We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep Coming Back For More!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pequot Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clamshell Beach - Cottages on Whitefish
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Keep Coming Back For More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

A yearly trip to the Whitefish Chain has become a family tradition. After staying at different resorts each of those trips and not quite found what we were looking for, we have finally found that in Clamshell Beach Resort! Whew!

We have children so the long list of amenities is wonderful and the two pools are just an added bonus ( even Memorial Weekend when the weather doesn't cooperate and the heated pool is always open then). An abundance of lake toys, canoes, paddle boat and kayaks are always available.

Each year we return, there is always something new or new cabin. Everything is furnished beautifully and kept very clean.

The owners, Lisa and Dave are helpful, knowledgable about the area and want to help make your stay everything you want it to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKate27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Unforgettable vacation with enough to do for everyone! The NEW cabins at Clam Shell Beach are roomy, clean, made with high quality construction (can't hear the person in the next room), have top-of-the-line appliances, A/C, and wonderful decor--right down to the hand-painted birch trees on the wall. But not only are the cabins modern and beautiful, the resort and beach area are kept clean and well-stocked with boats, chairs, and outdoor toys. The Lodge is a fun place to be with food, snacks, games, and a little store. We reserved the bonfire pit one evening and a pile of firewood was waiting. A gorgeous view of the lake; a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Choose a modern cabin on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123CasualTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Went to the website to research the property and decided to stay. They put us in an OLD very outdated cabin when the website really only shows the new updated condo's. It was very expensive for what we got and very misleading. They need to revamp those cabins especially for what they are charging for them. The pool was really nice though, and the beach was fine. It is a nice fishing lake and they have docks for your boat. There are many options around the area, so we won't be back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnysunfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clamshellbeach, Owner at Clamshell Beach - Cottages on Whitefish, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
All our guests choose their individual cottages and confirmation letters detail the accommodations they have reserved. We are proud of the detail we put into our website and provide virtual tours of all the cottages. Each of our cottages are different and some guests prefer granite countertops and slate flooring while others prefer the cozy feel of our classic cottages which are just feet from the water. We are glad you enjoyed the pool and beach and hope we can accommodate you again - there is nothing better than staying on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We rented a small "Classic Cottage" on the beach for a week';s vacation. Accommodations were clean, neat and although a little dated was what you would expect for a "classic lakeside cottage", knotty pine interior and northwoods theme. The ceiling fans in all the bedrooms were a lifesaver on hot nights! Remember to bring towels as they are not provided, bed linens are. The beach had very nice sand and was extremely clean. (We saw staff raking the beach daily of goose poop and other debris.) Lots of chairs on the beach and sand toys for the kids. There was always kayaks and canoes available to take out and a large inflatable trampoline in the water for the bigger kids. The staff brings ice cream down to the beach on Mondays for the guests and there is a fishing contest for the kids another day. Life jackets are provided free and there is a nice bait shack to get your nightcrawlers or minnows.

The pools were very nice for kids, especially for little ones. The playgrounds were adequate and the grounds were neat and well cared for. Our children opted not to participate in the kids club but it looked like the group was always having fun and the staff seemed very professional and attentive to the kids. It would be worth the $25 a week per child to join in the fun!

If we had one complaint it would be that we did feel that there is a lean towards the more upscale renters at this resort. After speaking with the owner he said that the eventual plan is to tear down the older cottages and build larger luxury condo style buildings such as those already on the property. I think that's a shame because not everyone needs granite countertops and whirlpool spa tubs at the lake! A bonus of the classic cottages is that they are right on the water, so if you want the classic cottage vacation hurry up and rent now before they are gone!

I would recommend this resort especially if you have children as they are very family friendly. When you check in they write your family names and kids ages on a board in the lodge. I nice touch to see where everyone is coming from and who that nice family is you met at the beach!

Room Tip: The Classic Cottages are right on the water and have the best access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Some friends and I have stayed at Clam Shell twice a year over the past three or four years, both Spring and Fall to scrapbook. We have stayed in two different cabins- both are well appointed, darling, and comfortable and SPOTLESS. I can not tell you how remarkably clean and fresh they are! The owners are on site, and clearly have high standards and care about their guests. We have never been dissapointed, and are always well cared for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakeCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed at this resort and would recommend it to others. We stayed over the New Year holiday in one of the larger, upscale units. VERY nice and VERY clean. Beds were comfortable, kitchen was well stocked, and considering the cold weather the gas fireplace was wonderful! We were a large group of 6 adults and 5 kids and there was plenty of room and bathrooms for all. We chose to go snow tubing and XC skiing while we were there, and my daughter did a little scrapbooking in the lodge. Some restaurants were open, and we found enough to suit us. We would recommend this resort to others for a winter retreat.

Room Tip: If traveling in the winter, choose one with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoInletsResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Our 3 grown children with 7 small grandkids, 15 of us in all, found a jewel in the Northwoods at Clamshell Beach Resort. When our kids were small we went from place to place trying to find nice accommodations, good fishing, and a place for them to safely play. The prices went up, the quality went down and nothing ever really suited us -until now, some 20 years later. The condo was perfect for our 4 families with separate spacious bedrooms allowing everyone to find their own space, plus there were screened in porches too. The last day of our trip our older granddaughters performed a play in the loft! Just lots of room! Laundry facilities made the stay with small children very pleasant. The kids' camp especially was a godsend in the mornings. Our grandkids absolutely loved that. Docking facilities were new, the grounds meticulously kept, owners polite and helpful. We met other families similar to ours and it was delightful to make new friends. It suited our needs perfectly, a place to bring all of us together with smiles galore. We caught enough fish to eat a great meal and released the rest. We didn't work hard at the fishing as we have in the past, relaxing for a change! Watching your kids and grandkids have a great time is what it is all about and this resort allowed me to fulfill this dream.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pequot Lakes
20.2 mi away
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
Cragun's Resort on Gull Lake
#2 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
19.9 mi away
Madden's on Gull Lake
Madden's on Gull Lake
#1 of 3 in East Gull Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pine Peaks Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Whitefish Lodge and Suites
19.8 mi away
Arrowwood Lodge At Brainerd Lakes
20.9 mi away
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
Kavanaugh's Sylvan Lake Resort
#3 of 3 in East Gull Lake
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clamshell Beach - Cottages on Whitefish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clamshell Beach - Cottages on Whitefish

Property: Clamshell Beach - Cottages on Whitefish
Address: 35197 S Clamshell Dr, Pequot Lakes, MN 56472-2493
Region: United States > Minnesota > Pequot Lakes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Pequot Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of all the lake properties to choose from on the 14,000 acre Whitefish Chain, none are quite like Clamshell Beach. Clamshell Lake is sheltered, so you get the best tranquility. Boats of all sizes also have immediate access to everything the 14 lake chain has to offer, from Big Island and 4 lakeside family dining restaurants. Our cottages represent the pinnacle of lake living, from rustic to luxurious there's something here for all families. Everything about Clamshell Beach, from the cottages, the sandy beach, our full service lodge and heated pools to the services we provide, we are sure you will have a wonderful time but most of all we are sure your kids will have the time of their lives. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing