We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bear Paw Resort
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 Park Rapids(Park Rapids)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
C'mon Inn Park Rapids(Park Rapids)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids(Park Rapids)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/06
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
140
10
1
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
10
1
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater toysfamily vacationnext yearfish cleaning houseping pongnorthern lightswingsgreat additioncinnamon rollsitasca state parkall agesget awaylook forwardcounting the daysbedroom cabingreat vacationbeautiful flowers
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I spent a week here with my extended family. First, it's right on the lake which is a great amenity as the previous two resorts we had stayed in had highly traveled roads between the cabin and the lake. The cabins were clean and well maintained which made it feel like a home away from home. There are too many amenities to list here but some of the highlights were numerous water toys, canoes, family games, and laundry facilities on site. Everything you need is in the cabins and a bonus is AC for those hot Minnesota days. Joel and Tracy work very hard to maintain the resort and go out of their way to make you feel like family. We were also impressed with the efforts to restore the shoreline and protect the nesting loons. We were lucky to get a reservation because families return year after year. There is no question why they continue to return and we plan to do the same!

Room Tip: It is a family environment with lots of activity. If you prefer a more private atmosphere, the higher number cabins are a little less busy but still within reach of all the amenities
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review. We are so happy that all of our amenities fulfilled your vacation needs and provided plenty of fun things to do for your family. Finding a Resort without a road going through it was one of our personal requirements because for one it is safer for the children that love to roam freely throughout and two it is much quieter and more private. Glad you enjoyed the "bonus" of AC ~ it's nice to cool down for a great night sleep ;) Looking forward to your return stay at Bear Paw.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Last summer was our first at Bear Paw Resort, and we'll be coming back this June! Our group usually rents 3-4 cabins for the week. The grounds are well kept! You can tell the owners work hard at keeping it that way, toward the end of our stay there were some heavy rain storms, and they were out first thing in the morning raking and grooming the grounds. The fishing is outstanding here! My husband won the family fishing trophy last year for catching a 27 inch Northern Pike. Ann there were a lot a close contenders! Last year they had some loons and baby loons that were fun to see from a distance! The beach area is wonderful for the toddlers! They could stay there all day long and play in the sand with the beach toys they have, they also have a little park with swings and slides too, and a sand volley ball court ! We all enjoyed the ice cream on father's day they provided us! The cabin we have (Loon) and will have again is a good size and cozy, we all wish it had 2 bathrooms but we managed just fine! The kitchen area is big with a large dining table to fit all of us. They have a small tv in the room, which we barely used since there was so much to do. And Wifi, which is always a nice thing to have even though again we didn't use it too much, but it's sure handy to have if needed. They have laundry facilities, and a fish cleaning house. Everything you need. It's close to the headwaters state park, park rapids, and other tourist shops/attractions! We're looking forward to another relaxing weekend at Bear Paw in June 2014!

Room Tip: Check out their website for pictures of the rooms!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you Ashley for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled that Bear Paw provided everything your families were looking for in a vacation for all ages. We appreciate you recognizing the detail from our hard work so we can continue to offer the best for your vacation. We are looking forward to seeing you all this summer ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bear paw resort for the first time in September of this year and had such a wonderful stay. In fact, we loved it so much we will be back with our family in July 2014. The lake is such a good size to enjoy not only fishing but also the water sports that our grandchildren enjoy. We are so impressed with the lay out and organization of the resort. They have every thing a family would ever need. Lots of extras! The fire pits are worth the drive just to see. Very different, very neat! Joel and Tracy are so welcoming and friendly. We do like that they balance that with running a tight ship while keeping a homey atmostphere. They both are so willing to make ones stay enjoyable and relaxing. The cabins are so well laid out.....roomy and decorated with neat and woodsy touches, without being over done. Comfortable beds for a good nights sleep. We are so impressed with all the storage for our "things". Not found in most other cabins we have stayed at over the many years. We have been to many resorts and this one ranks very high with us. J & B

Room Tip: They have something for every taste and need
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank bonnie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

J & B thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy that you found your first stay at Bear Paw to be everything you were looking for in a family vacation that you are returning this summer with your extended families. Glad you love the fire pits as we love the extra cozy seating they provide. Nothing like a campfire at the lake under the stars. You will have so much to look forward to this summer sharing our Resort with your little ones. See you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We've been coming to Bear Paw for almost as many years as Tracey and Joel have owned the resort. They are wonderful people and hard workers at providing great accommodations and a good family experience while respecting the natural environment. They are continually updating cabins, landscaping, equipment, etc. Couldn't ask for more! We've enjoyed socializing with both Tracey and Joel, and their kids during our stays; they provide endless educational experiences about the natural environment and great conversations around the bonfires in the evenings. Tracey's photos and Joel's willingness to help "fix things" are a plus! Good fishing too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you Sue for such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you have found our Resort very accommodating for your family and enjoy everything as much as we do. We always strive to offer the best for our guests along with the Nature and Environment being the bonus :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

For 25-years and counting, we've been having a family reunion every July in the Park Rapids area with my wife's entire family -- usually 6 families and 20-30 people! Due to the closing of the resort we previously stayed at, we switched to Bear Paw in 2006 to continue our cherished tradition. The owners,Tracey and Joel Hays, had recently purchased a resort that, frankly, had fallen into some neglect. What an amazing turnover job they have done! They've beautifully renovated all the cabins, landscaped the property with gorgeous gardens and flowers (while respecting the "natural beauty" of the area), added plenty of playground and water toys for the kids -- in short, they've created a small northern Minnesota paradise! Those of us who are a certain "vintage" may remember the apt description of R&B great James Brown as the "Hardest working man in show business." Well, that makes Tracey and Joel the "Hardest working couple in the hospitality business!" And hospitality is what really sets them apart from the rest: while it's true that Bear Paw Resort, Two Inlets lake and the Park Rapids area are enough reason to visit, it's the "extra mile" that Tracey and Joel go to ensure that all their guests have the best vacation possible that keeps our family coming back every year. Tracey and Joel have made us feel as if we're an extended part of their family, just as we consider them an extended part of ours. I can virtually guarantee that anyone who spends a week with the Hays family at Bear Paw will come away with the same impression.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank whaleypatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearPawResort, Owner at Bear Paw Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you so much for a very meaningful review. It is fun to look back with guests like your family that have been with us from our beginning and have enjoyed and appreciated all of our renovations and improvements. We look forward to providing your family of generations to come many more vacations here at Bear Paw Resort :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews