We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort! Stop your search, this is the place to be!”
Review of Aspen Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspen Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Orr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort! Stop your search, this is the place to be!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

- The cabins are top notch. Clean, comfortable, great views, air conditioning and tons of pillows!

- The fishing is unbelievable! Sunfish, Crappies, Walleye, Northern Pike, Small mouth Bass, Large mouth Bass & Perch. You WILL catch fish on this lake! Tons of islands and not to mention it is beautiful! Eagles, loons and Pelicans to boot.

- Outdoor pool & hot tub keep the kids entertained while you sit back and relax. The pool is soooo clean.

- Kids activities daily. Make your own Ice Cream Sundae, decorate and frost fish sugar cookies, s'mores night, and the kids personal favorite--- THE MINNOW RACES!!

- The resort owners, Ray and Vanessa are the best! Couldn't ask for better folks to run a great resort!

- Visit their website or Facebook page for more info. Aspenmn.com or www.facebook.com/aspenresort

- Our family has returned 5 years in a row, that should explain how much we love it there.

- If relaxation is what you want and need...visit Aspen Resort, you will have the best vacation and come back again and again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

For those of us suburbanites that enjoy boating but do not own our own boat, you can enjoy the peaceful Pelican Lake with one of the Aspen Resorts boat rentals in order to go fishing. This is our second year here at the Aspen Resort which has a relaxing family environment as well with many activities for the kids to enjoy.

The rural area around the Aspen Resort definitely feels secluded but there is still a good grocery store in town for all those necessary items that you may have forgot to bring.

I am writing this review while I'm actually at the resort now.

Room Tip: there's a range of cabin sizes to stay in so investigating the description on the Aspen Resort w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zyx130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Everything at Aspen is absolutely top notch. It is a remote location that is quite and very well maintained. They have something to offer everyone who chooses to stay there. The cabins are structured to fit any size family, group, or couple. Aspen puts a great deal of time and effort into making sure your vacation stays a vacation. There are lots of activities for kids and adults, they have a game room, pool, hot tub, and many other options to waste the day away. Their website is very informative and they are very friendly to deal with, give them a call. The fishing is pretty darn good as well and they have several options of boats/pontoons to rent if you wish or dock space to put your boat during your stay. I have been there for 6 years now and it keeps getting better. My family and I always look forward to this trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyle30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My Family and I just returned home from a weeks vacation at the resort after returning for the third year in a row. The kids really enjoy the daily activities that the lodge hosts each day and the bonfires each night. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking to fish, relax and have a great time! We look forward to coming back each year and this will continue to be a tradition for a long time!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rheannahaeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We just returned from staying 3 nights at Aspen Resort on Pelican Lake just outside of Orr, Minnesota. We stayed in the Loon cabin, which would be perfect for a couple, but was a little small for our family of four. Although, it didn't really matter because we spent most of our time outdoors. They have 10 cabins varying in size from 1 bedroom to 4 bedrooms. This is a small family operated resort at a quiet location that is great for fishing, swimming, or just lounging by the pool. They rent cabins on a weekly basis, but will rent them out for shorter periods of time if available. They have boats for rent and canoes that you can use. They have a small beach area, but it is primarily for kids to play in the sand and on the swing set. For swimming they have a nice pool that is located next to the lodge. The lodge has a few grocery items and some games for the kids. They have a daily activity for the kids and bonfire each night. They do not have a restaurant or bar, so bring your own. Each cabin has a full kitchen, fridge, cooking utensils, and a weber charcoal grill. You will need to bring your own towels, dishcloths, toiletries, etc. It is about a 10 minute drive into Orr, in case you need to go to the grocery store. They have boat docks if you bring your own boat with fuel, bait and assistance for docking your boat. The cabins are very clean, and have air conditioning if needed. They are equipped with electricity and a television with satellite TV. Our family had a nice quiet retreat at Aspen and would recommend it for families that like the outdoors. This part of Minnesota is very quiet and fairly remote. You can find more details on their website.

  • Liked — Quiet, beautiful lake
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank minnesotawildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orr
3.6 mi away
Birch Forest Lodge
Birch Forest Lodge
#1 of 10 in Orr
60 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cabin O' Pines Resort
2.5 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#5 of 10 in Orr
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grey Wolf Lodge
Grey Wolf Lodge
#4 of 10 in Orr
13 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ludlow's Island Resort
14.6 mi away
White Eagle Resort on Lake Vermilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Resort

Property: Aspen Resort
Address: 11023 Slade Rd, Pelican Lake, Orr, MN 55771-8007
Region: United States > Minnesota > Orr
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Orr
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASPEN RESORT, One of the finest family resorts in Northern Minnesota. A 17 acre resort located on the scenic, undeveloped north shore of Pelican Lake.ACCOMMODATIONS 10 new and newly remodeled log cabins that all come with air conditioning and satellite TV. Our 21 site campground (with full hookups) offers weekly and seasonal camping.RESORT AMENITIES Full time dock / activity staff, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, WIFI access, basketball court, volleyball / badminton, horseshoes, beachfront Rainbow playground, canoes, kayaks, paddleboat.BOAT RENTALS Crestliner Fish/Ski with 115hp 4 stroke motor, Deluxe Crestliner Fishhawk boats with 60hp 4 stroke motors, Crestliner pontoons with 60hp 4 stroke motors, and Lund row boats with tiller steer motors.SCHEDULED ACTIVITIES Nightly campfires, weekly minnow races, s'more night, childrens crafts, weekly hotdog roast / potluck, sundaes on Sunday ice cream social.PELICAN LAKE is haled as one of Minnesota's great fishing lakes with an abundant supply of bluegills, large and smallmouth bass, walleyes, crappies, northern pike, bullheads and perch. Angler's of all ages are rarely disappointed! Onsite fishing guide available.ORR AREA ATTRACTIONS View wild bears in their natural habitat at the Vince Shute Bear Sanctuary, feed the deer at Cold Springs Deer Farm, visit the International Wolf Center to view timberwolves which are native to this area, walk the Orr Bog Walk, hike to the Vermilion Falls and Gorge, or visit one of the 9 area golf courses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing