We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Expensive”
Review of Paradise Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pennington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paradise Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennington
United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice But Expensive”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The cabin was beautiful, clean, and well stocked with dishes, pots, pans, kitchen utensils, etc. Other than food, all you will need to bring is towels. The beach area is very small but there are lots of toys and paddle boats for the kids with a few beach chairs and an umbrellas for parents to sit and relax while the kids play. The water trampoline was a big hit with my family. The lodge is very nice with a restaurant and bar. They also sell small items incase you forget something at home. Mary and especially Wade are friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.

My only complaint after a week at Paradise Resort is our bill. I felt as though we were nickeled and dimed. After a huge base rate for a cabin that sleeps up to 14, there were extra charges per person after the sixth person - even though half the people in our party were under the age of 12. Seven days at Paradise Resort cost us nearly as much as 10 days in a vacation home a mile away from Disney World. In addition, doing laundry is $4 a load and one of the dryers does not work well so you will end up having to pay for two cycles.

All in all a nice place for a family vacation, just be prepared to pay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We are first time renters here at Wade's and Mary's lovely resort. We are having just a wonderful time as we are enjoying the brand new Cabin #10 with the beautiful custom lodge pole furniture crafted by Wade and decorating by Mary. Wow! What a great combination. Everything is exactly what we had anticipated and expected. As they continue to expand and improve their resort it will be even better with the years to come.
We feel very lucky to have happened upon their resort in our search and are very appreciative of the beautifully appointed cabin and the beautiful clear lake. We even have the added bonus (no extra charge) of hearing and seeing the loons. Now that is fun!
We would recommend this highly to anyone seeking a relaxing place that is beautiful and well maintained.
Thanks to Mary and Wade! We hope to make a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyhandy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed in the Northern Nook (cabin 3) while at Paradise Resort. This was our first time to this resort, but it will not be our last! This resort is the nicest one that we have ever encountered while vacationing in northern MN. Being there felt more like home than at a cabin. This cabin was exceptionally clean, and the decor was beautiful. The pride of ownership of this resort is everywhere, from the beautifully landscaped grounds to the cabins, and the lodge...nothing has been overlooked. We rented their newest pontoon and enjoyed that not only for the great fishing every morning and some evenings, but also for the granddaughters to go tubing. We had the pleasure of having their Walleye dinner on our last night there and that only convinced us that next year we will do more dinners at the lodge...it was delicious! Wade and Mary were wonderful to deal with, and went out of their way to ensure that we had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Have been vacationing in the Bemidji area for close to 15 years and this was our first stay on Moose Lake. In fact, we were lucky enough to be the first guests in the newly built and fully furnished cabin 10. Wow! We were impressed! Definitely not a "cabin" -- a gorgeous lake home. Mary and Wade really hit a home run with this unit. Nicest place I have ever stayed up north. Everything was top-notch. Right by the kids' beach and perfect for our 10 and 13 year old boys, who loved playing in the water and on the hydro bikes, paddle boats and kayak. Fun fishing off the dock. Oldest son caught and released 40 bluegills his first try. Largemouth bass, perch and northern pike trolling and casting around the lake from the small Lund we rented. Nice that they have a lodge on site where you can get a meal and a beer and relax. Overall we had an excellent time and felt that this resort was a good value, quiet and a quality "up north" experience. One word of caution is that it's located down 9 miles of gravel roads and if there is rain, they can become quite rutted. If you have an SUV, no problem. If you have a sedan, be careful or don't venture into town unless it's dry.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This may have been one of the most relaxing vacations, ever. Mary and Wade were attentive, but not overbearing. They made sure I had everything I needed or wanted. Any questions were answered and requests were quickly seen to. The cabin was clean, well equipted, and nicely maintained. The lake is mostly private and, therefore, very quiet. I am sure this resort is great for the fisherman, as they also have a stocked bait room. For a photographer, this place was ideally situated. Lots of pictures of the lake and the surrounding area; but also located for easy drives to Itasca State Park, Lake Bemidji State Park, national forest trails, and county parks. Animals, birds, plants, flowers, butterflies, dragonflies, etc were all in abundance.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txsbbtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We have been coming here for 5 or 6 years now and have just the most fun at the resort, Wade and Mary have the best vacation spot ever, you can swim in the lake and play on the toys or go fising and catch basket loads of fish or you can just relax at the lodge and watch the lake with one of your favorite beverages. It is so peace full and relaxing, Wade and Mary keep it so neat and clean the most fun you will have ever.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtpork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MooseLakevisitor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

This is the best family get away- it can be camping/roughing it or let Mary cook some of the best pizza in MN for you. The toys at the resort are great for kids and adults.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank MooseLakevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pennington
17.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bemidji
20.6 mi away
Best Western Bemidji Inn
18.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bemidji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Quality Inn Bemidji
Quality Inn Bemidji
#8 of 10 in Bemidji
100 reviews
19.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Bemidji
25.0 mi away
Chase on the Lake
Chase on the Lake
#2 of 7 in Walker
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort

Property: Paradise Resort
Address: Highway 39, Pennington, MN 56663-9002
Region: United States > Minnesota > Pennington
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pennington
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing