We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandview Lodge Home 159”
Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Wow, the home is a beautiful, new 4 bedroom, 4 bath, 3 fireplace gem. The common area/kitchen has granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances, beautiful leather furniture and is large enough to accommodate a crowd. We were there in the winter and love the activities, pool and restaurants. Breakfast is amazing. We cannot wait to return and would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Room Tip: I would specifically ask for 159. If I needed smaller accommodations I would ask for 157 or 158 whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We went up right at Christmas for a family get away, there was 8 of us, 2 under 4, a 17 & 20 yr old. We found something for everyone! Ice fishing for the first time, dog sledding & ice skating. Our first dinner was at Cru. Great wine selection, fair prices. Dinner special was good, filet with grilled bar-b-qued shrimp. Wish it was served hotter, but gave some leeway due to the size of our party. Kids where able to have fresh fruit with their kids meals. Biggest disappointment was they forgot my sons meal, had to ask where it was. no comp. We did stay out the townhouse, worked great for us, all having there own space. Loved the gas fireplace and private view, pool table, didn,t mind being a little distance from the Lodge, breakfast was ok, after 9, a bit of a wait. Donuts were amazing! Patricia at the Spa gives a great deep tissue massage. Pub food was ok. Saturday night they were overwhelmed. Would have helped to have a hostess to assist patrons. Would like to stay on the lake next visit. Staff was helpful and friendly. Would recommend they leave salt in each residence, very icy walkway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife, our two teenage kids and four of their friends stayed at one of the Interlachen townhomes for four days over the New Year's holiday. The Interlachen townhome we stayed in was nice, and included a washer/dryer, dishwasher and all the cabinets were stocked with everything from a coffee maker to pots and pans to glasses and plates. We had dinner in the townhome every evening. The place had an upscale "lodge" feel to it, with huge exposed wood beams. It appears the unit is maybe 10-15 years old, but the owners must keep it in good shape as it didn't look or feel "dated" or tired. Maid service was offered daily. As others have noted, take note that the townhomes are NOT on what you would consider GVL property - meaning you can't just take a leisurely stroll to the main lodge for a cup of coffee (unless you consider a 20 minute walk one-way, along a state highway, leisurely). This was ok with us, as we had a few drivers in our group and we really wanted a scenic view out the living room window onto Gull Lake, which is what we got.

We didn't interact with the GVL staff much, except during check in and check out; they were fine during those times. Our kids went to the pool every night and they confirmed what others here have said, that the teenage lifeguards pretty much let the kids do whatever they wanted. Apparently during one of the nights there were some underage kids drinking in the pool area and a security officer came in and confiscated their booze, but the lifeguards didn't blink an eye at the activity. Oh well, our kids seemed to have fun there every night (hopefully they weren't drinking!). GVL offers a free shuttle service to/from Interlachen and the main GVL lodge, so that was awfully convenient for mom and dad.

One of the things that attracted us to GVL in the first place was their incredible array of outdoor activities, which is hard to find during the winter at many resorts. Unfortunately the average daytime temp, with windchill factored in, was about -20, so our group went bowling in Brainerd one day, and tubing at Ski Gull Hill another day (darn cold the kids tell me). I highly recommend Zorbaz restaurant on the northern tip of Gull Lake. It feels like an "up north" bar, with lots of beer signs, pool table and what-not...but their food was terrific; great pizza! The place sits right on the lake, so be sure to get a table at one of their many windows (seat yourself).

I would gladly stay at GVL again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strokeoluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went here for a couple of days in the winter, and they have a great combination of everything. An indoor pool with waterslide and hot tubs, discounts for local snowmobile rentals, cross-country, snowshoe, and ice fishing rentals, bouncy house for the kids, free breakfast, several restaurants to choose from, great lodging with gas fireplaces, full kitchens and some rooms even have fooseball or pool tables. The staff is very hospitable and helpful. They also have sled dog rides and sleigh rides. They have a whole calendar of events and you can plan ahead by going to gvlfun.com.

Room Tip: We liked the Villas in the Pines. They are only 2mins drive from the main lodge and they have foosba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Just spent three days at the resort for the first time. Every experience exceeded expectations, from the spa to the restaurant(s), to the wine tasting, to the family activities. Take your family! They really know how to keep things moving in the bitter cold!!!

Room Tip: Cabins near the lake are primo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had a nice getaway and never wanted to leave. The beds were high quality and I had the best night's rest at a resort/hotel ever. The townhome #683 was absolutely perfect for a family retreat. There was plenty of room to have privacy; each bedroom has its own bathroom and the common area was comfortable and inviting. There was wonderful media room where the kids enjoyed movies. The lower level walkout has a pool table and was great for us adults to hang out at. The kitchen was perfect size and would love to go back in the summer/fall to enjoy the deck and golf course view! We went to the indoor pool/water park, and it was the perfect size for the kids to play and moms and dads to enjoy the hot tub; you could easily keep track of the kiddos! We had a great lunch at the Pub, and had a delicious pizza from close by Zorbaz for supper. The lodge also offered a shuttle service to the lodge from our townhome.The entire process was easy and there were plenty of things to do despite the cold temperatures of November in Minnesota. All in all a great vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75BeccaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We got the "Cork N' Fork" package which we thought was a great deal for a long weekend away from the Twin Cities. It had snowed a few days before we got there so the property was absolutely gorgeous! Unfortunately, a brutal (below zero) cold snap hit and we couldn't do the outdoor activities we wanted. We didn't mind snuggling by the fire inside, but there really weren't enough indoor activities for bad weather days. We ate at the Northwoods Pub, Cru and the main dining room. We're foodies and were very impressed by the quality of the food and the great service. However, they need to improve their Minnesota craft beer selection - it was lacking. All in all, a great place to visit! We can't wait to come back in the summer to experience all of the lake activities.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge. That was cozy, but the rooms are small (and no fireplace. When we retur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarTde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
456 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Baxter, MN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
7.4 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468-2711
Region: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range: £97 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand View Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing