were to find fault.

Room Tip: We had room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were on a golf trip from the south of the state and were looking for accommodation near the Scamander golf club. We were a group of middle aged male golfers looking for a basic overnight room but were pleasantly surprised with the service, which was excellent, along with great meals. I had the pizza and one other had the parmi and we were all very impressed with standard. The rooms were basic but clean. As a measure of going above and beyond, one of the owners found a fifty dollar note in the dining area after we had finished our meal and surmised it was from our group. All the guys were asked if they had lost it and none of us were aware we had. The owner then put the money over the bar for us to enjoy. A great gesture.
I would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile



We were on our way back to the caravan park after a long day of touring around & couldn't be bothered to cook dinner so called in for a counter meal, apparently every Thursday evening from 6 p.m. Meal of the day is $6 after 7 p.m. $7 When we went it was fish & chips nothing fancy but the food was good, it cost us $21.50 for two including drinks, some of the other diners that were there had meals from the menu and they looked great huge serves, they also do take away pizza. Staff were very friendly and service was fast. Judging from the amount of people in the dining room it must be a pretty popular place with the locals & I saw a few pizzas go out the front door. If your up the East Coast give this place a try.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank ellebella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I run Tassie Quad Adventures and we have now stayed at the Surf Side Motor Inn on at least 4 occasions now and the place has been very consistent.
The staff are clearly spending money on the place with renovations under way for most or all of the rooms.
The meals are always sensational and big portions along with the all important value for money.
Since coming here the staff have also made room available for our cars/trailers and bikes that we at times leave for 2 more nights without staying there.

A good value for money place!

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I have to say I had one of the best parmigiana ever from this place. It was a great price as well. The kids meals were also very nice. The People I were with had pizzas and they were also happy. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skelly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent one night here at the Surfside Motor Inn in Beaumaris, which is just south of St Helens.

The few nice comments I can make on the place are, the staff are friendly, the location is good and best of all.......leaving this dump.

After trying to find accommodation in St. Helens, which was mostly full or the few available places left had eye watering prices, we headed south and found the Surfside Motor Inn. With a vacancy sign out front and rooms from A$80, we decided to stop. We were offered the last vacant room, at the rate of A$80, however on entering the room we wanted to quickly leave. Being late in the day and only having to spend one night here, we decided to continue unloading the car and staying.

Inside the room, the bizarrely textured walls had been painted in dark red, with curtains on the front windows to match. The view from the front windows were over the main road and trees, with just a glimpse of the sea beyond. It was difficult to see the view as the windows had not been cleaned for a long time. Out front to enjoy the highway view, is a long verandah that all rooms front, which had an array of decrepit furniture and exposed wiring hanging about, waiting for one day to add outside lights to. One room had an old leather lounge seat out front, that sat a very friendly and well behaved dog. Why an old leather lounge chair is out on the common verandah exposed to the elements is beyond me. Although the dog did seem to have the best seat, as out from our room was only a wooden box to sit on.

Inside the room the textured ceiling, drooped down in various places, probably from the weight of the so called texture used. The furniture in the room was old and in need of replacing. The bed was quite comfortable for me, as it was soft and spongy, far different from the usual hard hotel beds. The feather quilt on top of the mattress was a different experience and during the night being stabbed by the feather quills kept us awake. There was a modern flat screen tv, also a kettle with tea, coffee, etc provided. A small bar fridge contained a jug of drinking water as the tap water is from a bore and had a strong smell to it, so definitely don't drink. There were plenty of holes in the walls, with the worse being a large one from the bathroom at floor level that went through to the outside car park, letting daylight in. The mouse entrance I thought. In the bathroom the hand basin was being propped up by a piece of off cut wood. The toilet was not properly set, so any movement when sitting had the whole thing rocking. Toilet tissue is provided by a caravan block dispenser and not from a roll as usual. Soap at the hand basin and also in the shower are from wall dispensers that you squeeze to produce soap gel. Showering is somewhat futile, as the odour from the bore water overpowers any scent that the soap gel may provide. A power point is in the bathroom at ground level and opposite the shower which I don't think can be safe.

I'm not sure of Tasmanian safety laws, but I'm really unsure how somewhere like this can take paying customers with many substandard and somewhat dangerous flaws. I wouldn't want to stay here if it was free, let alone having to pay for the displeasure.

As there are no other establishments in Beaumaris, we ate at the restaurant attached to the motel and like the room this was also a less than appetising experience.

Carry on driving elsewhere, or even sleep in your car, I think it would be a more pleasant nights sleep than stopping here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SouthAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Arrived on the Friday night for a 3 night stay. Very basic but that was all that was required.
Must of been something wrong with the mattress as there was a doona under the sheet which was losing its feathers...these little buggers travelled through the sheet quill first, but after a half hour of plucking we had a resonable sleep. If you have an electric shaver be aware the power point is on the opposite wall to the mirror.
Had a meal at the bar on the Sunday night that was very nice.
Be advised to pay the night before you leave as no one was up when we checked out at 8.30 AM

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandBTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
3.3 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
3.1 mi away
Pelican Sands Scamander
Pelican Sands Scamander
#1 of 3 in Scamander
94 reviews
6.6 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#1 of 3 in St Helens
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#3 of 3 in St Helens
348 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sweetwater Villas
Sweetwater Villas
#2 of 10 in St Helens
161 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Motor Inn

Address: 269 Tasman Hwy, Beaumaris, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumaris
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing