We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad I spose”
Review of Lost Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lost Lake Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Here we go.... The staff here are amazingly patient and are willing to keep you happy by any means!

The small lake that is resort use only is pretty cool and does feel lost as theres only 2-5 people on it at any given time....

Cons....Upkeep of this place needs lot of attention....appliances not working....machines not working.....and the very shotty patchwork is noticable everywhere you look.

The food.....now my palette is pretty weak and am a redneck by birth but after seeing the pictures of the food here .... I was like wowwwww that looks extremely classy.....however.....breakfast is part of the all inclusive package and its basically eating mediocore perkins food...the lunch is not part of the all inclusive and tasted an looked like teenager summerjob cooks put it together ....soooo badddddd... Finally the dinner...you know the real chef only works at night with a 4 course meal and its pretty good appearance and taste wise..besides the minimum of an hour and half it takes to get all your food ...p.s. Go buy lunch and bring it back to the resort or just have leftovers for your lunch itll save you minimum for 2 people close to hundred bucks a lunch. A 15% service charge is tacked on to each meal bill so 100dollar meal bill which is cheap there your paying an additional 15 bucks per meal

All in all i would suggest this place just for the kind guests and the location.. I had talked to some veteran goers of this place and they said it had recently changed hands to someone that already owns many properties and all the charm and upkeep is gone now ... I would hire someone just to nitpick this place and for professionls to fix..agsin though staff is very accomadating and thy just need a strong owner to lead the way...

First tripadvisor review but have traveled the world

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff could not have been nicer, as were the grounds. Couple of things of note. If my kids were younger, this would be almost ideal. I have two late teen children, the beach/kayaks/water activities are too young for them. We loved the cabin, but to do anything we needed to drive, i.e. biking on the paths, hiking, eating ...

The one bedroom cabin truly has no cooking facilities, they have a fridge and a microwave, not even a bottle opener. The food in the restaurant was very good as was the service and the ambiance, no complaints, prices seemed reasonable. Coffee in the morning was also good, and always full.

My ONLY true complaint is that after reserving and paying the deposit, the e-mail confirmation indicated a 15% "service fee". Really, that seems like it should have been mentioned when I booked the room, what "service" was I getting? It's not a true resort, there's no pool, sauna, hot tub. It's really a nice restaurant in the lodge, there were a couple of old Kayaks that I could use, that's about it. The couple of trails on premises were not maintained, there were so many downed trees, and it did not happen overnight. The cabins are not cheap, so 15% is a pretty significant chunk of change. It seems disingenuous and really rubbed me the wrong way. I didn't let it affect my good time, but it just left me with a bad taste.

With older kids, a larger resort would probably have been better. But we had a lovely sunset from our cabin.

Room Tip: Our cabin had a lovely inlet/sunset view. Lots of them did. I'd choose the same again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank debbie_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

If you are looking for a nice little get away try Lost Lake Lodge. They offer all the amenities one would need for a cabin experience however they go way above and beyond on their food offering. If you want to avoid cooking and preparing food and enjoy great meals this is the place to go. Breakfast choices are great and the dinner offerings are taken to another level. The food is nothing short of spectacular!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Conrade20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place has so much going for it....location, atmosphere and fabulous food. We were there for an all inclusive book club weekend. The resort really reflects north woods feel: carpet patterned with fish, tiny pine trees on wall paper, knotty pine wood walls, and very cool key chains shaped like fish and bears. This place has enough room to host a fun family reunion. Enough romance for couples. Activities for kids, plus a quiet beach. Loons were swimming along the shore. Very relaxing. Lots of extras included like canoes, kayaks, bicycles. Motor boats rent for extra. Lost Lake Lodge oozes history. Breakfast and dinner were included in our package, but the restaurant is also open to the public. Gourmet local food, but affordable menu. The walleye dinner was the best I've ever had. Also keep in mind, you don't want to sleep through breakfast. It would be a shame to miss such an innovative menu. unique quiches, omelets and pancakes....as well as standard eggs, hash browns, fruit. Quite an enticing selection. Also Flavorful homemade pastries and caramel rolls. About 14 cabins, so personal attention from the staff ensure a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Went here on vacation two summers ago!!! What a relaxing, wonderful place!!! From our first night late arrival care package, to the slightly sad send-off by the terrific staff, Lost Lake was a tremendous experience!!! Almost seemed like you were in the middle of nowhere, but were really only a few minutes drive from almost anything you might need that wasn't already provided!!! The food was amazing, the cabins comfortable and clean!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dubrodlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I am from the East Coast, and just started visiting Minnesota three years ago. Lost Lake Lodge has quickly become on of my favorite places in the country. First and foremost, the food is outstanding. To have these kind of meals included in your package is unheard of. The setting is idyllic. It's relaxing, quiet, beautiful and peaceful. There are numerous activities to do at the Lodge, and many more on the surrounding lakes and in the surrounding towns. Great for families or for couples. HIGHLY recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NativeDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

To start with, our family started coming to Lost Lake over 30 years ago when I was a young child. I took a break while living out of state and starting a family, but have been coming back about every other year for the past 6 years.

This year, I brought my parents and two younger children (11 and 9). We stayed in the 3-br cabin (17) and were very happy with the large layout and the overall amenities. They must have redone the beds as they were wonderfully soft and having a private bath for each room was great. There is no TV, but I'd be disappointed if there was. We really enjoyed our 4-day stay and enjoyed most of what the place has to offer.

A couple of items which I think others have stated that can continue to be improved is the overall service (speed). Now considering that this is a relaxed place, I don't expect fast. What I did see is that it seems that they were always one server short and that reminders were needed as they moved from table to table. I loved the breakfast selections and found the dinner menu quite nice. I do wish they offered at least one special a day (not just one or two days a week). Since staying here is not cheap, I do expect a high level of quality and service.

We loved playing on the quiet Lost Lake compared to the busy Gull Lake side and the children's program was very nice. One minor comment is that this year they were trying to charge to use the new paddle boards at their beach. My kids were playing on them for two days along with some other kids before we all were told. I personally feel that all non-powered items should be free and I shared that with management.

Overall, this was a delightful and relaxing four days and we already made reservations for next summer. I would also consider coming here just as a couple to enjoy the fall season-this is a romantic place too.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
8.6 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
290 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
450 reviews
10.5 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
1.9 mi away
Grand View Lodge
Grand View Lodge
#1 of 7 in Nisswa
574 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quarterdeck Resort
Quarterdeck Resort
#3 of 7 in Nisswa
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Lake Lodge

Address: 7965 Lost Lake Rd, Nisswa, MN 56468-2524
Region: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range: £177 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minnesota's smallest all-inclusive resort, Lost Lake Lodge offers lodging in 14 lakeside cabins, with breakfast and dinner in their award-winning restaurant included in the daily rate. Resting between a private, spring-fed lake and the Upper Gull Lake Narrows, the 80 acres of forest and trails are surrounded by water on all sides. The resort mixes 1940's retro-charm and vintage knotty pine with luxurious appointments and modern conveniences, allowing guests to experience the kind of "up-north" lake vacation they remember from childhood, but with all the comforts of home. A stay at Lost Lake Lodge will not only include the chance to catch bass off the dock or paddle a kayak out to see the loons' nest, it will also ensure that each evening culminates in a gourmet four-course dinner overlooking Gull Lake. There are no crowds here: the cabins, restaurant, lakes, and activities are all within easy walking distance, yet the property is large enough that guests can enjoy private time around the grounds any time of day. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, taking time to get to know their guests and providing outstanding personalized service. Winner of Wine Spectator's Award of Excellence, the restaurant's extensive wine list features international value wines and highly-rated California selections, and offers both wine pairing and wine flight options. Ever-changing entree choices range from pan-fried walleye to grilled wild boar tenderloin and locally-grown, house-smoked duck breast. All table breads are made from scratch in the kitchen each day, and the chef sources much of his produce from local farms. Children's menus are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Lost Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing