We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian in College Town”
Review of Chapati

Chapati
Ranked #14 of 53 Restaurants in Northfield
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Cuisine of India located in the Archer House River Inn in the heart of Northfield, Minnesota. We serve a selection of traditional Indian dishes as well as several of our own creation. Wine and beer available. Lunch buffet. Rang Jamaye! Enjoy!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian in College Town”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Reasonably priced, nice interior in historic Archer House hotel. Extensive Indian menu. Tandoori chicken is outstanding - very moist and flavorful. Also try the Alu Naan with pistachios nuts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Go figure ... tasty Indian food in Northfield, MN!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Next door to The Archer House is Chapati, a deservedly popular Indian restaurant. I must admit that the notion of finding yummy Indian food in Northfield, MN. seemed, well, a bit foreign. Give it a try ... I ate there a number times during my visits to see our son at Carleton. The food was always delicious and plentiful (helpful when dining with college students, especially student athletes!). At times the service was a bit slow, but it was always busy, so I figured they were moving as fast as they could.

It has a charming feel to it: tables are scattered throughout several rooms, as the restaurant was once part of a house or hotel. Even if full, it wasn't too noisy. The smells ... well, I wish they had cooking classes. And you typically run into one of your student's friends and his or her family also enjoying a welcome change from dorm dining!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin97229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Indian Food in Northfield”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Nice restaurant down on Division street at the base of Carleton College. If you eat Indian food a lot, then you won't be disappointed as all the usual fare is there whether it's a masala, pakora, biryani or just Tandoori chicken. And with the exception of the lamb korma (which was dry), it was all quite good! I would definitely eat here again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
347 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“All was very good! And order to share - portions are plentiful”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Initial and follow-up service wasn't stellar, but hey, it's a college town.

Seated in a semi-private alcove-feeling table - nice seclusion. All of the food was done well, with flavors that are more pure/ more concentrated than other indian restaurants. (Can't say how authentic or true to form they as I've not visited the sub-continent.) Careful when you order the Taj Mahal beer - it comes in 22 oz bottles, but they don't state that on the menu. Could definitely go there again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank djlund999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is great”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We love the buffet here. Always tasty. We don't go very often, and won't because one of the partners is a snake in the grass. But the people that run it and cook are great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrvlrMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapati also viewed

 

Been to Chapati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing