We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Archer House River Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caravan Motel(Cannon Falls)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
37
59
30
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
59
30
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restauranthistoric hotelcarleton collegecannon riverold buildingdivision streetthe main streetcozy roomblue mondayshops and restaurantsrooms vary in sizecoffee houseold schoolgreat barnice place to staybeds were very comfortableexecutive room
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Yes, it is very historical and I appreciate that, but with what they are charging, I expected more.

I liked the woodwork throughout the hotel. What I did not like was that there were several areas within the halls and room that you could smell the must. The Tavern Bar had a bartender that was rather short with us and it was not overly busy at the time. He seemed rather bothered when one of us asked him what kind of beers he had on tap and then another asked what kind of wine was available. He could have been more polite about it, afterall it is his job to serve us!! The prices on the menu did not match the prices on the website of the Tavern Restaurant.

Overall, too expensive for what we got. Will not stay there again!

Room Tip: No pool available. NA on the room service as we did not utilize it. We were on the river side and could hear the train several times throughout the night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriMN12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Archer House is perfectly located for people visiting St. Olaf or Carleton Colleges. The hotel staff is mostly friendly and helpful, and tries hard to keep the 130-year old place functioning. Fans of historic hotels will enjoy the old rooms, the creaky staircases, and the very authentic Lounge. Fans of modern comforts and conveniences may struggle with all this authenticity.

Room Tip: If you need any space, avoid the "cozy" rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Pundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

No one seems to mention the stench of the Indian restaurant that permeates this property. The staff is lovely, but the rooms are tired (despite the quoted $1 million dollar recent renovation) and the shops on the first floor, other than the great little gift shop at the end, are poorly executed. The whole place is just odd. I realize there aren't many options in town for accomodations, but that being said, why they don't do more with what they've got is beyond me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1990GB500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife & I stayed March 14 for the night, we had booked a evening snow shoeing trip through The Gear Resourse Outfitters next door. The Archer House is a historic hotel and with that you get what you pay for. We were lucky- were given the Bridal Suite (yippee) which had a very comfortable queen bed, flat screen TV, and a whirlpool bath. Marcine at the front desk was great- funny and I enjoed bantering with her. If you want hotel with a pool, workout room and that type of accomodations, this is not the hotel for you. If you enjoy history and a little quirky overnight, the Archer house is recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a whirlpool suite- not confimed ahead of time, but check in is 3PM, get there a little before.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dano72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Archer House is an interesting study in contrasts. The lobby is an elegant period piece, but the signs designating the rooms look like cheap folk art. The furnishings in the rooms are high-end, but the heat and air conditioning comes from a noisy old unit mounted up on the wall. The beds are luxurious, but the light bulbs are so dim you cannot see to read. The tub and shower (jetted, rain head, lots of water pressure) are great, but the shower curtain is so short and flimsy it's hard to keep in the tub when you shower. We were warned that we might be awakened during the night by passing snow plows, since we had a room on the street side, and indeed, we heard the plows no less than three different times. We thought it would be fun to stay here, and it was by far the most convenient of the few available hotels to St. Olaf College, but we were disappointed and it was not worth the price we paid. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the tavern restaurant on the ground floor was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews