We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights out...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cedar Rapids, United States
1 review
“Lights out...”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

During our stay, a severe storm came through the area. The lights were out for over an hour. The staff was very helpful and talked with us to ensure we knew of the safety procedures etc. The room was very quiet. When the storm started, if we hadn't looked outside after the alerts were displayed on the television, we would not have known it because we could not hear it. We will definitely be back for a future stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddroy1, Manager at Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I hope that the power outage did not interrupt the comfort of your stay too greatly and it is great to hear that our team of associates responded to the situation in a helpful and informative matter. This was one of the largest storms we have had yet this summer! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    80
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
190
69
22
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

You have to love a place that when you walk into the entry (lobby) you are welcomed with smiles and hellos! Just like visiting family and dear friends. The lobby area is so darn inviting with the nice comfy furniture and the fireplace; think “living room”. And behind the fireplace is the breakfast room, with lots of seating and another comfy furnished ”living room” area. Just next to the check in, is the market and it offers so many good and more “healthy” eating choices than other hotel/motels we have stayed at with the exception of other Homewood Suites. It is here you will also find DVD rentals, and for purchase sundry items and BOOKS for the little one, great for those bedtime stories. I can’t believe we actually left and I forgot to buy the four books in the market. But I will purchase them at the Homewood Suites were we live. At the opposite end of the entrance are doors that exit the breakfast area onto a large outdoor courtyard. Here you will find lots of table and chairs, a half basketball court, patio warmers and two BBQ grills. You can than enter (with your key card) the pool and hot tub area, nice and clean and lots of seating available. You can exit at the opposite end of the pool area to the other side of the hotel where on the ground level you will find the fitness room which is very nice and well equipped. Turn right at the end of that short hall and walk down to just about the end you will find a guest laundry equipped with two washers and two dryers, a nice Laundromat style basket on wheels, nice table for folding clothes and two stools for sitting; if you want to be right there to pull you laundry out as soon as it’s finished. Nothing worse than “hogging up” washers and dryers when other guest would like to use them. Next to the laundry room is elevator number 2. Where is elevator number 1, well that is right off the lobby area. When you leave the lobby area you have the business “center” to your left with two computers in a closed off room with large windows. Across from the business center are the lobby men’s and ladies restrooms. About half way down the hall and to your left elevator number 1, which will take you from the first floor (lobby) to the fifth floor as well as floors two, three and four. Our one bedroom suite was on the fifth floor and overlooked the courtyard; which overlooked a roadway without traffic noise that we noticed and looked onto Long Lake Regional Park and the lake itself. You enter the suite with the fully equipped kitchen to your left, with a eating area and two dining chairs, in the living room is an easy chair, end table with lamp, the sofa that is a queen size sleeper, a floor lamp, coffee table, a three drawer chest where the flat screen television sits. The bedroom had a king size bed, three draw chest with a flat screen television, a night stand on each side of the bed each with a lamp and a clock radio. The vanity with single sink is right off the bedroom with a mirrored double door closet, the lighting is better than average for putting on makeup, a big plus for me. The toilet and tub/shower are separated by a door from the vanity area. The suite did not appear to have any disrepair that we could detect. There is a nice large window in both rooms as well as HVAC controls for each room. BIG DISAPPOINTMENT: Do NOT request the fifth floor if you are a nonsmoker. Only HALF of the fifth floor is nonsmoking and the rest is smoking. Yes, you do smell the smoke as you are in the hallways. This was not what we even remotely expected from a Hilton property. I do not know if this arrangement is true for the entire property, but if it is, it’s a horrible lay out. No floor should comingle smoking with nonsmoking rooms. The breakfast was very acceptable as my favorite cereal was offered (Special K), hard boiled eggs which are just about standard fare now at most hotel/motels. For the waffle lovers, you have the automatic waffle maker, and if you just must have real whipped cream and you are nice and polite with “please and thank you” for the breakfast attendant; your wish very well may be granted. When I inquired about any lower calorie yogurt than what was out for breakfast and I was shown another option, but that also a higher calorie than I eat. I loved the cut fresh seasonal fruit bowl for breakfast, it was so fresh and sweet and refreshing start to a morning. We were available for the Thursday night dinner which was delis and of course there is wine and beer. The Monday through Thursday dinner menu is posted on the refrigerator in your suite. At the front desk is the USA Today and the local newspaper, there are limited copies and Hilton Homewood Suites is going to electronic versions. While we were guest, the Twin Cities had a severe thunder storm with extremely violent winds. We returned back after dinner time to notice no lights in the general area of the hotel, nor any outdoor lighting visible at the hotel. When we entered the lobby we could see only lights in the public areas. The front desk let us know that we were of course more than welcome to spend our evening lounging in the guest living visiting areas in the lobby and breakfast room; or we could of course go to our suite and could leave the door to the suite open if desired. So, being adventurous, we climbed the 73 stairs from first floor to fifth floor, good exercise as we do lots of stairs to keep in shape. My husband decided to return to our car to retrieve two flashlights to bring to our suite. And of course as soon as he returned to our suite with two flashlights in hand, the lights came back on. It did take into the next day for maintenance to get all the HVAC back into sync; but to my knowledge there were no complaints from any guest. The next day we inquired at the front desk about restaurants for lunch; the gals made calls to at least two places, one being a large shopping mall to make certain the locations had power before they made suggestions. When we return to the Twin Cities I cannot imagine why we would not return to the Homewood Suites Minneapolis – New Brighton; it was a great stay, I’ll just make sure we request a floor that is entirely nonsmoking. Thank you Homewood Suites Minneapolis – New Brighton!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVSallyReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPImanager, Manager at Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for such a detailed summary of your positive experiences with us here at the Homewood Suites of New Brighton, MN! It is great that right away, you received a warm greeting from our front desk associates and found our lobby to be comfortable and “homey” for your stay. We are happy that you appreciate our DVD rental system; this is a very popular service that sets us apart from our competition and provides our guests with an experience like non other. I hope that the smell of smoke did not interrupt the comfort of your stay too greatly, but we do not have enough smoking rooms to take up an entire floor. If this is an issue for you, simply request a suite far away from all smoking rooms when booking. Again, we truly are delighted that you enjoyed, appreciated, and complimented so many aspects of your stay with us and we eagerly away your return visit so we can “wow” you all over again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The suite was spacious, very clean, and had all the amenities needed. If I was in the area again, I would choose this hotel for sure. It is a first class hotel. The Homewood/ Hilton brand is definitely known for good quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddroy1, Manager at Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have certainly shared with our entire team of associates! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, and found your guest room to be comfortable and clean for you to enjoy. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed for a large reunion down the street and had a great time hosting friends in our room in the afternoon. Plenty of space for 4-6 people to comfortably sit and visit. Great in-room amenities and overall a quiet, clean property with friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddroy1, General Manager at Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Glad you had a good time and found your room to be a good place to host friends during your reunion weekend. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilworth, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed here the same weekend the past 2 years for State track and hope to continue staying here in years to come. Location of the hotel is great access to 694 and 35W. Great room layout with everything needed and very comfortable beds and furniture. Have not used the kitchen other than refrigerator but nice to have the option and if a lengthy stay was necessary...I saw they even had the option to shop for you if necessary, great service!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddroy1, Manager at Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your loyalty to us when choosing where to stay when in the area. We hope State Track went well! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2013

WE were accommodated in the Handicap Suite and found it awesome for our needs. The staff provided a shower stool on request, the bed and bedding were also the best we have ever experienced. I wish there had been auto door openers for me in a wheelchair, but at least the outside door was next to our room. Why was there not a Handicap parking space near that entry which had the special suite? The Suite's door also is not easy to open if I was by myself. But the roll in large shower stall with benches and bars were a pleasure to see. Thank you for our comfortable visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddroy1, Manager at Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we appreciate your valuable feedback! We are pleased that our handicap suite accommodated you well and I will share your concern concerning the handicapped parking spot with the rest of our management team to follow up with. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

The only criticism I could make is that the hotel is not the most conveniently located place, but that is being super critical. My family of 4 had plenty of room in the king suite. If you are like me you look for places that provide a real breakfast and Homewood Suites does not disappoint. This place is clean and very nice, which easily overcomes the location. If you are travelling to the Twin Cities, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpf1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddroy1, Manager at Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Wow! Thank you for such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Brighton
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Shoreview
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis St. Paul-Shoreview
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Paul North/Shoreview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roseville, MN
10.3 mi away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
5.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Minneapolis - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton

Property: Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton
Address: 1815 Old Highway 8 NW, New Brighton, MN 55112-1828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > New Brighton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Homewood Suites by Hilton Minneapolis-New Brighton you’ll find all the comforts of home while staying in New Brighton. Extended stay guests will relish the spacious suites awaiting them, equipped with a full fridge, cooktop, microwave, and dishwasher! Start your day with a free, hot breakfast or our complimentary evening dinner and drinks served Mondays thru Thursdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Minneapolis - New Brighton Hotel Saint Paul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing