We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time but needs some major cleaning”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our 3rd time at GVL with our kids and once again we had a great time. There are so many fun activities for kids - our kids are younger and absolutely love the indoor water slide, playing on the beach and the floating trampoline. My only criticism is that the property seemed very dirty and not very well maintained on this most recent visit. We know the cabins are older (at least the ones on the main property) and so we expect rustic - but the cabin we got this year was beyond rustic with stained carpet that almost crunched under your feet when you walked on it. What we found even worse was the beach area which was completely littered with all sorts of garbage including cigarette butts and bandaids. During our 4 day stay we never say anyone cleaning or picking up the beach area and it was clear that the same garbage for the duration of our stay.

We'll definitely be back again next year, but hopefully next time the place will be a bit cleaner.

Room Tip: The cabins by the main lodge are the most convenient to the pool and beach. If you don't care ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Rented house for family reunion - house was nice but worn. Was not ready on time. With such a late check in time (4:30)it should be available . Did not get housekeeping service on day 2 and had to call for towels. All activities advertised in newsletter were already booked when we called for reservations . Maybe it was just a busy time but will probably not be coming back .

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful place for the family. We had 4 generations staying in a Roy Lake Home. Great beach, home was perfectly set up for kids, parents and grandparents. The kids loved the water park. We brought our boat and had easy dock access. Housekeeping checked on us every day to be sure we had what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

One of the most beautiful grounds and buildings we've ever stayed at. The new buildings blend in well with the main lodge. The landscaping is impressive and the view from the lake to the lodge at night is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Just my wife and myself, we stayed in the main lodge and it was great. Only problems would be if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Came here with my fiancée for a romantic evening. We had one of the clubhouse suites. Very nice suite, and sometimes the in room Jacuzzi tubs at many places are on the smaller side, not here, it was very large and relaxing. Had a great dinner at Cru, they have an amazing wine cellar! For the most part we found this place great for a couples getaway, but I must say that the resort is almost geared towards families instead of couples, which is great for families, but a little disappointing for couples. If management reads this all I would like to say is that you appear to have an amazing pool area for kids, but not adults! May I suggest an adult only area?

Don't get me wrong everyone, still highly recommend this place if your looking for a couples getaway, just make sure you get an in room Jacuzzi as you will find the pool area disappointing.

As for accommodations, not sure what the rest are like, if we were to go again we would likely choose a room closer to the main lodge, ours was on the golf course, which by the way looks like a great course, will have to take the clubs next time we visit!

I would also like to comment on the service here. Right from the beginning it was great, a GSR named Mary took great care of us from the start of our reservation, took care of our dining reservations, was very informative. At check in we also found the service to be outstanding, and it continued on with dining staff as well. Management should be proud of how well they are doing with guest service!

Finally, the grounds of this resort are also amazing! They take such great care of everything. No garbage, no weeds anywhere, beautiful grass, gorgeous flower beds, just so well cared for, and it shows!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJC_84_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Oh boy, gave this trip to our grown kids and their kids for xmas. Had a nice condo with 5 bedrooms and 4 baths..great space and handled all of us. Not on the main property tho. Plenty of storage and beds were ok. Place wasn't very clean. Deck was a disaster. Asked the cleaning person to clean it but that didn't happen. Chairs were dirty, spider webs all over, dirt...generally gross. Several broken chairs. Some of the windows didn't open...gears were stripped. When they came to make the beds they basically just picked up the sheets and tossed them on the beds...no order, no care. Pleanty of paper products...tissues, paper towels, tp...but no cleaning supplies. We asked them to leave us some wiindex which they did. Kitchen supplies fair. Refridgerator was a mess...and froze the fresh stuff in the middle. There was also a second drink fridge and it was downstairs, filled with water and smelled awful. Couldn't use it.
Golf course nice, things on time. Rented a pontoon for the afternoon. Thing was a mess. Dirty, filled with sand, seats were torn, the cover didn't work...awful. We had fun but it was gross. I mean really bad. The pool was fun and family friendly. There is a bump where the doors open, 25 feet long (approx) and it is covered with a rug. I tripped on it and pulled a muscle in my neck. I saw so many people trip it is crazy. It should be covered in yellow...people were all talking about it. I can't believe they leave it like that. Dangerous. We went to the lodge for dinner. It used to be such a nice place to eat. It was horrible, The service was fair. 6 of our 9 meals were horrible. The walleye which they reccommmend was burnt on the bottom and mealy on the top, for several of us. The ribs were disgusting. The roast beef was good and the scallop special was pretty good. The wine was bad, You can only order the wine by the glass, and it is local. All other wine has to be ordered by the bottle. Seems to me they should have wine by the glass with decent choices. Dinner=disaster.
They had 3 weddings that night which were fun to watch. But they clogged up the whole facility. Can't walk the paths, use the decks, even park very well. We felt like second class citizens. "Don't go here, can't go there" The beach was dirty with small garbage...bottle caps, candy wrappers etc...thought they might pick it up throughout the weekend but no. The views are great, the plants are wonderful. No wifi for us except in the lodge..easy to use, but not in the cabins. The beach front cabins are tired and need attention. I think it was a nice place but they are working off old reputation. The chocolate ox was ok...didn't eat the Italian. Took out a paddle board...25$ an hour...all other beach toys are free. I asked why and they said until the equipment has paid for itself they charge for it...This was not the first season for paddleboards so I don't buy that...They could pay for themselves in a few weeks. The boat charges are also loaded...first 2 hours expensive, after that it is reasonable.

Room Tip: It all depends on what you want to do. If you are a golfer, stay at the pines etc. If you have small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meema21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The only disappointing experience was the front desk personnel ( Deedee in reservations saved the day...give her a raise) On the other hand, the restaurant personnel were impeccably trained. A very special place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
456 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Baxter, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
7.4 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
292 reviews
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Region: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range: £98 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing