We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort and owners”
Review of Bear Paw Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Park Rapids
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Paw Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bear paw resort for the first time in September of this year and had such a wonderful stay. In fact, we loved it so much we will be back with our family in July 2014. The lake is such a good size to enjoy not only fishing but also the water sports that our grandchildren enjoy. We are so impressed with the lay out and organization of the resort. They have every thing a family would ever need. Lots of extras! The fire pits are worth the drive just to see. Very different, very neat! Joel and Tracy are so welcoming and friendly. We do like that they balance that with running a tight ship while keeping a homey atmostphere. They both are so willing to make ones stay enjoyable and relaxing. The cabins are so well laid out.....roomy and decorated with neat and woodsy touches, without being over done. Comfortable beds for a good nights sleep. We are so impressed with all the storage for our "things". Not found in most other cabins we have stayed at over the many years. We have been to many resorts and this one ranks very high with us. J & B

Room Tip: They have something for every taste and need
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bonnie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

J & B thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you found your first stay at Bear Paw to be everything you were looking for in a family vacation that you are returning this summer with your extended families. Glad you love the fire pits as we love the extra cozy seating they provide. Nothing like a campfire at the lake under the stars. You will have so much to look forward to this summer sharing our Resort with your little ones. See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Bear Paw Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

We've been coming to Bear Paw for almost as many years as Tracey and Joel have owned the resort. They are wonderful people and hard workers at providing great accommodations and a good family experience while respecting the natural environment. They are continually updating cabins, landscaping, equipment, etc. Couldn't ask for more! We've enjoyed socializing with both Tracey and Joel, and their kids during our stays; they provide endless educational experiences about the natural environment and great conversations around the bonfires in the evenings. Tracey's photos and Joel's willingness to help "fix things" are a plus! Good fishing too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you Sue for such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you have found our Resort very accommodating for your family and enjoy everything as much as we do. We always strive to offer the best for our guests along with the Nature and Environment being the bonus :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

For 25-years and counting, we've been having a family reunion every July in the Park Rapids area with my wife's entire family -- usually 6 families and 20-30 people! Due to the closing of the resort we previously stayed at, we switched to Bear Paw in 2006 to continue our cherished tradition. The owners,Tracey and Joel Hays, had recently purchased a resort that, frankly, had fallen into some neglect. What an amazing turnover job they have done! They've beautifully renovated all the cabins, landscaped the property with gorgeous gardens and flowers (while respecting the "natural beauty" of the area), added plenty of playground and water toys for the kids -- in short, they've created a small northern Minnesota paradise! Those of us who are a certain "vintage" may remember the apt description of R&B great James Brown as the "Hardest working man in show business." Well, that makes Tracey and Joel the "Hardest working couple in the hospitality business!" And hospitality is what really sets them apart from the rest: while it's true that Bear Paw Resort, Two Inlets lake and the Park Rapids area are enough reason to visit, it's the "extra mile" that Tracey and Joel go to ensure that all their guests have the best vacation possible that keeps our family coming back every year. Tracey and Joel have made us feel as if we're an extended part of their family, just as we consider them an extended part of ours. I can virtually guarantee that anyone who spends a week with the Hays family at Bear Paw will come away with the same impression.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank whaleypatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you so much for a very meaningful review. It is fun to look back with guests like your family that have been with us from our beginning and have enjoyed and appreciated all of our renovations and improvements. We look forward to providing your family of generations to come many more vacations here at Bear Paw Resort :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My family has been coming up for 5 years now, and it just keeps getting better every year. We have enjoyed watching not only the resort grow and mature, but Joel, Tracey and the family as well. This is the ultimate place to just relax, enjoy nature, and be treated to a beautiful "retreat experience". Plenty of options to stay busy all day, or just sit with a good book and enjoy the sights and smells of the "Up North" legendary experience.
Thank you Hayes Family, from the Nothnagel Family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DennyN34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you so much Nothnagel family for a wonderful review and sharing your vacation experience with us. Yes we have watched our children grow and enjoy catching up year to year and we are thrilled that you find our "home" a "retreat" feel to kick back and relax and enjoy the nature and surroundings of the Northwoods. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you next summer :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The resort is one of the very few places left in that area where you can bring your RV unit and camp. A few years ago a lot of the RV parks went to having ONLY seasonal parks and Bear Paw still maintained a spot for us to come with our 5th wheel. We have been coming to the Park Rapids area for many years so that we can visit the wife's brother that lives there. Joel and Tracy have continued to improve the property each year that they have owned the resort. There is lots of things for the family to enjoy while on vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Manager at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We used to be the traveling RVer too and also found it hard to find a nice Transient Campsite that was close to the Lake and included all the Resort amenities at the same time. There aren't many of those around anymore. We are happy that we have been able to accommodate you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hi I'm Thom. My family has been going to Bear Paw for the last three years, and there has never been a dull moment. There has always been plenty to do and plenty of places to do nothing. I am an early riser and the morning mist on the lake is like looking at a new piece of art every morning. There was one morning I was able to watch a Bald Eagle snatch a fish out of the lake. It seems cliché until you actually see it. During the day fishing and playing with my children in such a clean and safe environment makes memories that will beat Alzheimer's. At night the fire pits are a perfect place to laugh once again about days happenings. If you are a night owl, the meteor showers in August this year were better than the 4th of July.
We have stayed in three different cabins at Bear Paw. All of the cabins have been clean and well organized. Well stocked with kitchenware and comfortable furniture. Not that I recommend staying inside at all, but if you have to be inside, it is not a bad place to be.
The owners, Joel and Tracey have a good thing going. I think their customer service is first rate. They are always willing to help and serve my family's needs. I truly feel they are focused on making sure the vacationers are vacationing. I like how they politely let my children know the boundaries and expectations of their resort. As a school teacher I know how important boundaries are for children.
I cannot say enough about Bear Paw and Joel and Tracey. I love the place. I want to go back every summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank HowdyThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you Thom for such a nice review sharing your vacation experience here at Bear Paw. You are right about the amazing wildlife sightings and just taking it "all in" with the wonderful Northwoods peaceful surroundings. We never grow tired of it. We are also happy that you find our Resort very clean and accommodating for your family and we look forward to seeing you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Bear Paw, cabins were very, very clean, furnished very well. Loved the peace and quite. Fish went into seclusion the week we were there, but hope to have better luck next time. Enjoyed Joel and Tracey, very accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Manager at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and sorry the fish took a vacation at the same time. We are happy that you found everything here at Bear Paw clean and accommodating and enjoyed the peacefulness and beauty of this area in the Northwoods. Thanks again for taking the time to review we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Park Rapids
10.6 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#3 of 8 in Park Rapids
87 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mississippi Headwaters Hostel
Mississippi Headwaters Hostel
#2 of 2 in Lake Itasca
5 reviews
10.7 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#4 of 8 in Park Rapids
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Eagle Bay Lodge
Eagle Bay Lodge
#6 of 17 in Park Rapids
3 reviews
10.1 mi away
Red Bridge Inn
Red Bridge Inn
#1 of 7 in Park Rapids
13 reviews
9.8 mi away
Smokey Hills Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Paw Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Paw Resort

Address: 31926 County Highway 50, (Becker County), Park Rapids, MN 56470-4063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Park Rapids
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Park Rapids
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned resort with immaculate air conditioned lakeside cabins and a fleet of quality rental boats located in the Northwoods providing the opportunity for your family to reconnect and make priceless memories that will last a lifetime. We have many fun FREE activities available for all ages here at Bear Paw Resort such as: exciting water toys, huge playground, shuffleboard, horseshoes and tetherball. Step into Bear Paw Lodge and enjoy our Restaurant with our made-to-order menu including Bear Paw's delicious signature-crust Pizza and mouthwatering Wings served with specialty sauces, just to name a few. Savor a Latté, Mocha or Cappuccino at our Coffee Den created with quality espresso paired with freshly-baked Cinnamon or Caramel rolls. To complete your dining experience, we have a full line of scrumptious Premium Blue Bunny sundaes, cones, malts and shakes at the Ice Cream Cave. Also at the Lodge, you will find indoor games, souvenir shopping, bait, ice, pop and a Fitness Center. After going fishing for that first fish fry, you can unwind at a cozy campfire while being serenaded by loons as the gorgeous sunset melts into the pristine water. There is something for EVERYONE at our laid-back "Mom-and-Pop" Resort providing an "all-inclusive" relaxing vacation at the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing