We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were on a leisurely ride through Minnesota, and elected to stay at the Country Inn & Suites in Owatonna. It was a pleasant stop. The hotel is in great shape, very close to the interstate and within walking distance to several restaurants. It's also right next door to a ten-plex movie theater - an unexpected bonus!

We were a bit surprised as we entered the room to see two queen beds that looked as if they had been trampled. It turns out the comforters on the bed were just a lumpy style, kind of encased in a cover. The beds turned out to be just fine.

The room itself was fine. Ours overlooked the theater parking lot and was very quiet. We didn't hear a peep from other guests in the hotel. The a/c unit was through-the wall with control on the unit. It was quiet and offered the option of a continuous low speed fan.

The bath was good, and included the favored hoop-style shower curtain.

Breakfast was good - it included mixed fruits, cereals, and my favorite fresh waffle maker.

The staff was outstanding in their service and friendliness! I would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are on busy streets, so no worries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We decided to stay here due to great past experiences with Country Inn and Suites. Just goes to show that each individual property is its own entity. The room was great, the pool was shallow, the breakfast was extremely simple and not very hot (even though we were down there right near the beginning of the service), and the front desk service was basic.

It seemed as if the front desk may have been overworked as they were a bit cranky towards any type of talking in the lobby. They continued to work, but you could see on the faces of the people, they did not like to be bothered by anyone in the lobby. It is a small lobby and can get loud with even basic conversations, but that should be a gathering area for families to be able to get out of their rooms. A little disappointing for this reason.

The location is perfect for the town as it has lots of basics around it and is convenient to the interstate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMIHospitality, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Jim M,
Thank you for your review of the Country Inn & Suites Owatonna. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the room and our location was perfect. I'm disappointed that our front desk staff was not more friendly and welcoming. For that I apologize. Customer service is extremely important to us and we will use your feedback as a training tool. Please allow us to impress you on your next visit to Owatonna.

Sincerely,
Kelly B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel has AMAZING SERVICE! Deanna, Jeff, Jenny & Holly all went out of their way to help us. Deanna & Jeff show the type of kindness that should be displayed around the world. Please stay at this hotel or any Country Inn & Suites if you have the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUPGIRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Joe the front desk attendant was very friendly and helpful!! He made it very welcoming to come to this hotel and cared to all our needs. The hotel was very clean and smelled wonderful. Very nice and welcoming all around.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honeymooners14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A family funeral brought us to the Country Inn and Suites. A family group traveling together required 4 rooms close to the interstate and this property was just right. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the hours for breakfast were convenient and the food options satisfied everyone's tastes. The quiet location was disrupted around 9am by a parking lot resurfacing project, but no one was annoyed or irritated by the work. If our travels require us to stay in this part of southern Minnesota again, we will definitely visit this property again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The reservation lady was very polite and courteous. The room was extremely clean and well maintained. The breakfast was also something to brag about and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was very close to restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Here is my complete review! Check in was super easy with their express check ins! I got in right away with no hassle. Upon check in there was also a large cookie jar and a big help-yourself penny candy jar, and it had my favorite candy in it! RootBeer Barrels!

You can tell that this hotel has been renovated. Renovated hotels are extreamly important to me because of the feel of the hotel. The rooms were well made up and very clean. I couldn't find one thing wrong, I can tell that the housekeepers work very hard.

Breakfast was the best I've had in ages. The rotating hot breakfast is what makes this one so unique. If you stay for more than one day, you won't have the same hot breakfast twice! Another nice feature about this breakfast is the build your own parfait bar. While other hotels offer you individual boring yogurt, here you can top your yogurt with fresh fruit!

If you want a great stay and a great breakfast this is the hotel to go to! Look no further if you're staying in Owatonna!

Room Tip: Join Carlson Club rewards! It's free and you can use the rewards for things like free nights, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aufenbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owatonna
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Owatonna
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 8 in Owatonna
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
16 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Faribault
16.6 mi away
Days Inn Faribault
Days Inn Faribault
#3 of 5 in Faribault
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna

Address: 130 Allan Avenue Southwest, Owatonna, MN 55060-2766
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range: £76 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "new" Country Inn & Suites Owatonna! We just recently completed a renovation which includes; remodeled guestrooms and lobby, expanded breakfast room, along with a new fitness center, business center and guest laundry. And, all of our rooms are now equipped with refrigerators, microwaves and flat screen TVs. We offer complimentary hot breakfast featuring fresh waffles, along with biscuits & gravy, sausage, eggs, hot and cold cereals, fruit, yogurt parfait, breads and pastries, juices, coffee, tea and milk. We also have an indoor pool and spa, free high speed wireless internet access and many restaurants are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Owatonna
Owatonna Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing