We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and great breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 New Ulm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Deutsche Strasse a few weeks ago. We had the Castle Room which was very comfortable. We had a king sized bed and we each had our own occasional chair which was nice for reading. After we settled in we sat in a parlor area and visited with the other guests and enjoyed a glass of wine. The breakfast was very good each morning. I was happy to see there were no televisions in the room so I didn't have to deal with my husband wanting to leave a tv on all night. The only drawback which made us uncomfortable was the fact that you couldn't lock your room when you left. We were able to lock it from the inside once we were in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loreneNewUlm, Owners at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Winny52,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We're glad you liked staying in the Castle Room. That king-sized bed is great! Reading that you enjoyed the breakfasts is feedback that supports our efforts to provide a memorable B&B experience. We appreciate your concerns about locking your room when you leave. New Ulm is a safe town and we carefully monitor who comes and goes in our B&B. Also, we have great respect for our vintage locks and are doing research to find the best way to have a locking capability for the individual guest rooms. We hope you'll come visit us again soon, we'd love to welcome you back.

Cheers,
Gary & Ramona, Your Hospitable Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Gary and Ramona are such perfectionists. Truly, I couldn't find a single thing this wonderful couple/owners could do to improve their establishment. Gary, I'm sure has given a tour of the Deutsche Strasse a few thousand times. And yet, he was kind, considerate and accommodating.

You've heard about the breakfasts. Yes, they are amazing. But the entire Bed and Breakfast is amazing.

This place is notch above the normal bed and breakfast. We are so glad we went.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. We took the Black Forest room because of the hot tub. I suggest you pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pereirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

House is in a good location, close to main street but at the edge of the river valley so there's a view out of most windows. The house is super-clean and well kept, with attention to extra room heaters for colder nights. Breakfast was complete and tasty.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ktomsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The breakfast was amazing, lots of food. We definitely could have skipped lunch based on how full we were from the first meal of the day. The first day - homemade granola, french toast with sausage patties and a muffin of sorts. Day two - homemade granola, crazy german quiche and dessert.

The room was standard. We stayed in the Black Forest Suite. It's tough to see in the photos, but the 'suite' is actually 3 different tiny rooms joined by a hallway. The bedroom is amazingly small, only room to sit/lay on the bed. The whirlpool room was also small. The whirlpool was very nice, a good size for two. The fireplace is actually electric, no real flames. That took away from the ambiance. Then the bathroom, which was decent size.

My husband and I just didn't feel like we had space to sit and read a book. We could read in bed, but that got old (and made your neck hurt). We tried reading downstairs in the sunporch, however there were constant interruptions. So we had to go out somewhere, and if you've been to New Ulm, you know there aren't many places to go where you can sit comfortably and read.

The WiFi was very weak and non-existent on the second day, so no movies.

If you love bar hopping in the evening and not being home much, then this suite is great. If you want a place to hang out and relax with your spouse, don't reserve this room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckerzann1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My husband and I could not have been more pleased with our stay at the Deutsche Strasse. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming with multiple areas where you can relax and read or play games (which we did) while sipping a glass of wine. The rooms are cozy and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious! Gary and Ramona were wonderful hosts and we greatly enjoyed chatting with them - we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZephyrMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I was traveling for work and New Ulm was a pass through city - I decided to stop and stay. I didn't have reservations but took the chance on getting a place to stay. I prefer a B&B, especially when traveling alone. Ramona went out of her way to ensure I was able to stay with them (they were traveling back to New Ulm), she told me where to go to have a glass of wine while I waited. It was a nice little bar called Otto's. I was so happy with the home. Ramona is an incredible host, incredibley warm and so accomodating. She hits on every small detail which creates an incredible overall experience. I will definiately go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. I stayed in the castle room. The colors are warm and it was very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loreneNewUlm, Owner at Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Thank you for this complimentary review and also the mention about the firmness of the pillows. We realize that a pillow is a very personal thing; some people do travel with their own pillows. As another option, there are now two types of pillows available in the Castle Room. The king-sized pillows that have been purchased are from a company named My Pillow. This company has done much research on pillows and study sleep disorders to essentially provide the world’s healthiest, most comfortable, and most durable pillow. The second set of pillows are a regular sized foam pillow that may be a preferred alternative. Thank you, again, for alerting us to improve the comfort of our traveling guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

There were two couples in our party that stayed at this wonderful B & B in New Ulm for the weekend. The rooms were very clean and well maintaned. The social areas made it possible to visit amongst ourselves and also with the other guests in the house. Ramona was very helpful with information and suggestions on ways to enjoy the sights in the New Ulm area. The breakfasts were awesome and the happy hour socials were very special. For those staying in New Ulm for the first time, we had a great time visiting the Schell brewery and Morgan Creek winery. It was fun just driving around the old parts of town and viewing the beautiful restored homes, churches, and merchant buildings. And of course, we had to sample some great German food. Our stay in New Ulm was very reasonably priced, but the memories are priceless.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ulm
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus New Ulm
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
12.7 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sleepy Eye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
24.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites St. Peter
23.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast

Address: 404 S German St, New Ulm, MN 56073-2113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Ulm
Price Range: £67 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy history, comfort and cuisine in our 1884 stately home located along the historic district, four blocks from specialty shops, restaurants and attractions. Deutsche Strasse is a romantic as well as a casual setting. We are business traveler friendly. We offer queen and king beds, fireplaces, whirlpools, and homemade four-course breakfasts included in the rate. With prior notice we will, with pleasure, modify our menus to meet dietary needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Deutsche Strasse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing