We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casino Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Casino Mille Lacs
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Onamia
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Casino Accomodations”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The Casino / Hotel is located off Highway 169 north of Minneapolis.
- Self Park Available
- Check In was fast and accurate
- 7 Story Hotel
- Room was large with microwave, refrigerator, nice flat HD (lots of channels), work desk, 4 cup coffee maker
- No Ironing Board or Iron but they will promptly bring you one, if needed
- Bedding was comfortable
- Overall room condition was good, very clean during my stay
- Room was very quiet
- Under window HVAC worked very well with continuous fan mode
- Bath and Body Works Shampoo, Conditioner
- Adequate Lighting although receptacles for electronics were limited
- Security room key check at elevators
- Adequate water pressure
- Free Internet (1.2 megs)
- Large in-door pool
- Mille Lacs Lake Recreation

The casino and hotel have an alcohol free policy, no lounge. Food at buffet was so-so while the food at the grill and plums was better. Small movie theater next door on the property along with a grocery store.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the west wing for better internet connections
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Land&Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    84
    46
    32
    30
See reviews for
95
134
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Heres the deal me an the ol lady got a room on the new side.New, yeah right. We checked in and we head to elevators an immediately we are stopped by the gestapo, or so it seemed. He says "can i see your room key?" What the heck? For real? We just checked in and we got our bags in hand and he`s asking for our room key and are we staying here? Why i ask he says its policy. I show him the key an he says enjoy your stay. WOW. We get to the room, 7th floor and we check out the room, its nasty. We think the towels were not clean and there was pizza crusts between the bed and the little dresser and by the foot of the bed on the floor. GROSS!!! The bed was in no better shape, apart from the crusty stains on the sheets and the ugly long dark hairs on the bedspread the view out front was the most memorable part of our trip. WHATS YOUR GRAND CASINO STORY?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

There is just too much negative about this casino. Parking and valet hard to do. Food terrible quality with almost as bad service. Poker room tournaments and cash games not worth the time. Casino very smokey. Go to Hinckley instead!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My fiancé and spent five nights here over the Christmas holiday. My Mom and Dad live three miles down the road from here. So it was a great place to stay over the holiday. The first three nights we stayed they were $12.00 rooms! Amazing price! The total cost of the stay was $179.00 with tax. The trick was we did not stay there over New Years weekend. Then the room price went way up.

The hotel was nice. Just like any mid range hotel. It did take them two try's to give me a room key that would work. But front desk was really nice. Rooms were big, GREAT beds and very comfortable. Wish the sheets and blankets were higher quality .

. There is a cafe called Plums. It is open 24 hours. Has decent food and is not to pricey. The buffet is not good. Over priced cafeteria food. The pool looked nice but was always full of kids. Dint have a lot of luck on slot machines . But that that is always the case unless your in Vegas. Was nice to play $3 and $5 black jack.
Over it is the nicest hotel in that area. But if you know Garson that's not hard to do : ).

Room Tip: Don't stay on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisswa, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

we reserved the room 3 weeks inadvance then it was to be on first floor ,no rooms were avaiable ???then we went to the seafood buffet sat down ate onces went to get up and get another plate came back are coat and sweater was gone and the waitress had some one else sitting at are table ????then we had to argue to get are stuff back , then we wrote about what happened to us its been about 7 months STILL NOTHING YET they must think its funny well we dont and will pass this along and will never return .they can take the casnio and shove it ....it was the most horrible pm then we had EVER then had to drive home after we reserved a room ???????

Room Tip: dont go there your room you reserved wont be there any way ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We bought a one night's stay and dinner for two at a non-profit fundraiser Silent Auction for Grand Casino and will never do that again. We are not big gamblers, but did it just for a little get away . Was that ever a mistake! The room was nice and large and we requested non-smoking, but you have to walk through smoking sections everywhere in the hotel and casino to get to non-smoking. The TV in room worked intermittently ( satellite reception, I think) . The worst part was the dinner buffet - it was actually inedible. The food was all overcooked and dry- the "fresh" items on salad bar were old, limp and discolored. Everything looked like it had been prepared hours before. There was plenty of staff just standing around so they certainly could have been preparing and/or refreshing the food. We will never go there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dwmv65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My significant other and I just returned from an overnight stay at Grand Casino Mille Lacs. Check in was quick but valet service was a little confusing since there wasn't anyone outside that we could see and there were 5 empty cars in front of us. We eventually got out and saw a sign on the front door saying we needed to check in and bring our keys inside. Since we are used to seeing attendants outside at other casinos at the valet, we were not aware of how the valet service worked since it was our first time there. The rooom was what we had asked for, king non-smoking. We were surprised that there was a microwave which was a plus (popcorn). Casino was entertaining if you like gambling. They had some slots that I had never seen before or maybe never noticed before anywhere else. We debated whether to dine at Plums or the Grand Northern Grill. Since we were in the mood for something casual like a burger, we chose Pllums. We both ordered the bacon cheesburger and a couple of sides. The gal at the cashier informed us that it came with mayo, lettuce, onions etc. We both told her what we did and didn't want on the the burger. Order was done, took our number and sat down. When our food arrived, it looked yummy! Strange thing was that it still came with everything she mentioned (packet of mayo, pile of onions, lettuce, pickles) but it was off to the side a bit. I thought to myself, what a waste of time of asking us what we wanted on our burger if you were going to put it on anyway and what a waste of extra fixings that we weren't going to eat. Regardless, we weren't bothered. We just left it on the side. When I touched the top bun, it was so cold, it felt like it had just come out of the refrigerator. I don't like sending my food back b/c you never know what could happen when you get it back but I was SO surprised at this. I asked the gal if they could put it in the microwave or something. She took it to the back and it came back a few minutes later. This time it was scorching hot. Well, better than ice cold. LOL. As I started to enjoy my burger, I noticed that the bottom bun was super soggy and doughy, EWW!!! They had put the wet lettuce on the bottom of the basket with the burger right on top. OBVIOUSLY, it was bound to get soggy. I asked my sig other if his was the same and sure enough, they had done the same thing but his wasn't as soggy and he was so hungry, he ate it anyway. By that point, I was starving as well, so I took the bottom bun off and ate the burger without it. Onion rings were tasty, crunchy, yummy and the buffalo cottage fries were tasty as well. Later on that evening, my stomach was turning and I ended up vomiting. PRETTY SURE, it was the burger. EWWW!!! After gambling a little after dinner, we decided to head upstairs to watch a movie since I wasn't feeling the best. We ended up wanting to watch netflicks since we didn't see any movie channels offered. We took out our HDMI cable we brought with us and attempted to connect our phone to the TV. There was a connection marked HDMI and we confirmed on how to connect everything with the information booklet they had in the room. They had step by step instructions with illustrations and everything. After several attempts, it was a failure. We called down to the front desk and explained the situation. The front desk gal said she had no idea how to fix the problem. She then asked if we had ever got it to work before at the hotel. Being it was our first time there we said no but we connect to other hotel tv's all the time with no issues. Her response was. "Well I've never heard of any of our tv's getting those connections to work. They built the plug in's that way but I don't know why if they aren't going to work anyway." Obviously not much help from the front desk. We were bummed. First the burger, now, no movies. Boo.
Next day, I felt a little better, so we checked out and ate at the buffet. It was average. Tasty pumpkin bars though, and service was a thumbs up. Gambled a little and decided to check out the arcade. A lot of the machines were out of order so we decided to skip it. We were also going to go to the movie theatre right next to the hotel but decided to just pack it up and go home and save it for a future visit, maybe with the kiddos.
All in all, our visit was average. If we would've brought the kids, I think it would have been a lot worse (no in room movies, lots of arcade games not working, casual food not the greatest). BUT, since it was just the 2 of us, we decided to appreciate the quality time together and try to make our visit the most positive it could be. IF we do come back with the kiddos, we know to bring food that we can warm up in the room, swim suits for the pool (looked enjoyable) and definitely take advantage of the movie theatre next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WgqMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onamia
2.9 mi away
Eddy's Resort
Eddy's Resort
#2 of 5 in Onamia
84 reviews
21.4 mi away
Country Inn Deerwood
Country Inn Deerwood
#3 of 3 in Deerwood
49 reviews
9.0 mi away
Izatys Resort
Izatys Resort
#3 of 5 in Onamia
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
The Red Door Resort & Motel
14.5 mi away
McQuoid's Inn & Event Center
12.6 mi away
Appeldoorn's Sunset Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Casino Mille Lacs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Casino Mille Lacs

Property: Grand Casino Mille Lacs
Address: 777 Grand Avenue, Onamia, MN 56359
Region: United States > Minnesota > Onamia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Onamia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Casino Mille Lacs 3*
Number of rooms: 494
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Casino Mille Lacs Hotel is one of the largest casino hotels in the state of Minnesota featuring 494 rooms designed specifically for comfort and convenience. Our hotel property is a short walk from Lake Mille Lacs and features spacious luxurious suites and personalized service you would expect from a premier destination. In addition to our lively and exciting casino gaming floor, our hotel property boasts an oversized tranquil swimming pool, a 20-person Jacuzzi surrounded by a rock waterfall, a fitness center featuring high end Precor equipment, five delicious restaurants including a coffee shop, retail outlets featuring products such as Coach, a grand arcade with over 80 games, a daycare facility with special rates for players, and a nationally recognized events and convention center. Our all-season property offers a convenient central Minnesota just a short drive north of the Twin Cities location right off Highway 169. See you on your next visit to Mille Lacs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Casino Mille Lacs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Casino Mille Lacs Hotel Onamia
Grand Hotel Mille Lacs
Grand Hotel Onamia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing