We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Outing Lodge at Pine Point
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I purchased a Crowd Cut offer to stay at this beautiful, old lodge. The purchase was quite a good value, and we enjoyed the lodge, property and location so much that we are sending our daughter and son-in-law to stay there as well. To begin with, we appreciated the welcome email just prior to our visit with directions and information. Diana was wonderfully accommodating when we arrived and took the time to show us to our room and around the lodge. She also was gracious to show us other rooms that were either being cleaned or already for the next guests. Many of the rooms are quite large and spacious (#6 and #8). Our room was very clean with excellent air conditioning for a comfortable July stay. The property grounds are very pretty with a blooming garden and well kept lawn. Choco, the chocolate lab greeted us upon arrival. He is a very gentle sweet dog. The lovely Carlotta and her husband (owners) took the time to talk about their past efforts and future plans for the property, which is restoration/creation of two large outer buildings being built in European style. The exteriors of these buildings are very lovely - the interiors are not yet started. I would love to return when these buildings are completed. The work is progressing in line with finances and renewable material. As for the lodge itself, the foundation/basement was built in 1858; the main floor and second level in 1920's. Large planked wood floors and walls gave me the feeling of a hunting lodge, but a bit more elegant. The Outing Lodge is about 10 - 15 minutes from Stillwater and very secluded in the country. We enjoyed a 1.5 hour walk exploring the park and adjoining neighborhood (with large homes, fenced horses, private gardens, etc). Aamodts Apple Orchard and the St. Croix Winery are near the lodge on the road to Stillwater. Stillwater offered fine dining, oil/vinegar tasting, wine and/or beer tasting, shopping, river activities, city tours, and many other wonderful activities to keep everyone happy. We ate at the MarX Wine Bar and had an incredible dinner! We also sat on the REV patio and enjoyed lunch while people watching. Both places offer excellent wines. We also had a wonderful and very full breakfast at the lodge with pastries, yogurt, fruit, cheese, ham, eggs and french toast. Everything was on time and delicious. When our weekend was over, my husband thanked me for the wonderful B&B excursion which fully met/exceeded our expectations. (Side note: Carlotta is from Argentina and very much adds to the charm of the lodge. She is a very beautiful and well spoken with an inviting and open personality.)

Room Tip: I like spacious rooms, so the Robert Frost (#8) and Eva Peron (#6) are good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Don and I went to the outing lodge for a theme dinner last winter .. It was our first visit to this Romantic lodge.When we walked through the door we were welcomed by a guest manager
she gave us the grand tour . Once we were settled in our room we walked downstairs and sat by a open faced wood burning fireplace. The stone was beautiful surrounding it.We visited with many guests around this warm fire.Than we were escorted to our table for appetizers and all the wine you could drink.The food followed and it was very good .Upstairs there is a very quant library and games galore .The outing lodge can be described as a feeling of traveling back in time for a peaceful,rustic,relaxing moment . A get away to enjoy peace and quiet.We loved it very much.

Room Tip: Corner suite is large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I purchased this for my husband to be for a birthday gift. He was very excited about this as he has never been to a B&B before. When we booked it, they were very helpful in helping us find a date that worked. The ride up to the place was very nice, we felt like we were up north driving thru the trees. Well, that is where it ended. We parked and started to walk in only to see old bikes laying on the grass as well as wood, old tools, etc..... it looked like a mini junk yard. We opened the door only to smell mold and mildew. We had the Bob Dylan room and what a disappointment. The TV was hard to work - The handle on the toilet had to be held down in order to flush. The light flickered as we sat in the hot tub all but one bulb was burnt out. They wrote on the beautiful ceramic tile with a BLACK MARKER, what each handle was for - HOT, COLD...... really? Then they had rocks next to the facet with a note stating, do not touch!!! The pedestal sink was lose and needed to be repaired. Needless to say this was not the "prefect night" I had hoped for my Husband's first experience at a B&B. We couldn't get past the musty and mold smell. We were so disappointed, we didn't even stay for breakfast. Will never go back and will NOT recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Would not stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlota1, Owner at Outing Lodge at Pine Point, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your feedback: we can only improve if we know where our weaknesses are. We apologize for the inconveniences that you had during your stay and appreciate your time in sharing what can be improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent another wonderful night at the Outing Lodge in June, 2013. Had no difficulty booking a room this time. Liked the e-mail confirmation and note just prior to arrival date. Love the rustic beauty of the lodge and the staff are helpful but totally nonintrusive. Check for woodticks at this time of year if you walk on the many wonderful park paths. Our room was very comfortable but getting hot water took time. Breakfast, as it was on our last visit, was delicious. The Outing Lodge does give me the feeling of being in Europe - secluded, romantic and rustic.

Room Tip: The 2 theme rooms we have stayed in were both wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csj0hns0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Outing Lodge was a beautiful location. I also used a Crowdcut coupon and we stayed in the Amelia Earhardt Room! All went smoothly with checking it! Thanks Diana! The room was very nice with a soft bed and the grounds were so pretty! It is more rustic as the building is over 150yrs old and the owners ( Carolotta and her husband) are doing a great job restoring the building! They are also adding some new construction.The breakfast was so yummy! Great apple pastries and quiche! My husband and I had a great bike ride on the paths within the Washington County Park that the lodge borders! I also enjoyed talking to the owner and learning about the history of the Outing Lodge. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming even their dog Choco. It was great being out in the country away from busy twin cities. It great for a short weekend away and not a long drive from the twin cities! Thanks for a great 10th Anniversary! We look forward to another stay here in the future! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I bought a voucher through Crowd Cut for a two night stay and I have to say this place was a pleasant surprise. It was a little frustrating booking a room but that is to be expected with the limited number of rooms they have. The staff was extremely friendly and it was explained when we checked in all that there was to do at the lodge and later that night my wife and I enjoyed playing board games in the basement. It was also very nice to speak with one of the owners and get a history of the place. Breakfast at the lodge is fantastic! The eggs were awesome, the blueberry scones were tasty. Anything you could want, it's there. Everything about the meal exceeded my expectations. Our room had a gas fireplace in it which heated the room nicely. The bed was very soft and I got a great couple nights of sleep. Overall i'm looking forward to staying there again and I enjoyed my time away from the real world and also enjoyed the sights of beautiful Stillwater, MN.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is a rustic throw back to olden days kind of B & B. The building is beautiful and is accented with large fireplaces throughout. If you're looking for a quite, romantic place, this is a great pick. Above all, the customer service was above and beyond, especially Diana who went out of her way to accommodate us. We look forward to another stay in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park Heights
4.8 mi away
Water Street Inn
Water Street Inn
#6 of 7 in Stillwater
349 reviews
22.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Valley
Holiday Inn Express St. Croix Va...
#1 of 2 in Saint Croix Falls
149 reviews
5.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Rivertown Inn
Rivertown Inn
#4 of 9 in Stillwater
214 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Outing Lodge at Pine Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outing Lodge at Pine Point

Address: 11661 Myeron Rd N, Oak Park Heights, MN 55082
Region: United States > Minnesota > Oak Park Heights
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park Heights
Price Range: £99 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th Century History Preserved at the Outing Lodge European style 19th century country home, surrounded by lawns and gardens with 300 acres of wooded park land ~ a place where people would go to get away from modern city life. Pine Point was founded in 1858 as Minnesota's second "poor farm," a home for the chronically indigent or those temporarily down on their luck. Stillwater was a wealthy community in 1850, the territorial capital. In this abundant atmosphere, a desire to help the less fortunate culminated in the construction of this poor farm. The prize-winning dairy farm became both a home and a workplace to thousands of needy for almost 100 years. When the farm was closed in 1957, the land was planted in pine trees, now Pine Point Park. The house went on for 20 years as a Rest Home. In the 1980s, to save it from proposed demolition, Lee Gohlike began its renovation. He gutted its interiors with a reverence for its historic past: wide-planked wooden floors cut from old pine beams provide a perfect backdrop to the many elegant antique furnishings, numerous candelabra and massive fireplaces. Featured in Midwest Traveler, Star Tribune and other local & national publications, this beautiful Georgian home is a destination for exclusive retreats & events. Guests enjoy cross-country skiing, horseback and biking trails connecting to the Metro system. Theme dinner calendar of events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Outing Lodge at Pine Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outing Lodge At Pine Point Hotel Oak Park Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing