We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Magic Door
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Northfield
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
College City Motel(Northfield)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
47
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer suiteb blittle touchesfresh baked cookieswonderful stayquichedelicious snacksmini fridge in our roomlovely bed and breakfastrelaxing weekendcomfortable atmospherecheese platefront porchplace to staychapatipamnetflix
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Magic Door and found it to be among the very best we have ever experienced. Of course fresh cookies. Even some wine once we came in for the evening. The room was sumptuous. The hostess was most friendly with our being over bearing. I look forward to the next time we need to stay in Northfield.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband bid on a stay at our local B&B Magic Door at our son's school fund raiser. He booked the stay for our 27th anniversary. The owner Pamela helped my husband by making sure all the romantic items were included in our room such as chilled champaigne, box of chocolates, and roses! We were warmly greeted with a plate of cheese, crackers and fruit and choice of wine or beer. Pam also had a wonderful large selection of dvds in her library. We had a lovely room with a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, very comfortable bed and nice sitting area. Breakfast was delicious and ample and friendly. Great location, great owner, great ambiance

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I chose the Magic Door because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor, and it exceeded my expectations. The Magic Door is a good name, because while the exterior and surroundings are rather unprepossessing, inside it couldn't be lovelier. The innkeeper is very accommodating and welcoming and the food was great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petesrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I were in town for a friends wedding. Pamela, the owner, was very accommodating and allowed us to arrive 3 hours before check-in time. She greeted us at the door, showed us to our very comfortable room, and then brought us a plate of cheeses, crackers, grapes, apples, carrots, and hummus. Our mini fridge was stocked with drinks, there were yummy chocolates in our candy dish, unlimited fresh baked cookies, and the soaking tub was amazing! Breakfast was served on china, and was wonderful. Fruit with yogurt, croissants, english muffins, coffee, tea, orange juice, quiche, french toast, sausage, cheesecake, etc. Very filling, and extremely yummy. Excellent location to downtown shops, grocery store, restaurants, and attractions. Enjoyed the comfortable atmosphere, kind and helpful locals, and Pamela's hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbowman04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We have visited the Magic Door on a number of occasions, as we frequently travel to Carleton College during the fall soccer season. The rooms are comfortable and well-decorated. The B&B is walking distance to downtown Northfield and Carleton College and just a short drive from the twin cities airport. We have enjoyed meeting the innkeeper, Pam, who is friendly, knowledgable about lots of things to do in the surrounding area, and who has always accommodated our special requests. This is the place to stay if you're looking for a relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnHam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews