We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal place for a family to be together” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberlane Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Park Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timberlane Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Park Rapids
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ideal place for a family to be together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Our family loves this place. We have for many years now. Timberlane offers our family, which is spread out across the USA and has quite diverse tastes and interests, the opportunity to enjoy abundantly what we seek most of all -- being together. Our gatherings bring together 3 generations; the kids range from age 7 to 17, and everyone gives Timberlane the thumbs up. We appreciate many things about this resort: the peace & calm and the beautiful setting; the fact that we know that our kids can run around in a safe environment, even well beyond our line of sight; the many different activities we can pursue spontaneously, all of us together or in small groups, come rain or shine (and the space for solitude, when one seeks it); the comfortable lodgings and the quiet nights; the kindness and helpfulness of the owners and staff, and the friendly ambiance with other families at the resort. On a few occasions in recent years, we have put our heads together and pondered a change, perhaps trying a new place in the Rockies, for example, but our research always brings us back to Timberlane. It’s simply perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PicaPauAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I don't know if things have changed since these four reviews were written last year, but our stay was very good. We stayed in one of the villas with my in-laws, and I found this facility where we stayed to be very clean. It smelled clean, and all the cabinets and drawers were spotless. Unlike some of the other reviews, I found the furnishings to be actually very nice, and all the floors/carpets were clean as well. Comparing to a rival "resort" down the road, there is a 100% difference in cleanliness and updated interior. I also found the owners Lee and Cathy to be some of the nicest people I have met, and they were attentive to our concerns even as another family rented out almost the rest of the resort. Having been mistreated as a customer at another resort, I found the friendliness refreshing and a reason we will be returning. A couple of things that were not so good was an oven that didn't heat properly and a patio screen door that didn't slide very well and sometimes fell off, but if these were the worst of the stay, I can deal with that. Other things like not having garbage bags or oven mitts were mere inconveniences. When we let them know about something, a handyman or Lee himself came within an hour to take a look. They even come around to see if the BBQ grill needs to be cleaned out. While I know some of the cabins can be quite pricey, with my in-laws and my family sharing one of the villas, the cost per family was VERY economical when compared to the other resort mentioned above. We actually paid about $500 less per family than staying in the run-down shoddy rival. Yes, the pool area leaves less to be desired as well, but as nice an amenity as this was, I came to the north woods to enjoy the outdoor experience so only used the pool to cool down on a hot day once. There seemed to be a lot of activities to do in the lodge and on the grounds which next year we will have to do more of. We will definitely be returning next year, and hopefully many years to come.

Room Tip: Villas are the best value if you have multiple families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill_K945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Years ago this was a great resort and it still has so much potential. The major problem is that the owners seem to have stopped caring. They don't seem to genuinely care about any concerns we have brought to their attention over the years. We have been coming to the resort for several years and have stayed in a few different cabins. As mentioned in the other reviews the furnishings in the cabins haven't been updated since we have been coming to the resort. They are worn out and need to be replaced but the owners won't do anything even though they raise the rent every year. The amenities outside the cabins aren't any better - they are the same every year and need to be replaced. The kayaks have holes in them and fill with water which makes them basically unusable. The wood on the docks is rotting and a section of the dock we were using for our boat was completely loose and would come off with a strong wind gust. The lodge is dark and dingy and smelly. The indoor pool reminds me of something you would see in a horror movie - watch out co-eds, there is a masked man with a hatchet lurking outside! This resort would be a fine option if it was priced at a 75% discount - it just isn't worth the high price they charge. There are much better value options available in the area. We will gladly return - once they get some new owners who care about running a resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

My extended family and I have stayed at this resort for over 10 years. While the price has increased every year, the accommodations have deteriorated every year.

We’ve stayed in many of the air conditioned cabins over the years, so this review covers more than one and is general commentary. The cabin furnishings are worn with torn upholstery. We have had experiences with shower curtains covered in mildew. The bed linens are worn and pilled, and the elastic no longer keeps the fitted sheets on the bed. There are ample dishes and pots and pans, but don’t count on a working can opener or a knife or pizza cutter that will actually slice. The carpet is stained and torn in some places. The appliances are hit and miss. Some burners work while others don’t and the ovens are very slow to heat. The refrigerators only keep a few items cool, certainly not enough food for a family for even a few days.

Outside the cabin isn’t much better. The water amenities haven’t been maintained or updated. One kayak and the paddleboats usually have too much water inside them to stay comfortably afloat. There is one kayak and one canoe that actually work. The website lists water bugs but I haven’t seen them out in years. The tennis court surface is damaged in many places, and not possible to play an actual match. The playground equipment is acceptable.

As for an indoor swimming pool, it is in a shack where the paint is peeling from the ceiling. The whirlpool is absolutely gross and we haven’t used it in years. The lodge is dated and a bit smelly.

I guess the final straw for our family is the owner’s complete indifference to guest’s comfort, safety and pleasure. When presented with something that doesn’t work they are more interested in lip service than actual service. We won't be returning to this resort. We love the Minnesota lake experience and the Park Rapids area and encourage you not to pass it over completely. We would just highly recommend that you try another resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NDgal0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandan, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Refrigerator was not cooling properly. When brought to the attention of the owner, he stated that it was overfull. The problem continued for two days, at which time we insisted on a repair technician. Upon checkout, the repair bill was given to us to pay.
Furniture in cabins is worn out; tears in cushions. Carpet is torn and dirty. Shower curtains and sheets have not been replaced in over a decade. Price increases by approximately $150.00 each year, but nothing on the resort has been updated. Docks are in need of repair. Paint peeling in the indoor pool facility ceiling and walls.
We will not return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kgma1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

To begin with, we have a fantastic view of the lake. We're close to the water and there is a dock just down the hill. We love how big our deck is and love to sit and watch the sun set. The beach area is nice; it has deck chairs, playground, slide and small trampoline in the water, a canoe, little kayak-y things & paddle boats. It's close to town, for all of those things you forgot, but you don't feel close to a town. I feel like we have our privacy and haven't had problems with noisy neighbors neighbors (does that mean we're the noisy neighbors?).

The furnishings are nothing special and they could do with an update of the bedding, but those things haven't bothered us. The tv is about 19", but it is the lake. There is a fire place in our cabin, but we can't have a camp fire outside, which is disappointing. There are a whole lot of daddy long legs outside of our cabin and sometimes inside. Our group has a second cabin and there were 2 wasp nests on it. The management didn't seem concerned that one of their guests had been bitten, but they did come deal with it pretty quickly. Our cabin has no air conditioning. I'm not sure why they don't put in a cheap window unit, because all of the windows (without blinds) let in ALOT of heat on a sunny day. There are cabins that have air conditioning. If you are planning on cooking, bring your favorite tools. I would especially recommend bringing sharp knives and tupperware. Pots and pans were plentiful enough and there was even some grilling utensils, but don't forget to bring dish soap and sponges. No WiFi.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_thor_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Park Rapids
2.5 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
22.9 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#1 of 8 in Walker
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Mississippi Headwaters Hostel
Mississippi Headwaters Hostel
#2 of 2 in Lake Itasca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Bridge Inn
Red Bridge Inn
#2 of 7 in Park Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberlane Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberlane Resort

Property: Timberlane Resort
Address: 18454 Dayspring Dr, off Highway 71, Park Rapids, MN 56470-6507
Region: United States > Minnesota > Park Rapids
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Park Rapids
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing