We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Breakfast Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shar'els Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shar'els Cafe
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Oakdale
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
291 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I usually only have breakfast at Sharels although they have other food you can order. Breakfast is always hot and what I expect. Typical American breakfast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hippyways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Small Town Diner that Lacks Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I visit Shar'els a few times a year, one of those spur of the moment weekend breakfast stops. They have pretty good food, great prices, and it's always been pretty decent service. I've noticed over the years the staff has grown a bit dreary. It's the kind of place you hope to find smiles and laughter from the staff, and maybe a few stories here and there, and that's just not the case.

I always get the breakfast sandwich, it's really tasty, and plenty of coffee.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank organicjellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disfunctional Family”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is a family owned business? I hope the servers are not part of the family because they have NO PEOPLE skill. We ordered our food after sitting there for close to a 1/2 hr and the servers acted like it was our fault they took so long to come to our table. and when the foog finaly got to our table it was cold. The server said it was due to the owner was cooking and he is very slow. their prices are just as high as every where else. so I will be going somewhere els.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank jcroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude and lazy staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

Title says all there is to say about this place. The food itself wasn't bad, but the lack of friendliness from the staff, especially from the two larger set blonde gals, made this experience feel like hell. They were not only rude to the guests, but to the rest of the staff as well. This place may as well be set in the middle of a trailer park, since that's the atmosphere it gives off.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank someladyyoudontknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“This is a wonderful breakfast spot. My favorite breakfast is eggs and broccoli and I think the cost is under $5. This...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2008

This is a wonderful breakfast spot. My favorite breakfast is eggs and broccoli and I think the cost is under $5. This is a neighborhood spot right off the Gateway Trail, coffee is good and plentiful, standard tasty and inexpensive diner fare, best servers in town.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Shar'els Cafe also viewed

 
White Bear Lake, MN
 

Been to Shar'els Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing