We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Room was okay, very few plug ins. All being used for lamps etc. pool was freezing! Did not feel like water heated at all. 5 year old that loves to swim and only stayed in pool for 10 minutes. Very disappointing as we chose hotels that he enjoys being able to swim.

Room Tip: , bottom level room convenient and some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Kelly L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is unfortunate that you did not completely enjoy this visit due to the condition of the pool facility. Despite this, I am happy to know that you found our rooms to be sufficient for your needs.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel was very easy to find right off the interstate. Walking in you're welcomed by a large and inviting front desk area. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was very roomy and well maintained. The furniture was modern and in good condition. The restaurant was waited by a really nice wait staff that made us feel very welcome. The food was average and the prices were decent. I felt that perhaps the restaurant might need a thorough cleaning but was not concerned for my food. The waterpark is a nice place for kids. Not having any kids with on the trip we only visited the hot tub area which was very nice and had plenty of room. Overall this was a nice place to stay either by yourself or with your family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepheggerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daren W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your staty. I have shared your comments concerning the restaurant with the restaurant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I've stayed at several hotels the last several months, however, my stays at hotels off of major interstates and smaller towns is limited. I have been impressed with Intercontinental Hotel Group's (IHG) revamp of the Holiday Inn franchise. This hotel mirrors what IHG strategy was all about. A well managed property with customer-oriented employees. The front desk staff made you feel welcomed and presented a clear and concise picture of the hotel and amenities. The rooms were inviting with a microwave and refrigerator in the unit. My room had updated linens and the new state of the art hotel mattress. A far cry fom the dumpy Ramada property, I had to stay in for a reunion, 3 weeks ago.The wait staff at their restaurant were professional and our bartender was very professional with noted efficiency of serving several of our group. The prices in the bar and restaurant for both refreshments and food was quite reasonable. This stay was for business. I am thinking about coming back withe the grandkids for a weekend in November to take advantage of their Serengetti pool facilities and slides. Again, a good experience, and so far, I am a believer in the new Holiday Inn image.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfside10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Fulfilled expectations for an overnight hotel stay including a fast check-in, clean rooms, good customer service, and restful sleep. We were here as part of a wedding reception and was impressed by the waitstaff. Didn't check out the restaurant or water park.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BadgerTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here in August and Found the property overall to be in need of a deep clean. Our room was ok but felt like it really wasn't clean. For example I dropped my phone between the bed and the nightstand and found it laying on wrappers and a hair tie. None were ours. There were spots on the walls and hair on the sheets. We were exhausted and just lived with it. Like others said, at night the property isn't secure. The back door was propped open. We closed it but it didn't matter, it was unlocked. The hallways were dark and smelly. The staff at the restaurant was the only bright spot. The food was nothing special. Note to manager, give the entire property a deep cleaning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJV32012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear jezabel27,

Thank you for your feedback. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. We are sorry our hotel fell short of your expectations this particular day. I have taken note of your comments regarding housekeeping. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. We will address these with the proper department to improve the quality and service that we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed here in July with my son and daughter. It is a pretty average holiday Inn. The water park is a good one for younger kids. The water park is relatively small -- so it works best for tweens and under. My 10 year old and 6 year old thought it was great. It is small enough, that a parent can pretty much sit back and relax and see the whole thing.

The room was clean. The hotel was well kept up.

There is no free breakfast, but my kids did eat for free -- the Sunday Am buffet was not great. We did enjoy dinner in the restaurant.

I would recommend for a quick getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNelson486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

loved the water park was awesome my son loved it although you couldn't check in til almost 4 pm we did cabels to pass the time away there is also a reptile and anphbin zoo close by where you can look at snakes lizerards and alligator. we got to take a picture with 2 animals but the hotel was a little high in price but the water park was well worth the extra money

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoAnna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owatonna
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Owatonna, MN
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Owatonna
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in Owatonna
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
12.6 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites Faribault, MN
12.3 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna

Address: 2365 NW 43rd St, Owatonna, MN 55060-5647
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range: £92 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna home of the Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park! Come experience the adventure! Our award winning hotel, located just 45 minutes south of Minneapolis/St. Paul and next to Cabela's, features 130 guest rooms and suites, including KidSuites! We offer amenities for business or pleasure! The Great Serengeti Indoor Water Park features the exciting Kilimanjaro Tube Slide, Python Body Slide, the relaxing Lazy Zambezi River, zero depth entry activity pool, water basketball and relaxing waterfall spa. The Lion's Den arcade features a large selection of the latest video games, as well as interactive games for adults and children of all ages. For the business traveler our guest rooms feature a spacious work desk. We offer high-speed wireless Internet and a business center. Our Meeting & Banquet facility features 5 meeting rooms with multiple room combinations for up to 400 people. Banquets and meetings at the Holiday Inn & Suites Owatonna feature personalized menu planning with a wide range of food and beverage selections available. For shopping, we're located adjacent to Cabela's - MN's 2nd largest tourist attraction, and the Medford Outlet Mall is only minutes away! Come experience the adventure at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Owatonna Hotel Owatonna
Owatonna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing