We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!!!”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
hutchinson,mn
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top notch!!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Our weekend getaway was amazing. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed. We were greeted with a very warm & friendly staff. We stayed at the pines and the accomendations were very nice. Very spacious, clean , and our unit had great leather furniture, fire place, fridge, coffee pot, cozy beds, and a huge jaquzi tub. Our view of the golf course we loved. Had a great deck with chairs to sit out enjoy the view. They offered a shuttle service back to the lodge/ restaruants, spa...ect.....Which was very nice. Close enough for a short walk, but we had some rain and cool temps. All the dining there is fantastic, the buffet breakfast, the lodge dining and the cru restaruant all have fantastic food!!! Will not disapoint. The staff is super friendly and aim to please.
The spa is amazing, relaxing, and offers lots of services. So glad we stopped by, they were running specials for that day and had openings left. We were able to bring our bottle of wine to enjoy between our services in their waiting area, which has fantastic big couches and chairs and a fireplace.if nothing else stop by to sauna and steam shower and enjoy all the aveda products.
No matter what the occasion is this place wont disappoint. this was a return visit for us, and we plan on coming back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Rooms on top unit are quieter, and offer deck with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonHutchinson_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    101
    31
    29
    21
See reviews for
224
137
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stepping into the lodge feels like being at one of the national parks. It's the original building but beautifully restored. My room was on the second floor facing the lake, a nice view with lots of windows, which looked like they could be opened, though I didn't since there was snow on the ground. The room has obviously been updated and was quite luxurious. The breakfast in the lodge was outstanding, and there is also a pub downstairs for sandwiches and burgers. I have stayed in one of the cabins in the past, and also found that to be a very good experience. This is an easy drive from the Twin Cities, making it a great overnight or weekend get-away. There is a fantastic spa on the grounds in a separate building. It is not to be missed - it is what a spa in Minnesota is supposed to be.

Room Tip: In the lodge you have to go up some stairs, which are sheltered and not bad even on a snowy day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Without reservation, we can say our stay of 3 days was relaxing and enjoyable. We took advantage of last minute lodging offered on their web site Our one bedroom lake view lodge cabin @ $99.00/night was just as described. It included a very nice buffet breakfast each morning, not one of the skimpy continental type offered at many hotels. The whirlpool tube was oversized and comfortable. The bed was slightly softer than we're used to, but firm is not for everyone and bedding was high quality. The described wet bar was actually more like a small kitchen with dishes and cutlery for six. It's not really a complaint, but it became very warm when using the gas fireplace, so we always kept a window open slightly. The entire cabin was too warm for us so we turned off radiators in the bath and bedroom. Without exception, all the staff we had contact with were extremely pleasant and accommodating. This included staff in reservations, reception, and hostess and wait staff in dining rooms. The Pub, located on premises, had good $5.00 burgers on Thu. We didn't eat dinner in the grand dining room or Cru, another on site restaurant with a great sounding menu.

Room Tip: Many cabins are not housekeeping, so keep that in mind when booking. We usually rent where we can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrayellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We booked 2 nights under their Fork and Cork Special ($200 dining card included), and we felt it was an amazing deal!
We arrived a bit early on check-in day and were given our cabin right away. Cabin 130 - on the lake, beautiful inside with a king size bed, Jacuzzi tub, and 3 sided fireplace. It was beyond romantic for us. Warm, inviting, clean inside and out, and so quiet and peaceful! Tracks in the snow showed deer walked right past our front windows.

Walkways well lit and in good condition. Sidewalks shoveled at all times.

We ate a fun dinner at the Pub (Thursday - $5 burger night) and enjoyed the tucked away game room (away from the bar area). The games were super fun with darts, pool, Big Buck Hunter, jukebox and all kinds of arcade games. Each game was roughly .50 each to play. The pub was low key with lots of big screens TVs and a very wonderful staff. Food was pub food, but modern, and very good!
Friday was wonderful! We enjoyed their buffet breakfast which was not a typical "buffet". It had everything! Eggs, oatmeal, bacon, sausage, cereals, juices, bakery breads, muffins, TONS of awesome fruit, waffles, and so on. All fresh, hot, and so good! We sat and relaxed for over an hour enjoying the view out the big windows and sipping coffee. So relaxing.

We went to the Glacier Spa on Friday for Relaxation Massages. The steam room and sauna before hand were very nice and the massages were very good. Clean, comfortable, and would go back again.

Friday afternoon (and Saturday) I went to the fitness center. Clean, and good equipment. 3 treadmills, 3 ellipticals, bikes, free weights, weight machines, and a stretching area. We didn't use the pool, but it looked to be super fun for kids. Water Slides and all. The fitness center entrance is hid at the top of the stairs on the back side of the pool.

Friday evening we went to the wine tasting. This is given by the Bar Manager who is amazingly knowledgeable about wines. We enjoyed Cheese, Crackers, fruit and 5 kinds of wine. It opened our eyes to some new reds we might enjoy in the future. The cost was $50 per couple + tip. We were able to use our dining card for the experience.

Friday evening we ate at the Lodge and had Walleye and Halibut (special). Everything was 5 star quality, including the desserts. The food shows they have a 5 star chef on staff. It was quiet, I would say during the summer it is best to make reservations.

Saturday we checked out at 10:30 and I took breakfast to go. All the staff was very sweet and made sure our stay was perfect.

We are a lesbian couple and were treated as normal people. We are cautious about where we stay and spend our money and the Grand View Lodge felt safe and inviting.

Limited dining until summer. Also closed was the chocolate shop, but the mercantile is open and they have fancy coffee.

Room Tip: Cabins seems to be very different in size and position. Cabin 129 was near the playground so probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We booked a great 2 nights special offered at Grand View. The objective of the weekend was to relax and unwind and unfortunately when we came back from dinner Friday night, our neighbors attached (the cabin was a duplex) were partying and the walls are thin. The lodge personnel were very accommodating, they moved us to a stand alone cabin which was a little farther away but very quiet, exactly what we were looking for. We were impressed with how great the service was, particularly at the front desk.

As for amenities, used the spa which is a overall great experience. There was free activities through out the weekend and I went to the yoga class which was great. Definitely would recommend Cru. The lodge restaurant and pub were what you would expect. Breakfast buffet was very good.

Room Tip: Cabins are for those who don't mind sharing a wall with another group. They are remodeled and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I went to Grandview for the first time in December 2010, and had such a wonderful experience that I wondered if I'd be disappointed going back. I had nothing to fear! I went both times as part of a ladies spa weekend, and I'll be going back again. The accommodations are spacious and well-kept, with a cozy fireplace, great kitchen, and whirlpool tubs in the bathrooms. The beds are wonderful...I slept well! Glacial Waters Spa is a decadent experience well worth the money, and the free breakfast buffet is outstanding. You can't beat the charm and historic beauty of Grandview in the winter, when snow covers the paths and hangs from the pines. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I made reservations for the “de’ Vine Winter Culinary & Wine Experience” which included first class lodging, educational culinary classes, enjoyable wine seminars, a surprising soup competition and scrumptious culinary treats offered with a selection of over 100 different kinds of wines. To end the already fun filled day we indulged in S ’mores and Ports and were entertained by Crazy Keys –Dueling Pianos. Need I say more, it was a wonderful experience.

We enjoyed our stay at Grand View Lodge in spite of some glitches with the hot water, being misinformed about the stove availability and the fireplace needing to be looked at. The stove that we were ensured that would be present in our cabin and wasn’t we overlooked it because they quickly accommodated with a grill and charcoal which we made due and the fireplace didn’t concern us too much.

Ultimately we were upset about not having any hot water. We didn’t’ find out there was no hot water until we returned from our room late in the evening and wanted to take showers and use the Jacuzzi. The night staff said they couldn’t do anything until the morning but offered us different accommodations but we didn’t want to pack up and move in the middle of the night. So we just hoped they would fix it as soon as they could in the morning and we would have enough warm water for a quick shower before our activities started.

Finally after calling the front desk again in the morning they sent someone out to fix it. He was very friendly and informed us that the pilot light blew out and he was as surprised as we were that the night staff didn’t call for the on-call maintenance person to come out and fix it immediately.

We are happy to say we were compensated for our trouble which displays their effort to amend the abnormal incidents we encountered. Unfortunately, we were only able to generate enough hot water to fill a half of a Jacuzzi that morning and then the next day there still wasn’t enough hot water for a ¼ tub.

Overall we are pleased with our stay and we rank this resort best over Breezy Point where we have spent the last few years. Grand View Lodge is now our first choice of resorts in the Brainerd area.

We found the Grand View Lodge very accessible to the main facilities with their beautifully lit walking paths; we appreciated not having to walk on the roads. Our two bedroom cabin was comfortable and roomy; we also had a great view of the lake. The staff was friendly and the activities and services which cater to both families and couples surpass most other resorts.

On a side note, kudos to the chef that created the pizza offered in the Northwoods Pub, we and our friends thought it was phenomenal, so fresh.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Wink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.3 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
262 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
405 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
8.4 mi away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Region: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing