We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well...I've stayed in worst places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well...I've stayed in worst places”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

For a Microtel this location is a little on the lower quality side.

From the outside the building looks ok. The area is a little rougher looking with a truck dealer near by which for some reason likes to park their trucks in the hotel lot.

The lobby was kind of plain and featured a small fish tank on the desk with only a single goldfish in it nothing else. Kind of felt bad for the fish.

After getting checked in we pulled around back to go to the room. We found the door that you should have to use room key to enter was unlatched and does latch shut on its own.

Our room was located on the 3rd floor. The first impression once arriving to the floor was not good as the hallway was being used for old used mattress storage. Also the floor was hot, muggy and smelly.

Room was typical Microtel 2 bed layout. For the most part the room was ok just needs some good deep cleaning and maintenance. A/C unit was really dusty. There was a cigarette left on top of the dresser. The bathroom door didn't latch well. Small stains on the walls here and there as well as one on the ceiling. Nothing super horrible but not up to what you expect. We had an older tv and microwave, no fridge.

The room featured a safe with no key so it was useless. From reading other reviews you will see there is a sign at the desk about $1 safe charge. I'm not sure if you can get a key at the desk or what but my thought on the safe charge is that this just someone being very cheap. And some of the upkeep of the hotel shows that as well. It's just a buck but still. Just figure it in the whole rate and it would make the guest feel better.

Overall it's an ok hotel. But if you want a larger room, that's cleaner and has a flat screen tv, microwave, and fridge. Check out the Budget Host Inn like we did. The outside is older but the rooms are great. But the outside doesn't alway match the inside. Plus it was $15 cheaper!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ctd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    53
    86
    46
    29
See reviews for
98
40
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Audubon, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Nice motel for a reasonable price. While we weren't in the room very long, it was quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calumet, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here about 3 years ago. Certainly not like it used to be. Not updated like other Microtels. Our blanket had holes in it like something had chewed on it. Towels very scrawny. Breakfast had an unappetizing crock pot filled with what appeared to be sausage gravy. Think Wyndham needs to check this one out. For $80 + tax not a good value Other reviews I just read are spot on.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingYoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was initially relieved to find on TripAdvisor that Owatonna had a Microtel after we'd spent hours...and hours...driving through the state of Iowa and into Minnesota. Eyes red and bodies exhausted from a full day and night in the car, I assured my companion that Microtel would be a great place to crash for the night, as I'd stayed at Microtels before (in other locations) and always found them to be reasonably-priced, clean and very comfortable.

The outside of the hotel seemed up to par with the other Microtels I'd stayed in, but upon walking into the lobby, I could see that the interior was in stark contrast to the the good condition of the exterior.

It looked worn and there was an odd stale cigarette smell lingering about the check-in area. There was a note taped to the desk that the front desk attendant had left the desk for a few minutes and to use the lobby phone to call.

Once the front desk attendant arrived, we were given our room keys and directed to the elevators.

Immediately upon exiting the elevator we could see that the door to the room that had been assigned to us was open. Inside was a pair of jeans slung over the dented-in room safe attached to the wall. The room smelled strongly of stale cigarette smoke, and there were random objects strewn haphazardly about, and there were no sheets or pillows on the bed. It looked like a crime scene.

We went back downstairs and had to ring the desk attendant again. He apologized and said that the "police had been involved with some people" who'd stayed in that room recently and they had not come back to collect their belongings.

He quickly issued another key to a different room. When we opened the door to this room, my first thought was that if I wasn't so dead-tired I would have gone right back down to get my $$ back and stay at one of the other places.

I'd made it a point to request a non-smoking room when booking online, but was met with the same stale cigarette stench that had greeted us in the lobby.

There was a blood stain on the pillow case, the cover underneath the bedspread hthe a/c and heater unit (which worked intermittently) was full of grime and dust and what looked like mold along the vents. There were large dark scrapes on the wall near the bed...and speaking of the bed, it literally felt like someone had put a fitted sheet over a table.

The only area that seemed halfway cleaned was the bathroom. Everything else looked and smelled dingy. Disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLeigh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Owatonna hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Owatonna
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Owatonna
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Owatonna
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Owatonna
1.6 mi away
Oakdale Motel
Oakdale Motel
#6 of 8 in Owatonna
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Valu Stay Inn
Valu Stay Inn
#8 of 8 in Owatonna
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna
Address: 150 Saint John Dr, Owatonna, MN 55060-5067
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Owatonna
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Owatonna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Owatonna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Owatonna Hotel Owatonna
Microtel Inn And Suites Owatonna
Microtel Owatonna
Owatonna Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing