We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, service and atmosphere”

Goodbye Blue Monday Coffee House
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Seating, Takeout
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great coffee, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Love the retro, casual environment. The coffee, tea and rice crispy treats are excellent. The college kids who serve are pleasant and very quick. No long waiting. love it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CnM1122840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Coffee in a Funky, Retro Environment”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The coffee here is really very good (and I'm picky about my coffee) and the environment is a throwback to 50's and 60's decor. There's good internet access and plenty of tables at which to sit, but this place is REALLY popular so you might have to get your coffee and sit outside or go next door.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My favorite coffee store”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I love GBM. Maybe it cuz I know the owners, but I've gone there for my daily fix for 20 years and I like their coffee the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tandys_trainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“I've got the Goodbye Blue Monday Blues”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I live in Portland, Oregon. Home to more independent coffee shops than you can shake a stick at. To quote a sticker I saw at Goodbye Blue Monday in Northfield: "Friends don't let friends drink Starbucks". Especially in Northfiled. And why would you, when you can get a great cup of coffee, or chai, or tasty and unusual teas from around the world. Not to mention a hearty bowl of oatmeal with fruit and nuts for breakfast, or delicious scones and muffins.

The baristas seem to hale mostly from Carleton and St. Olaf. They're typically friendly and quick. Somehow their system works. Don't despair. The line moves quickly.

GBM has free wifi and lots of tables, chairs and sofas. While often full of students and locals, it seemed like there was always room to sit down and enjoy your drink. Table sharing is allowed. On weekends, the local runners and bicyclists hang out after their run/ride. Feel free to strike up a conversation with one of them. This is, after all, a friendly coffeehouse.

I just wish there was a Goodbye Blue Monday in my neighborhood.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin97229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hip and comfortable local coffee house with a wall full of drink options”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Loved the coffee and the selections. The staff we extremely friendly. Note the Carleton Library has a floor named after this place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeN_Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goodbye Blue Monday Coffee House also viewed

 
Northfield, MN
Northfield, MN
 

Been to Goodbye Blue Monday Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing