We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Park Rapids
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Good clean and basic motel, like all the AmericInns we have stayed in. Good location for our mini-vacation to Itasca State Park. Basic breakfast available but we always bring our own basic cereal/yogurt.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinnpr, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay. We look forward to accommodating you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We've stayed at many hotels and this was by far the filthiest. The bathroom floor and toilet were disgusting and the entire shower floor perimeter was covered with what appeared to be mold. The bathroom floor and carpet were so dirty that we kept trying to figure out how our feet and socks were getting so dirty. I wiped up the bathroom floor with a washcloth and the washcloth was covered with filth. We took pictures as we had never seen such a dirty hotel room. I don't think the room was cleaned the entire week we stayed. Housekeeping brought us supplies but did not clean. All used cups and glasses were left where they were found. All hotels in town were full the entire time we stayed or we would have moved from this hotel immediately. We stayed because we had no other options with our daughter requiring a handicapped room.
We stayed at this hotel with our handicapped, wheelchair-bound daughter. The sidewalk was heaved up and we nearly broke her wheels on her chair every time we left or returned to the building. There is only one ramp for the entire building to get a wheelchair or luggage cart up. Several times cars were parked in front of the ramp so we had to lift a 200 lb. wheelchair up onto the sidewalk.
Staff was so rude and lazy. I asked for a blanket and was told no, we don't have any. Asked for a sheet and was told the same thing. We have stayed at many hotels and never complain, but this place is outrageous. We've stayed at some very nice hotels for the price of this place that is filthy.
We spent a lot of money so our daughter could vacation and visit with family members who were staying at a cabin in the area. We're not picky, never complain, and only want a clean room and a hotel who respects the needs of the disabled. That was not the case in this hotel!

Room Tip: Your stay will be a challenge if you are in a wheelchair!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinnpr, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

I'm sorry you feel your stay was less than you expected. I am looking into the problems you had and am taking steps to improve the before mentioned issues

The entry way and handicap accessibility is something we are working on, I know this does not help wit h your stay but your insight will help us to find a solution that will work for others. I am sorry for the inconvenience it caused you and your family.

Our housekeepers don't throw out used cups because in the past there has been times when peoples contact lenses or other things have been thrown away on accident so I am sorry for any confusion there.

I am very sorry you felt the staff was rude during your stay. I will be looking into this as I want all guests to feel welcomed and as though they are in a warm and inviting atmosphere. We may need to make some staff changes if this is how our guests are being treated. This was not the case for you during your stay and for that I am truly sorry.

We did credit you back for the problems that you faced. We do try to take care of problems if it is within our control and we are aware of it right away.

Again I apologize for any inconvenience which you experienced . We are dedicated to providing the highest standards of service for our guest and I can assure you we will do everything we can to make this happen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here as a mini vacation in this tourist town, Park Rapids MN. Unimpressive. While it was an ok room, it was not worth the money. Typical Americinn, needs a remodel or refresh. Unfortunately the town doesn't offer any quality hotels so the choices are limited. Be sure to get to breakfast on time or you will go hungry, as they lock it down at exactly 10 AM!
Rooms were avg, need some paint, bathroom needs some touch up as well.
I stay in a lot of hotels for business and this was not a great place to have a get away.

Room Tip: We had upgraded room but it was not much better than their average room, but on the hgh side for Ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinnpr, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your views on your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear you thought our breakfast was closed up too early. We try to accommodate all of our guests by having breakfast from 6 am until 10 am. Unfortunately during your stay we were too efficient in getting the breakfast area cleaned up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Out dated needs up grade. breakfast good room clean but needs up graded.
Stool in bath is like sitting on the floor. towels could be thicker . the staff was very helpful they did there best to please very helpful.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinnpr, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our staff. When we replace our toilets we will be getting the taller models. It has been brought to our attention by some guests that the current facilities can be difficult for some guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Breakfast was poor: OJ watered down, peanut butter, cream cheese and maple syrup were just plain bad, Noisy room as we could hear everyone coming and going from the side door outside our room , Dirty carpets, and no smoke alarm, staff didn't care to correct any of the above.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank R2D2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinnpr, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

I am so sorry to hear your stay was less than you desired. I know when you checked out you informed the front desk your smoke detector had started beeping when you checked in and the front desk staff that night had taken it out. I'm sorry she did not replace it right away but we do have a building wide fire alarm as well as the individual smoke detectors. I can only assume she thought she was doing the right thing by not bothering you because it was late. This certainly was not meant to disrupt your stay. As for the breakfast items you mentioned we are always welcome to input on their taste, I will keep this in mind when we order the breakfast groceries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

"Camp" during the day and sleep in total comfort at night! PLUS you have a perfect indoor pool (and bowling across the street) for bad weather back up! Super friendly and helpful staff who actually care about you and your family! Absolutely excellent and very affordable! Our kids want to go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Kari J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinnpr, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank You for your kind words! We are happy the entire family had a good stay. Even though we know you wont be back right away we look forward to accommodating your family in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great hotel, nice pool as well. Even though there was a problem with over-booking rooms they were able to provide a solution at no additional cost to us which was acceptable to us! The front desk person was AWESOME!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Joleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americinnpr, Front Office Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words Joleen. Sorry for the mix up but we are happy we could come up with a solution. I hope you enjoyed passing family traditions on to your grandchildren. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Park Rapids
0.7 mi away
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
C'mon Inn Park Rapids
#2 of 8 in Park Rapids
87 reviews
24.4 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#2 of 7 in Walker
408 reviews
24.4 mi away
Country Inn Walker
Country Inn Walker
#1 of 7 in Walker
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Walker Hotel
Walker Hotel
#3 of 7 in Walker
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Park Rapids
Super 8 Park Rapids
#4 of 8 in Park Rapids
222 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Bridge Inn
Red Bridge Inn
#1 of 7 in Park Rapids
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids

Address: 1501 1st St E, Park Rapids, MN 56470-6462
Region: United States > Minnesota > Park Rapids
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Park Rapids
Price Range: £83 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Park Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing