We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Village of Yesteryear
Ranked #4 of 23 things to do in Owatonna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This setting features twelve historic buildings, including log cabins, a railroad depot and a blacksmith shop.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Have visited this place since I was a kid, but never taken the official tour until recently. It was amazing. Our tour guide was a wealth of information. My partner and I LOVE history and it was a really nice way to spend the afternoon. It's not an expensive tour, if you have an hour or two to spend in the past, please do!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank A_Miracle_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Well worth the time!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We visited the Village and we lucky enough to be the only ones there for the tour. Our guide was a well-informed older woman (sorry I can't remember her name) who spent as much or as little time as we wanted to view things. All buildings have been moved to this site and are well-preserved. There are 2 log cabins, a railway station, general store, school, church, large home of a wealthy attorney, fire station, and other buildings and equipment. I would certainly recommend this attraction for young and old alike. Steele County has a brand new museum next to the Village. We were not able to see the exhibit before it closed as we spent all our time in the Village.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank europewithKellynRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing! A must see!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We absolutely loved it!!! We spent a couple hours there while visiting owatonna from Illinois, we took our 5 year old daughter and almost 2 yr old son, and we all loved it, the kids were very interested and not bored at all, it was very cool to see how things used to be an learn some history too! I would recommend to all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vthomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Activities abound all year”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

There is something always happening at the Village of Yesteryear. In August, the Steele County Free Fair is underway and that is a fun time to visit. They have an authentic Rendevous of Trappers and Voyageurs in the fall. They also decorate for the holidays and have the High School Carolers perform. Check with the Chamber of Commerce or Village of Yesteryear directly to visit at a time that has extra entertainment or food being served.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tonnatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Need to make a reservation to see it unless it's fair time.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I thought this would be a neat way to spend an afternoon. Wrong. Unless the County Fair is going on, you need to make a reservation, which we did. What a disappointment! We spend $5.00 each just to see recreated "authentic" buildings in the Village of Yesteryear.
Want a nice way to spend some time in Owatonna, this isn't it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village of Yesteryear also viewed

 

Been to Village of Yesteryear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing