We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand View Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Grand View Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just returned home from another fabulous stay at this beautiful resort. The resort has everything. No need to leave once you arrive. A wonderful property with beautiful beaches, a variety of great restaurants, a fantastic spa, golf courses, lots of activities, awesome wedding venues, and a fantastic staff. On this trip we stayed in one of the newly renovated cabins down by the beach(unit 404.) Adorable! It is so tastefully done and charming. A great addition to the variety of lodging choices. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    99
    31
    29
    21
See reviews for
215
134
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We thought this resort really had it all. Lots of activites, well maintained property and lodging, good restaurants. I think they do a great job catering to families, but I can see how couples would really enjoy this resort as well with the restaurants and spa, etc. I also appreciate thier online concierge at GVLfun.com. I would definitely recommend GVL to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I grew up visiting the Grand View Lodge but never stayed overnight on site. The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. Family activities are abundant. The charming century old main lodge is well balanced with newer facilities. We didn't have enough time to tour the entire resort, so we'll have to come back again.

We stayed in a cabin near the lake front. We had an obstructed view of the lake, but that really didn't matter to us. The cabin was extremely well furnished. The bathroom was large with separate shower and tub, granite countertop, and new fixtures. While only two of us stayed in the cabin, there is plenty of room for a family of four. We look forward to returning with kids.

We had dinner at the Main Lodge Dining Room. The food was excellent, and so was the service. In fact, the service was top notch throughout our stay. My wife and I were completing two and half weeks of travel, and of the four and five star hotels we visited in Asia and the US, the Grand View Lodge absolutely had the finest service of all our destinations. We were disappointed to only have one night here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBinKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We were able to score a last minute deal. The Golf Villa at The Pines was even better than expected. The unit is split into two floors with a bedroom on each floor. A pool table was below. The boys played billiards for the first time which was fun! We were able to book a ride on the banana tube. Talking with two teenagers on the ride, this is a popular spot for family reunions. The golf villa we stayed in would also be treat for a guys or girls weekend. Each room had a two double beds. Each villa had patio furniture and a charcoal grill. Too bad we didn't stay longer, there are so many activities available and most complimentary for guests! We will definitely be back in a few years - long drive from Chicago!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at the Grand View Lodge as part of a client's management retreat meeting there. Loved the property especially the truly huge and comfortable rooms in the Golf Villas.

However where I thought the service really went above and beyond was, when after a mini-tornado which took the power out for a period of something like 12 hours, the staff still managed to rustle up a very edible breakfast at 6.30am including limited hot items in the candle-lit dining room.

They clearly had to endure less than ideal circumstances but provided service with a smile and sincerity. Props to all.

Room Tip: Go for the Golf Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisklopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Grandview. Loved the townhouse we stayed in right on a private beach with a firepit. We had fun at the main beach and pool. Our fishing excursion was so much fun. Other reviewers have said most of what I have to say. But I'd like to highlight the gluten-free dining options. The breakfast buffet manager and chef were very helpful at pointing out which items are GF. They also made eggs each morning for our son that were gluten and dairy free. At Northwoods Pub, they have a number of GF options. The GF bread and hamburger buns are the best we've ever had. We will head to the bakery in Minneapolis that provides the GF breads (Franklin Street Bakery) and stock our freezer!

One downfall is that the kitchen and wait staff needs more training in how to prevent gluten cross-contamination. They did their best, and were willing to handle food as we asked them to. A little on-the-job training from a positive customer never hurts.

Room Tip: Call the reservations desk. Tell them your needs and ask lots of questions to narrow down your opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our stay was perfect. The studio on Nokomis we stayed in was superb! The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and the resort itself was immaculate! Would highly recommend this to anyone!! We do plan on coming back many, many more times!

Room Tip: We stayed at a studio on Nokomis and we were very impressed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nisswa
7.4 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
9.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Baxter
9.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Rapid River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Lodge

Property: Grand View Lodge
Address: 23521 Nokomis Ave, Nisswa, MN 56468
Region: United States > Minnesota > Nisswa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Nisswa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a lifetime of memories at Grand View Lodge Golf Resort and Spa, located along the beautiful shores of Gull Lake in Nisswa, MN. The Historic Grand View Lodge offers deluxe accommodations, exceptional dining, 45 holes of championship golf, the world-class Glacial Waters Spa, full-service meeting, events and wedding facilities, and activities galore on 2,500 feet of beautiful sandy beach. Grand View's lodging facilities are immaculate, convenient and comfortable, accommodating up to 900 people. Spread across several hundred acres, Grand View provides the maximum privacy, enjoyment, and scenic views for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand View Hotel Nisswa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing